Newbie Here, need help picking a projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-06-2012, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, i'll start off by saying i am on a budget. I was going to get a 60" TV for around 700 but i thought i would look into this first.

The projector will be used only a couple times a week, Movie night, and weekend gaming.

I am making my own screen after seeking out help from a few people.

I already have the surround sound system

So now all i need is the projector.

My only issue is debating between 720p native and 1080p native. Is there really a HUGE difference when it comes to those resolutions?

I have been searching ebay for a while now and i can find native 720p units anywhere from $300-$500 and native 1080p for $500 - 800

For as much as i use it, is it really going to be that big of a deal?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-06-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Higher resolution works better when you need to read fine text -- like the credits for movies.

Some Blu-ray players have problems with some 720p projectors. I had to help one person figure out how to set the output resolution of his player to a fixed 720p before it would work with his projector. The player's setup menu would output at 1080p, but the projector wouldn't actually scale it down to show it. He just got a blank screen. In principle, that shouldn't happen with modern projectors, but it's something to be aware of. (It worked fine with a TV, so he used that to set the player's resolution before plugging it into the projector.)

Selden
post #3 of 6 Old 12-06-2012, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 13