BenQ W1400 DLP full hd 3D Ready around 1300$ september 2013 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 40 Old 10-29-2013, 10:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

FWIW, I just called BenQ and was informed the W1400 was not scheduled to be released here in the US and there was no roadmap for the W1300 release here either.

They said the same thing last year about the 1070/1080.
rwestley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 40 Old 10-29-2013, 10:51 AM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah, I figured I'm getting the standard answer but figured I'd pass it along anyway. I'd really like to hear more about the report lag, ie was testing done with any processing turned on and is it something that can be addressed via firmare? I don't really need WHDMI so the W1400 is appealing.

Rick
RTK is online now  
post #33 of 40 Old 10-29-2013, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rwestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 6,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

Yeah, I figured I'm getting the standard answer but figured I'd pass it along anyway.

Thanks for passing it along. They did not release the 1070 until January 2013 in the US. It was released in Canada and around the world from Oct-Dec.
rwestley is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 10-29-2013, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevivoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anybody have any ideas how to obtain one of these (W1400) in the center of North America? Order from Europe?

Might as well buy a W1500 and throw away $300 and a WHDMI port.
kevivoe is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 10-31-2013, 02:23 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevivoe View Post

Might as well buy a W1500 and throw away $300 and a WHDMI port.

That's my thoughts on the W1500 vs. W1400 as well although I am awaiting projector reviews review of the W1500 which should be shortly.

Rick
RTK is online now  
post #36 of 40 Old 01-28-2014, 03:13 AM
Newbie
 
Cthugha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

New W1400 owner here (in Sweden).
Overall a great projector, with awesome performance/price!

I'm having a few issues with it, and firmware is only v1.00. Anyone else who owns one with a newer firmware? Are any of the issues below fixed or still present? (BenQ support says there is a v1.01 firmware but they are not sure exactly what it fixes...)

My issues (also sent to BenQ support)
1. When changing input "mode" (3D, resolution, update frequency, etc) it takes 3-5s before image is shown again. And the image will flicker like a strobe light for 1-2s before it's normal again. I did not have this problem with my old PE7700.
2. When playing 3D content (movies etc) I always have to manually switch the projector to 3D mode, and select the correct stereoscopic method (OU, SBS, Frame Packing, etc).
3. The lens is leaking light on one of the sides (left side when mounted upside down). The light spot is very bright, and not the same light that can be seen through the front fan/vent.

The only input is through a brand new 10m Supra HDMI cable (good for HDMI High Speed 30m according to them), and input signal is most often 1080p60 or 1080p24 (including 3D). My receiver is a Onkyo TX-NR616 and I usually play movies using my HTPC with XBMC.
The only settings I've modified are projector position (ceiling), preset mode (cinema), lamp power (eco), frame interpolation (off/low), and auto off (30min). No image fine tuning so far.
BenQ has offered me a new projector, but can't guarantee that the new one works better or even has updated firmware...

Cheers!
Cthugha is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 02-25-2014, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
xayide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am from sweden to. I returned my w1400 after failure 3 times.

Itlooked like this.....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/117324073@N07/

The first pictures you can see quite a large green shadow which according to benq was all by the specs so they wouldn.t change it. The ladt pictures is of my first w1400 which had a bright stain in the middle of the picture.


I call this bad quality. The w1400 is an extremly good pj except for quality. I do not even know if i dare to buy one again. It all ened with me getting my money back.
xayide is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 02-26-2014, 06:07 AM
Senior Member
 
cbcdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Clevedon. UK
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by xayide View Post

I am from sweden to. I returned my w1400 after failure 3 times.

Itlooked like this.....

http://www.flickr.com/photos/117324073@N07/

The first pictures you can see quite a large green shadow which according to benq was all by the specs so they wouldn.t change it. The ladt pictures is of my first w1400 which had a bright stain in the middle of the picture.


I call this bad quality. The w1400 is an extremly good pj except for quality. I do not even know if i dare to buy one again. It all ened with me getting my money back.

The stain which looks like some sort of smudge (possibly some something on a surface within the light path rather than an actual chip fault) is clear enough but I don't really know what you mean by a green shadow. There is a glow around the letters but I am not sure how much of an issue that is on proper movie images or how much the camera you used is exaggerating it.

The stain aside, I think we have to be realistic about what to expect from a 1000 euro projector.
cbcdesign is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 02-26-2014, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
NYMN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's some bad 'blooming' ! My W1200 doesn't have that!!
NYMN is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 02-26-2014, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
xayide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pictures from the camera tells the true story and is not exaggerating anything in the image. I could see the green shadow from about 4.5m clearly. Intersting is the same PJ is quite close to good at the bottom Compare these:

In top of image like this: http://www.flickr.com/photos/117324073@N07/12480094693/in/photostream/

Same PJ in the bottom half: http://www.flickr.com/photos/117324073@N07/12480433714/in/photostream/

And to add to the story. I have had an Optoma for five years (HD 800 XLV) which for it's time was the cheapest 1080P PJ. It was also around 1000 Euroes. To be honest I would expect a 5 year newer product with similar price to be at least as good if not better. The Optoma which has a lens that is by far at least 2 times larger was razor-sharp with no smudges or leftover dirt in the optical path.

The BENQ should have been very good if it wasn't for the dirt and as the second one clearly shown green shadows which the first one didn't have.

Is the green shadows called "blooming" ?

My friend does not have either blooming nor and smudges or dirt on his 1070 el'cheapo PJ.
xayide is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off