Acer H6510BD - FullHD 3D DLP DC3 for under 1000$? - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 513 Old 10-02-2013, 12:24 PM
Newbie
 
daycaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it the 6510 yesterday. The HDMI 1 pert seems to not be receiving a signal. If I pull the cable out and put it in HDMI 2 it locates it immediately. I guess I will send it back for an exchange.

I have only hooked it up to DTV which is 720p and it looks OK. No calibrations or anything and it's just shooting onto a off-white wall.

The screen is coming tomorrow and I look forward to seeing 1080p. The Avengers looked incredible on the Optoma ML500 (projecting to the same wall) so I am hopeful that with a screen and the bump up in resolution that I will get a little bit of "WOW" feeling.

To go back to the warranty question a few days ago. Yes, I would get the warranty if you plan on keeping it longer than its covered by the manufacturer. Before I bought the Optoma, I bought an Acer K330 (used) and it was DOA basically. So two strikes against Acer for me.

Tom
daycaesar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 06:34 AM
Member
 
solwretep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Done some research, best 3D picture according to me:

Source material: 1080p Side by side / top bottom .mkv
Player: Potplayer
Extra must have : Smooth video project (SVP) + Reclock
Glasses: Sainsonic 144 Hz

Running all sorts of 3D on this now, and compared to 24Hz BD 3D this rocks!
Smooth, no rainbows, great for eyes, good everything!!!
Excellent light output makes this projector stand out in the crowd if you intend to watch 3D from a computer.

stay away from 24hz BD !!!!! Soap Opera Effect is really necessary when watching 3D in my opinion! And this can only be done from a SBS mkv as far as I know - unless you have a projector that can handle interpolation but thats another price-range isnt it...
solwretep is offline  
post #453 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 07:33 AM
Newbie
 
daycaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Going to do a comparison with either the BenQ w1070 or the Optoma HD131Xe VS the Acer h6510bd.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

It will just be a rough comparison. I will be using a cheap 110" screen and will be doing minimal calibration in a mostly dark room.

I am looking for the best budget projector, for me, and it would seem to come down to these 3. The Acer has the upper hand because there is only a replacement policy thru new egg so I would have to sell it at a loss I'm sure. On the other hand, I really wanted the w1070 but settled for the Acer because of price. So in the back of my mind I know I settled and wonder if I would be significantly happier with the w1070. The Acer was nearly $250 less when I bought it. Now the BenQ has come down another $50, so I think that puts it at the edge ($844) of what I will spend on a projector right now.

Very interested in the Optoma HD131Xe.


Thanks,
Tom
daycaesar is offline  
post #454 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 09:53 AM
Member
 
solwretep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by daycaesar View Post

Going to do a comparison with either the BenQ w1070 or the Optoma HD131Xe VS the Acer h6510bd.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

It will just be a rough comparison. I will be using a cheap 110" screen and will be doing minimal calibration in a mostly dark room.

I am looking for the best budget projector, for me, and it would seem to come down to these 3. The Acer has the upper hand because there is only a replacement policy thru new egg so I would have to sell it at a loss I'm sure. On the other hand, I really wanted the w1070 but settled for the Acer because of price. So in the back of my mind I know I settled and wonder if I would be significantly happier with the w1070. The Acer was nearly $250 less when I bought it. Now the BenQ has come down another $50, so I think that puts it at the edge ($844) of what I will spend on a projector right now.

Very interested in the Optoma HD131Xe.


Thanks,
Tom

Ive had the optoma 131xe for a few days to try. Its a wonderful machine. Problem for me was it couldnt fill my screen because of the small zoom lens (1.2) ... The quality is great. Didnt try 3D.
For the same price, I would choose it over both the other two you mention.
If you intend on watching 24 Hz blu-ray then I would not choose the Acer. If you intend on using your computer for mkv's then the difference is much smaller. The benq I would not get for living room because of the less lumens.

The Acer has 2d-3d conversion but most of the time it sucks.
solwretep is offline  
post #455 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
ondaedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by solwretep View Post

Ive had the optoma 131xe for a few days to try. Its a wonderful machine. Problem for me was it couldnt fill my screen because of the small zoom lens (1.2) ... The quality is great. Didnt try 3D.
For the same price, I would choose it over both the other two you mention.
If you intend on watching 24 Hz blu-ray then I would not choose the Acer. If you intend on using your computer for mkv's then the difference is much smaller. The benq I would not get for living room because of the less lumens.

The Acer has 2d-3d conversion but most of the time it sucks.

Any chance you could give a quick summary why you thought the Optoma was the better projector?
ondaedg is offline  
post #456 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 11:57 AM
Member
 
solwretep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ondaedg View Post

Any chance you could give a quick summary why you thought the Optoma was the better projector?

I didnt notice anything different really. I cant say I noticed more or less rainbows with one of them. They are both really bright!

Optoma Pros:
-144 hz. A must if you intend to watch 24Hz material.
-Possibility of RF glasses.

Optoma Cons:
Lens throw range limited 1.2
Expensive if you plan on getting RF glasses


Acer Pros:
2D to 3D conversion
Works flawlessly with the cheap Sainsonic 144 hz glasses. 3D picure from 60Hz material "couldnt" be better
Brighter
Cheaper?
Lens zoom 1.3

Acer Cons:
120 Hz only - Bad 24Hz especially in 3D
solwretep is offline  
post #457 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 04:32 PM
Member
 
cloud007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by solwretep View Post

I didnt notice anything different really. I cant say I noticed more or less rainbows with one of them. They are both really bright!

Optoma Pros:
-144 hz. A must if you intend to watch 24Hz material.
-Possibility of RF glasses.

Optoma Cons:
Lens throw range limited 1.2
Expensive if you plan on getting RF glasses


Acer Pros:
2D to 3D conversion
Works flawlessly with the cheap Sainsonic 144 hz glasses. 3D picure from 60Hz material "couldnt" be better
Brighter
Cheaper?
Lens zoom 1.3

Acer Cons:
120 Hz only - Bad 24Hz especially in 3D



Can you tell me what blu ray content is 24hz? You mentioned the acer was bad with 24hz material. I would like to know what blu ray material is 24hz so I can avoid this negative. I am not too familiar with what blu ray material is 60hz and what is 24hz. Is this blu ray hardware or is it the discs that this affects? Thanks.
cloud007 is offline  
post #458 of 513 Old 10-03-2013, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
augiedoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Tonawanda NY,
Posts: 1,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
24hz is needed to replicate the 24fps that is film speed.. so any movie that is filmed instead of shot to video or digitally looks best viewed on bluray at 24hz... you can watch it at 60hz and if you never came here and read this you would never be the wiser or know the difference... soap operas are shot to video and that's why they seem to move at a different speed (faster) ....
augiedoggy is offline  
post #459 of 513 Old 10-04-2013, 03:36 PM
Member
 
cloud007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by augiedoggy View Post

24hz is needed to replicate the 24fps that is film speed.. so any movie that is filmed instead of shot to video or digitally looks best viewed on bluray at 24hz... you can watch it at 60hz and if you never came here and read this you would never be the wiser or know the difference... soap operas are shot to video and that's why they seem to move at a different speed (faster) ....

Thanks. I am very familiar with this soap opera speed you speak of. I am not sure I even like the soap opera effect though. So if I watch a blu ray at 60hz, it would look more like a soap opera? So the other guy is saying unless you can get the soap opera effect then my 3D picture will look bad? Bad how?
cloud007 is offline  
post #460 of 513 Old 10-06-2013, 08:39 AM
Member
 
solwretep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cloud007 View Post

Thanks. I am very familiar with this soap opera speed you speak of. I am not sure I even like the soap opera effect though. So if I watch a blu ray at 60hz, it would look more like a soap opera? So the other guy is saying unless you can get the soap opera effect then my 3D picture will look bad? Bad how?

This is just my opinion: 3D itself is quite straining and more demanding for the human brain to process than 2D. For 24 Hz 2D is "ok". But for 3D, I believe that the sense of depth adds complexity that requires a smoother picture for the mind to understand motion without "thinking too much" (i.e., e.g., "eye strain" ) A higher frame rate with interpolated frames provides a more life-like experience.

Side note: The actors and movie producers need to improve their skills for higher frame rates. 24Hz is like hiding from reality.
solwretep is offline  
post #461 of 513 Old 10-25-2013, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
Alex E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After reading a lot I still don't know exactly what to do.

I have this Acer h6510bd and a PC with a XFX 7870 double d I bought the sainsonic glasses and downloaded like a 3d torrent movie to test.

Played it with VLC and got a split screen movie (I have duplicated screen monitor projector) and I put my glasses on and they turn a bit darker like it's trying to play the 3d so I think they work.

So I turn off the monitor and leave the projector running alone and it stays with 2 images of the movie side by side, not one over the other.

How do I fix this? 2d to 3d works fine, haven't tried using my ps3.

Hope yon can help me cause I'm going crazy here lol.
Alex E is offline  
post #462 of 513 Old 10-25-2013, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
jaz50y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need better cables. I recommend the redmere from monoprice

Doug
jaz50y is offline  
post #463 of 513 Old 10-25-2013, 08:01 PM
Member
 
sirip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No, it's not the problem with cables as long as you can see the image from the projector.
Acer doesn't recognize torrent mkv files. It only recongnizes original 3D Blurays. Don't know if it's the player's problem or projectors problem.
Just go into 3D menu and enable 3D and set "3D Format" to "Side By Side" or "Top Bottom" based on what image you are seeing on the screen.
sirip is offline  
post #464 of 513 Old 10-25-2013, 09:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jaz50y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I had the same issue until I changed my cables. On the other hand the only 3d I've watched is on fios and on Vudu HD, which is awesome.

Doug
jaz50y is offline  
post #465 of 513 Old 11-15-2013, 02:32 AM
Newbie
 
charley f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

IDAVIS

    on your post of 03/23/13, you were able to play sbs 1080p/60z 3d on your acer h6510bd with a panasonic bluray player. i am also using a panasonic (bdt100 and bdt110).  i set the 3d mode on the acer to

sbs half. i set the 3d mode on the panasonic to side by side. 24fps is off.  when i hit play, the panasonic

defaults to full hd. i am using optoma zd101 120hz glasses and of course they are not compatible

with full hd. am i doing something wrong? i would deeply appreciate any advice you can give me.

 

                                                                                                     Charley F

charley f is offline  
post #466 of 513 Old 11-15-2013, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
daycaesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I kept the Acer. Honestly, I can't help but feel like I made the wrong choice. But, I'm not unhappy with it, I just wonder if the others were significantly better…

I've been able to get a nice picture with it. And other than the rainbow effect, I have no real issues with it. I never had issues with rainbows before. On eco-mode it is tolerable, even unnoticeable usually… but I still see them and it draws me out of the movie. On normal (non-eco) it is crazy unwatchable. Like I said, I've never had any problems before with rainbows. I didn't even know what they were and wow, they're terrible.

3D is tough for me to get comfortable with. I never feel like I can get the glasses close enough to my eyes and it always seems just a little off. I'm guessing they are all like this, I don't know.

If I had it to over again, I would go for something different and pay more for it. But, that said, I'm not unhappy with the projector. It's really very nice and a good value. I'm still kind of in the experimental stage with it anyway. It's not meant to be the ultimate projector just something to get me to the point to know whether I want to invest in a home theater. At this point I am about $800 in and have a 110" image on a white screen with a Sony 3D BluRay and a Sony surround system. So I am pretty damn happy. Would I be more happy with the BenQ or the Optoma? Probably but the question is if the difference for me is significant. I doubt that it is but, like I said, if I had it to do over again, I would have gotten something else.
daycaesar is offline  
post #467 of 513 Old 11-18-2013, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by charley f View Post

IDAVIS
    on your post of 03/23/13, you were able to play sbs 1080p/60z 3d on your acer h6510bd with a panasonic bluray player. i am also using a panasonic (bdt100 and bdt110).  i set the 3d mode on the acer to
sbs half. i set the 3d mode on the panasonic to side by side. 24fps is off.  when i hit play, the panasonic
defaults to full hd. i am using optoma zd101 120hz glasses and of course they are not compatible
with full hd. am i doing something wrong? i would deeply appreciate any advice you can give me.

                                                                                                     Charley F
Try leaving the Panny as normal so you see two pictuers at once. Then select sbs on the Acer. All this works fine to me.....
wanab is offline  
post #468 of 513 Old 11-19-2013, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
charley f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

THANK YOU WANAB FOR YOUR REPLY.

  

      I don't know what you mean by 'leaving the Panny as normal"

 

      If you can clarify, i would greatly appreciate it.

 

      ONCE AGAIN, THANK YOU.

 

 

                                                      CHARLEY F

charley f is offline  
post #469 of 513 Old 11-20-2013, 07:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by charley f View Post

THANK YOU WANAB FOR YOUR REPLY.
  
      I don't know what you mean by 'leaving the Panny as normal"

      If you can clarify, i would greatly appreciate it.

      ONCE AGAIN, THANK YOU.


                                                      CHARLEY F
LEAVE THE DEFAULTS ON FOR 3D IN THE PANNY MENUE. LET THE ACER HANDLE THE 3D. tURN THE 3D ON IN THAT MENUE.
wanab is offline  
post #470 of 513 Old 11-22-2013, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
charley f's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

THANK YOU AGAIN WANAB,

 

    i still can't get the side by side format working.  no matter what i do, the dvd player automaticaly defaults to FULL HD.

 

    thanks again.  i appreciate your help.

 

                                                             CHARLEY f

charley f is offline  
post #471 of 513 Old 11-23-2013, 09:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by charley f View Post

THANK YOU AGAIN WANAB,

    i still can't get the side by side format working.  no matter what i do, the dvd player automaticaly defaults to FULL HD.

    thanks again.  i appreciate your help.

                                                             CHARLEY f
That's OK ! go into the acer menue and go down to the 3D button. Enter hit right button ,turn 3D "ON" by clicking right button,then you will see two pictures sise by side, then hit menue on "acer" go down to 3D, then hit right button, then go down and hightlight 3D format and hit right button ,then go down and highlight "side by side full" hit right button and then you will have 3D side by side full on your screen. GET OUT of the acer menues an ENJOY !smile.gif
wanab is offline  
post #472 of 513 Old 11-27-2013, 04:25 AM
Member
 
uzi74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've received yesterday my P1500 (my first PJ) purchased on the Cyber Monday deal for 499 eur. I like it quite a lot, my only problem is that I also see the "white flicker" in 3D playing 24p Bluray 3D. I've read the forum entries regarding this, if I understand it correctly converting it to SBS and play it bach at 60Hz would trigger 120Hz refresh and reduce the flicker.
Q1: Can I play back full SBS (60Hz) on the PJ or shall I convert it to half SBS? (I'm using PowerDVD12)
Q2: I'm using DasGut NX-30 96-144Hz glasses, would the original ACER or other glasses be better regarding the flicker?
(Or shall I get the Optoma 131x for 200+Eur more?)
uzi74 is offline  
post #473 of 513 Old 11-27-2013, 02:13 PM
Member
 
jmproductions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Newegg has this in stock for $579 with code NH112504
jmproductions is offline  
post #474 of 513 Old 11-30-2013, 05:51 PM
Member
 
jorge007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Miami,fla
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Will this projector work in my set up From the front to the back wall i have about 13ft. Front wall ceiling is about 8ft. I mount on the back wall how big a screen can i get. Also the window you see with no blinds will be totally dark.

I want a 3d 1080p on a budget. Are there any other choices. For 579.00 or 1 or 2 hundred more.
jorge007 is offline  
post #475 of 513 Old 12-01-2013, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
tmservo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Well, this was part of NewEgg's blackfriday sale this morning. I picked it up for $499, it's not a ShellShocker now, but even at the $599 it lists now it might still be a good deal for some. I was going t use this for a front room. I'll have to read through the reviews and this thread now.. decent projector for the money?
tmservo is offline  
post #476 of 513 Old 12-02-2013, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sonyad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Excellent price.
Sonyad is offline  
post #477 of 513 Old 12-02-2013, 02:52 PM
Newbie
 
NeoHecubus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how to properly setup an Harmony remote with this projector?
My remote seems to always be confused between the two hdmi inputs.
If it goes to hdmi2 then I select help, it will "fix" it and change it to hdmi1.
But when switching to another activity will put it back to hdmi2.
NeoHecubus is offline  
post #478 of 513 Old 12-03-2013, 10:56 AM
Senior Member
 
jdonigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem with the H9500BD. Once upon a time, you could call into Harmony to get a human to modify your setup. Can we even do that anymore?

John

I swear I'll burn those downloaded Replay files to DVD!
(Someday.)
jdonigan is offline  
post #479 of 513 Old 12-04-2013, 09:18 PM
Newbie
 
TiZBaD2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this projector today, it is a great upgrade from the Sharp XR-32X that I had before.

However there is one huge problem. The brightness is completely uneven. The bottom center is very bright, the left is slightly less bright, and the right hand side is significantly less bright. I have initiated a return, but is there something that I could be doing wrong. I understand that I am using a wall and not a screen, but I did not have this issue with my previous projector.

TiZBaD2k is offline  
post #480 of 513 Old 12-08-2013, 06:16 PM
Newbie
 
theostav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you guys mount this projector? This is my first and I'm a bit confused. The projector mounts I found use the three screws in a triangle shape but then there is the one larger hole in the center of the projector. Is there any reason not to use that? It would be much easier to mount it using a threaded rod straight to the projector than having to make some mounting plate.
theostav is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Acer H6510bd Dlp 3d Projector , Benq W1070 1080p 3d Projector , Acer H9500bd 3d 1080p Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off