BenQ W710ST, New User Review - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 01-26-2013, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First, I'm not a professional. This will be a non-technical review. Second, I have a another 710 coming from Amazon. The first one, which I recently had the oppurtunity to play with for a few weeks, had an unacceptable speaker problem - it "buzzed" the projector body starting @ 1/3 volume. This review is based on my time with the first 710, which is now boxed up and ready to go back to Amazon. If there are any changes with the second 710, I'll report back. Otherwise, I'll not be likely to maintain this review unless there is something major to report. I'll try to respond to question/comments, if any, but I cant guarantee it. I'll do my best to keep this review as accurate and concise as possible...

Why did I buy the BenQ W710ST?

It offered what I wanted: short throw, quiet fan, contrast (rated 10000:1), HD (720p) for the purposes of home theater. A fairly good warranty (1 year on all including the lamp) along with competitive pricing caused me to give it a try.

Unboxing/First Impressions:
Peeling back the layers started with a sturdy carton, cardboard shock protection, a clear plastic bag and a black nylon projector case. The carry case is well made. Dense 1/2 inch padding is on all 6 sides. A large single side pouch displays an embroidered Benq logo and holds 7 extras (VGA & power cords, warranty card, Instructional DVD - which I havn't touched, remote control, batteries, case shoulder strap). As is usual, no HDMI or component cables.The carry case also has a carry handle on "top" and an odd 3rd handle on the "back" (dont have a clue the purpose of the 3rd strap). 4 rubber grommets are on the "bottom" but not a good idea. The projector could fall over when set on its feet.

Exposing the 710: