OPTOMA HD25 HD25LV new budget 2D 3D DLP FULL projector - Page 20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #571 of 596 Old 05-14-2014, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I think the HD25-LV and HD25e projectors are basically identical except for the brighter bulb in the LV so I would suggest giving my latest settings a try - the post just above yours from djkms is from someone who also has the HD25e and he is getting good results using my HD25-LV settings.

You could also try the simple 1-setting tweak I suggested at the end of my last post and go with whichever gives you a better picture. If you will always be using the projector with ambient light, just stick with the preset BRIGHT profile. My settings or the 1-setting tweak are only good when you are using the projector in a dark room.
kenhdtv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #572 of 596 Old 05-14-2014, 08:19 PM
Member
 
djkms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhdtv View Post

dj, I watched another movie over the weekend and still thought the darks were too dark so I'm back to settings very close to your favorite from post #557 where I had BRIGHTNESS at -2. The color error is better with the settings from last night - you may not notice any difference since both were below the recommended avg error of 3 or less.

I also took measurements of the preset modes for comparison so people can see the difference between the out-of-the-box settings and calibrated settings. Here's the ranking based on tight RGB/grayscale and primary/secondary color avg error. I think a good RGB grayscale should be first priority then low color error.

1 - USER, the best RGB, 1.8 avg color error
2 - BRIGHT, 2nd best RGB, 9.7 avg color error
3 - CINEMA, 3rd best RGB, 7.6 avg color error
4 - REFERENCE, 4th best RGB, 7.8 avg color error
5 - PHOTO, the worst RGB, 15.0 avg color error

My results from last night ...

Improvement! I liked the first setting but the saturation seemed a bit too prevalent. This is perfect, if you could get it much better than this I would be surprised. Thanks again!!

Kris S
djkms is offline  
post #573 of 596 Old 06-27-2014, 11:19 AM
Member
 
zebrafetish2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Irondequoit, NY
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HP Pavilion p6740f - DVI to HDMI cable to receiver to projector?

Hi All:



I own a basic HP Pavilion p6740f desktop tower. Tonight, I'm moving it from the upstairs office to the downstairs media room. The media room is set up with all of the components, bluray, xbox360, dvr, etc in the front of the room, and the projector, mounted to the ceiling, in the back of the room. I'm planning on putting my HP Pavilion p6740f tower with the other components in the front of the room.

I plan on using the built in Windows Media Center on my PC (Windows 7) via my xbox 360. However, my PC doesn't have an HDMI output. It DOES have a DVI output.



My question: IF I HOOK UP A DVI TO HDMI CABLE FROM MY HP Pavilion p6740f PC, TO A DENON AVR 591 RECEIVER, WHICH PUSHES HDMI OUT TO MY OPTOMA HD25 LV PROJECTOR, WILL THE SIGNAL BE INTERPRETED CORRECTLY, OR WILL I NEED TO BUY AN HDMI CARD FOR MY PC TO USE INSTEAD?



Whether it's 740 p/i, or 1080 p/i, I could care less, as long as it's not 480 i/p.



This is a very specific question, so I plan to post it at hp.com as well.



Thanks for any suggestions you might have.



Sincerely Yours,



zebrafetish2000
zebrafetish2000 is offline  
post #574 of 596 Old 06-27-2014, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
yes, the dvi to HDMI cable will work for the video signal but you will also need an audio cable (toslink optical or single RCA cable) between your PC and AV receiver because the DVI output is video only.
zebrafetish2000 likes this.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #575 of 596 Old 06-30-2014, 08:18 AM
Member
 
zebrafetish2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Irondequoit, NY
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhdtv View Post
yes, the dvi to HDMI cable will work for the video signal but you will also need an audio cable (toslink optical or single RCA cable) between your PC and AV receiver because the DVI output is video only.
Excellent advice. This did in fact work exactly as described. My HP PC has a digital coax output. My Denon receiver has a digital coax input...so they we go. It works very well for all sorts of things. Check out http://www.techsupportalert.com/5-Be...ming-Sites.htm for some free content that I've just started dabbling into.

Thanks!!!

-RD
zebrafetish2000 is offline  
post #576 of 596 Old 06-30-2014, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Joined the 3D club last night. Got a HD25e from amazon, estar glasses, plug in play and looked really nice. I'll be fine tuning soon, but pleased with what I got right out of the box.

 
Spanglo is offline  
post #577 of 596 Old 07-01-2014, 06:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HD25e

I also recently purchased the HD25e from Amazon. The default profile settings definitely seemed more reddish-yellow. Thanks to Ken's work, the user profile brings out more natural colors!

I watch and play a lot of 3D content, any recommendations for a user profile in normal instead of eco mode?
americaneagl is offline  
post #578 of 596 Old 07-01-2014, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spanglo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Damn, only had the HD25e projector a few days and started making a loud high pitched noise. Guess I'll have to exchange unless there's a way to fix?

 
Spanglo is offline  
post #579 of 596 Old 07-09-2014, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
corey99699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a new HD25LV, it replaced an HD20. I just got it set up and while the black levels and color are a huge improvement, I'm disapointed with the sharpness compared to the HD20. Does anyone else feel it's not as sharp as it should be?
corey99699 is offline  
post #580 of 596 Old 07-14-2014, 01:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Corey, is your lack of sharpness an issue for the entire image or a portion of it? If it's the entire image, make sure you have the keystone setting = 0. If it's a portion of the image, your projector may not be mounted perfectly perpendicular to your screen - my focus is very touchy in that I can get most of the image sharp but usually 1 corner is less than ideal. I've read about a lens upgrade from Optoma but so far I've decided it's not worth the hassle to ship it in for servicing.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #581 of 596 Old 07-15-2014, 11:21 AM
Member
 
zebrafetish2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Irondequoit, NY
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by corey99699 View Post
I just got a new HD25LV, it replaced an HD20. I just got it set up and while the black levels and color are a huge improvement, I'm disapointed with the sharpness compared to the HD20. Does anyone else feel it's not as sharp as it should be?
Corey, that sucks. Unfortunately, I have the same issue. I don't really notice it, unless it's small text/print on the screen. However, now that I have my PC hooked up to my projector, it happens more often than before. Ken is right, you can usually get 3/4 corners of the screen sharp, but not all four. I have my projector ceiling mounted, with the OEM projector mount from Optoma's website, and it's still fuzzy in the upper left hand corner.
zebrafetish2000 is offline  
post #582 of 596 Old 07-15-2014, 06:07 PM
Senior Member
 
corey99699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhdtv View Post
Corey, is your lack of sharpness an issue for the entire image or a portion of it? If it's the entire image, make sure you have the keystone setting = 0. If it's a portion of the image, your projector may not be mounted perfectly perpendicular to your screen - my focus is very touchy in that I can get most of the image sharp but usually 1 corner is less than ideal. I've read about a lens upgrade from Optoma but so far I've decided it's not worth the hassle to ship it in for servicing.

It's really the overall image, I haven't adjusted the keystone so I assume it's at zero, but I'll check it out. I have the sharpness maxed out but with my hd20 it was just above halfway to achieve what seems to be about the same sharpness.
corey99699 is offline  
post #583 of 596 Old 07-15-2014, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Having Sharpness set at MAX could be the problem - mine is set on 8. Here's a link explaining the Sharpness control and how to adjust it -

Also, are you at the zoom limit (min or max) of the HD25LV? What is your screen size and distance from lens to screen?
Nodscene likes this.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #584 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
corey99699's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhdtv View Post
Having Sharpness set at MAX could be the problem - mine is set on 8. Here's a link explaining the Sharpness control and how to adjust it - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IX9_N8On4D8

Also, are you at the zoom limit (min or max) of the HD25LV? What is your screen size and distance from lens to screen?

I am at the zoom limit, it's about 13 feet away from a 120" screen. I just removed my hd20 and put this one in place of it, everything is set up exactly the same as it was on the hd20. The video is helpful but at max sharpness I'm not seeing the white around the edges, I would on my other one but this one is just nowhere near as sharp.
corey99699 is offline  
post #585 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Chris Blount's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I currently have an HD-33 and want to upgrade to the HD25-LV. The problem is that I have a rather substantial investment in the Optoma RF 3D glasses (BG-3DRFGLASSES) and emitter.

Can I use these glasses on the HD25-LV?

Chris Blount
Chris Blount is offline  
post #586 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 12:17 PM
Member
 
mhops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minneapolis suburbs
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had an HD25LV for close to a year now and love it. However, I've been having trouble with my DirecTV DVR and getting premium channels to display. Does anyone here know for sure that this model is HDCP compliant? If it is, has anyone run into problems with HDMI cables not being compliant (mine are about 4-5 years old now).
mhops is offline  
post #587 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 03:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
cal87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Blount View Post
I currently have an HD-33 and want to upgrade to the HD25-LV. The problem is that I have a rather substantial investment in the Optoma RF 3D glasses (BG-3DRFGLASSES) and emitter.

Can I use these glasses on the HD25-LV?
I sold my original Optoma RF glasses with my HD33. I did test one of the Monster 3D glasses/emitter that I still have with the HD25-LV, and they worked fine. So I would guess your glasses will work.


Of course, the newer glasses are better. I would be happy to sell you my HD25-LV with some of the newer glasses.
cal87 is online now  
post #588 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 04:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Corey, does changing the zoom improve the focus? You will have to re-focus after changing the zoom. If the picture still won't get sharp then I think it's time to exchange it. You should be able to view a web page on it and see nice sharp text.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #589 of 596 Old 07-17-2014, 04:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
mhops, the HDMI ports on the HD25-LV are HDMI 1.4a compliant and will work with video sources using HDCP.

Have you always had a HDCP problem or just recently? If recently, what changed? If nothing, then DVR, cable, or projector has gone flaky.

Assuming you have always had this problem, is your DVR connected directly to your projector? If so, it's either your DVR or cable. If not, it's probably your HDMI switch or AV receiver that's not HDCP compatible.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #590 of 596 Old 07-18-2014, 10:02 AM
Member
 
mhops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minneapolis suburbs
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your ideas, Ken.


It's been a more recent phenomenon. But I have replaced other devices as well, so I guess my suspicion could fall on them too -- and XboxOne and a Marantz NR1604. So I'll have to look into those. Otherwise, the cables and the DVR have not changed.
mhops is offline  
post #591 of 596 Old 07-18-2014, 10:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
mhops, if you connect the projector HDMI cable directly to the DVR do you still have the problem? If so, it's not the XB1 or Marantz. If you don't have the problem, connect the projector cable to the Marantz and the DVR to the Marantz, now what's it doing? If the problem surfaces then it could be the cable between the DVR and Marantz (try a different cable) or an issue with the Marantz.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #592 of 596 Old 07-18-2014, 10:35 AM
Member
 
mhops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minneapolis suburbs
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Ken - great plan. I guess when I think about it the way you present it, there are several different (very short) cables involved in addition to the devices. I'll check all of those out as you suggest before complaining to DTV.
mhops is offline  
post #593 of 596 Old 07-18-2014, 10:37 AM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
mhops, also if the issue exists while using the Marantz, try switching the video source to something else then back to the DVR. I did a quick search on Marantz NR1604 DirecTV problem and saw someone with a related issue and the source swap seemed to identify the Marantz as the problem.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #594 of 596 Old 07-20-2014, 01:48 PM
Newbie
 
atad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi Ken, do you have any settings for 3D for the Optoma.
atad is offline  
post #595 of 596 Old 07-20-2014, 09:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
kenhdtv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sorry atad, I don't watch 3D stuff so I have never tried to calibrate the HD25-LV for 3D mode. If the concern is the tint of the 3D glasses, you could try just tweaking the White settings(controls the overall grayscale), mine are currently R= -7, G= 3, and B= 1. If you think your glasses add a green tint, then try dropping the G value down a few notches.
atad likes this.
kenhdtv is offline  
post #596 of 596 Old 07-21-2014, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
atad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenhdtv View Post
Sorry atad, I don't watch 3D stuff so I have never tried to calibrate the HD25-LV for 3D mode. If the concern is the tint of the 3D glasses, you could try just tweaking the White settings(controls the overall grayscale), mine are currently R= -7, G= 3, and B= 1. If you think your glasses add a green tint, then try dropping the G value down a few notches.
Thanks Ken for the suggestions. Also thanks for posting your 2D settings.
atad is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd25 Lv 3d Home Theater Projector

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off