Does anyone here worry about dust blobs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 02-07-2013, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to owning a projector. I have a DLP projector but have already had experiences with the dust blob. At first I had no idea what they were. I noticed a few small perfectly round fingerprint looking circles only when the screen was completely black on the first projector that I had. I actually returned that projector for this reason because it was shipped to me with the dust blobs. My new one still has a tiny one that was also shipped to me that way but it's barely noticeable unless the screen is completely black and I really look for it.

I just don't want to become obsessed worrying or looking for these dust blobs. I checked into an online service that cleans projectors for like $200.00! That seems very unreasonable to me and I don't feel comfortable breaking into the projector to try and clean it myself if I get more dust blobs in the future. For all of you guys who have spent over $2,000 on a projector, do you ever worry or get concerned about getting dust blobs? Is there any good online service that will clean a projector for a reasonable price?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 02-07-2013, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I had dust blobs when I had LCD (Epson).
No blobs since I switched to JVC and Benq.
I think both have a sealed light path. The post I've read here is that it is very unlikely to get a dust blob on a seled but not impossible. The ones I remember had the blob when it was shipped not after use at home.
post #3 of 3 Old 02-08-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18