Some Movies Won't Play on my Projector...Why?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-21-2013, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a Sony VPL-BW5 projector that I have been enjoying for the past few months; however, I have recently discovered that some Bluray movies won't play on the projector (but they do on my TV). Specifically, the movies are Total Recall (1990) and Terminator 2: Skynet Edition. I figured that the Skynet Edition wouldn't play because the the projector - for whatever reason - could not support the start-up features. I tried getting the movie started (get to Scene 1) on my TV and then switch to the projector...

The problem is that this action requires me to turn off the TV in order for the signal to pass over to the projector...but when I turn off the TV, it also turns off my receiver because they are linked...and when the receiver turns off, my PS3 also turns off, because they are linked...so this approach did not work. I have no idea why the Total Recall does not play; I have tried 2 different copies of this disc.

My other equipment consists of:
-Onkyo 709 receiver
-Panasonic ST30
-PS3

Everything is connected via HDMI, and again - it works fine with all of my other movies.

Any help?!

KtrainHurricane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-21-2013, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Bad batch of Lionsgate discs maybe? http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=152652&page=4 or the auto BD Live option in the ps3 is causing an issue? Settings > Video Settings > BD internet connection > Confirm. I don't think the pj is your problem, but you might want to make sure the ps3 firmware is updated? Strange they seem to work on your tv.
jnabq is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-21-2013, 09:47 PM
Member
 
DragonSixGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You could disable CEC/HDMI control on your devices so you could do your switching experiment.. but that's not really a solution since it will try the HDCP handshake on the new display anyway. A display wouldn;t have anything to do with disc features - that's all the player/firmware and updates. You could turn off bdlive just to see.

For troubleshooting, manually set ps3 hdmi to 720p, bypass the receiver and try it. it could be the longer cable is marginal, the receiver is breaking the chain with processing. Only being those 2 discs, and every time is odd tho.

just isolate each component if possible, then when you find the one thats causing the probelm, work thru settings or hardware until you find the cause. DRM/HDCP is black magic tho.. major PITA if that's the issue and nothign you can do about it except wait for updates. good luck tho
DragonSixGolf is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-09-2013, 09:46 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonSixGolf View Post

DRM/HDCP is black magic tho..

Do not know what this^ means, so can you please elaborate?

Sorry for taking so long to reply; I had just shrugged off the problem because it was getting me so frustrated. I just didn't even bother watching anymore discs until tonight (also gave me an excuse to use the Netflix that I pay for).

I tried the movie tonight (Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines), and again it won't play on my projector, but does play perfectly on the TV. I manually set the PS3 to 720p as suggested, made sure everything is updated, etc. What boggles me is the fact that:
a). All of these movies that give me problems through the projector work fine through my TV, and
b). Several movies (DVD, Bluray, and even all of my PS3 games) work perfectly through the projector, while some don't.

Another really weird thing is that when I first put Terminator 3 in I heard all the disc's startup audio and what not while the screen was black, but then - right as a movie trailer was about to play - the blue screen that reads "the following movie is rated R" showed, but then the screen went black again and didn't show anything else. Why would this one particular frame show up, but nothing else?! confused.gif

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-10-2013, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jnabq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Albq. NM, USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Maybe the ps3 is maintaining the video settings for the tv. After your connected to the pj, go into the video settings and redo them. The cable may still be an issue as well.

"DRM/HDCP is black magic tho"

He's just saying it's hard to work with sometimes, due to the way the tech works. Isolate the component causing the issue, and go from there.
jnabq is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-10-2013, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jnabq View Post

Maybe the ps3 is maintaining the video settings for the tv. After your connected to the pj, go into the video settings and redo them. The cable may still be an issue as well.

What settings are you referring to specifically? I manually went in and changed Output to 720p, if that's what you were referring to...

And would the cable cause issues with only some movies/discs? If so, is there any specific reason to this...why some movies work fine while others don't?

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tried some movies that had previously worked in the past, and they didn't this time around. I went back through this thread and reset the "BD internet connection" setting to "confirm." After doing that, some movies (ones that worked in the past) worked again, if I selected "No" for using internet connection to access disc information.

However, I tried another movie that I previously hadn't (Terminator Salvation) and it did not work. This is driving me nuts!!


Edit: I did some Google searching and found some others with similar problems; ended up being that I needed to
Video Settings --> 1080p 24 Hz Output (HDMI) --> Off ...it was previously set to "Automatic" and was not working, but works fine when set to "Off"

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 02:27 PM
Member
 
DragonSixGolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Glad you got it sorted. Thanks for the update so others having the same issue might also find an answer. My "black magic comment" was as explained.. some certain combination of hardware only works with certain settings (very few of which are explained or standardized.) There's so many variations and versions all you can do is methodically try every permutation of options.. or hope someone else has already found a solution and try that. Now you can finally just watch movies and forget about the science experiments.
DragonSixGolf is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-21-2013, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
KtrainHurricane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: HOLLYWOOD, FL
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DragonSixGolf View Post

Glad you got it sorted. Thanks for the update so others having the same issue might also find an answer. My "black magic comment" was as explained.. some certain combination of hardware only works with certain settings (very few of which are explained or standardized.) There's so many variations and versions all you can do is methodically try every permutation of options.. or hope someone else has already found a solution and try that. Now you can finally just watch movies and forget about the science experiments.

Exactly! ...Thanks again!

KtrainHurricane is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-05-2013, 08:56 PM
Member
 
pandy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I just got an EPSON 730HD projector and I had the same problem, the PS3 wouldn't play some Blu Rays. Turning HDMI Automatic off did not help. But I turned the internet connection off and that worked. Now when I load a disc the player asks me if I want to turn the internet connection on and I just click no. I

pandy4 is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Sony Vplbw5 3 Lcd Home Theater Projector , Onkyo Tx Nr709 , Panasonic Viera Tc P42st30 42 Inch 1080p 3d Plasma Hdtv
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off