Epson 8350- Bulb not turning on- and best place to buy a replacement - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 03-24-2013, 06:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Epson 8350 that I've been using as my regular watcher for a little under 2 years. I haven't noticed any dimming or issues with the projector recently, though I haven't checked the lamp hours.

So tonight my brother and I were ready to fire it up and watch some Game of Thrones, and alas, the projector powered up, fan turned on, but no light was emitted from thens. It wasn't a matter of the connection, as I checked that. I also reset the power and tried resetting it as well. None of the LED indicators lit up, indicating an issue with the lamp or the internal electronics. I just didn't have any light.

I opened the projector up and instpected the lamp, and from what I can see it looks OK.

So, should I assume that it's a matter of a bad bulb, or what else should I do to have it addressed? Without my projector, I have no backup viewing source (other than my computer or tablet).

If it comes to needing a new lamp, where's the best place to buy one? I've seen a few on Amazon for as low as $54, but they get pretty terrible reviews. There is one for $150, but who knows on that, and the OEM one of Epson's website is $300....

Thanks!
Travis
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 03-24-2013, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 38
Have you checked to make sure you didn't accidently hit the blank button on the remote? My brother was at my place once when I was out, watching my projector when he called me in a panic thinking that my bulb had blown. Turns out he just hit the blank button on the remote by mistake. Worth a try.

XBL GT: deathpallie
post #3 of 7 Old 03-24-2013, 06:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member