Mitsubishi HC7900DW owner's thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1128 Old 06-07-2014, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
bourmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ok, I own a 8000 model projector, but most of the settings are the same as the 7900. Why is the F.R.C. options always greyed out in the settings? I want to be able to adjust the judder on my HDMI1 input.
bourmb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1128 Old 06-07-2014, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I took the 7900 down and boxed it up for my son to install in his new houses theater. I put my sony hw50 back up. I then watched some 3d and now i really miss the spectacular 3d of the 7900. It really is that much better than the sony. The sony still beats it in 2d imo. I thought the sony was really good but now i dont think i can enjoy using it for 3d anymore. i am now spoiled by the pristine image from the 7900. If i can find another one f for sale i will buy it for a 2 projector system, which i have had before.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

dan webster is offline  
post #1053 of 1128 Old 06-08-2014, 08:09 PM
Member
 
A L Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

Ok, I own a 8000 model projector, but most of the settings are the same as the 7900. Why is the F.R.C. options always greyed out in the settings? I want to be able to adjust the judder on my HDMI1 input.

You must have a blu ray movie being played in order to have FRC.
But In 3D at 120Hz, FRC is disabled.
A L Wong is offline  
post #1054 of 1128 Old 06-09-2014, 06:25 AM
Senior Member
 
bourmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Washington, IL
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by A L Wong View Post

You must have a blu ray movie being played in order to have FRC.
But In 3D at 120Hz, FRC is disabled.
I definitely would like to know the reasoning behind why this setup seems to work for F.R.C. in 2D -
my wiring setup
- I have my Comcast box HDMI output going into the HDMI back input on my Oppo 103d.
- I have 2 outputs from my Oppo connected; one going to HDMI1 on the projector and the other going to the HDMI input on the receiver.
- The receiver is connected to HDMI2 on the projector.

If I watch HDMI1 on the projector where the Oppo feeds the source video directly to the projector and the audio is fed from the receiver, I can't modify F.R.C. If I watch HDMI2 on the projector where video/audio are both fed from the receiver, I can modify F.R.C. for Bluray, Netflix, and Comcast content. I find I almost always need to watch via HDMI2 as I can't stand the judder on HDMI1. HDMI1 is defaulted to True Film with a setting of 4, but for whatever reason, setting HDMI2 to True Film and a setting of 5 works so much better than the default.

I would prefer to directly feed the video input to the projector via HDMI1 AND be able to adjust F.R.C, but the judder is a deal breaker in my HDMI1 configuration. Any thoughts on why HDMI2 works for F.R.C. and not HDMI1? Is it because the video and audio are fed from separate sources to the project for HDMI1?
bourmb is offline  
post #1055 of 1128 Old 06-09-2014, 07:25 AM
Member
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3d FRC is only active at lower FPS rates. At 1080p60 it's disabled.

true film converts everything to 24hz
True video converts to 60hz

Trying to convert a 24hz/60hz signal to 24hz/60hz results in some stuttering.
whitrzac is online now  
post #1056 of 1128 Old 06-10-2014, 07:42 PM
Member
 
A L Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bourmb View Post

I definitely would like to know the reasoning behind why this setup seems to work for F.R.C. in 2D -
my wiring setup
- I have my Comcast box HDMI output going into the HDMI back input on my Oppo 103d.
- I have 2 outputs from my Oppo connected; one going to HDMI1 on the projector and the other going to the HDMI input on the receiver.
- The receiver is connected to HDMI2 on the projector.

If I watch HDMI1 on the projector where the Oppo feeds the source video directly to the projector and the audio is fed from the receiver, I can't modify F.R.C. If I watch HDMI2 on the projector where video/audio are both fed from the receiver, I can modify F.R.C. for Bluray, Netflix, and Comcast content. I find I almost always need to watch via HDMI2 as I can't stand the judder on HDMI1. HDMI1 is defaulted to True Film with a setting of 4, but for whatever reason, setting HDMI2 to True Film and a setting of 5 works so much better than the default.

I would prefer to directly feed the video input to the projector via HDMI1 AND be able to adjust F.R.C, but the judder is a deal breaker in my HDMI1 configuration. Any thoughts on why HDMI2 works for F.R.C. and not HDMI1? Is it because the video and audio are fed from separate sources to the project for HDMI1?

Last night, when I switch on the projector, I noticed the same thing happening.
The FRC controls were greyed out as were the CW speed.
I tried resetting the projector ( power off at the mains ) and also made sure I had 1080p24 output from my player and receiver.
Powered down all the equipment at the mains and restarted all to no avail.
Finally changed the HDMI port on the projector to HDMI 2 and got the controls back.

I think it may be a hardware issue with the HDMI 1 input port but I am not sure.



No dice.
A L Wong is offline  
post #1057 of 1128 Old 06-11-2014, 03:06 AM
Member
 
pstas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If switching cables between HDMI1 & 2, switches behavior of disabled options, then everything is fine with the projector's ports and you should check the configuration of the other devices.
pstas is offline  
post #1058 of 1128 Old 06-17-2014, 01:14 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Finally picked up one of these bad boys after selling my Epson 5010. Now just have to play the waiting for it to get to New Zealand.
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1059 of 1128 Old 06-19-2014, 12:42 AM
Member
 
speaktome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone

I have a question on playing 3D and a question on playing games on the HC7900.

Can anyone walk me through how best to play 3D movies from the PC.

I have the standard Mits 3D emitter and have confirmed it works with the 2D to 3D conversion of the projector but can't get things working in regular 3D.

I have the Stereoscopic player and have tried every different view to get it to work (side by side, ect) but have been unable to get it right.

Also curious if it's possible to play video games in 3D and how I would go about doing that (hopefully without the need to purchase additional gear).

Finally, interested in people's recommended settings for playing video games. I get blur whenever I'm turning left / right (which is all the time) and it gives me a headache and a queezy feeling.

Appreciate your advice.
speaktome is offline  
post #1060 of 1128 Old 06-19-2014, 07:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by speaktome View Post
Hey everyone

I have a question on playing 3D and a question on playing games on the HC7900.

Can anyone walk me through how best to play 3D movies from the PC.

I have the standard Mits 3D emitter and have confirmed it works with the 2D to 3D conversion of the projector but can't get things working in regular 3D.

I have the Stereoscopic player and have tried every different view to get it to work (side by side, ect) but have been unable to get it right.

Also curious if it's possible to play video games in 3D and how I would go about doing that (hopefully without the need to purchase additional gear).

Finally, interested in people's recommended settings for playing video games. I get blur whenever I'm turning left / right (which is all the time) and it gives me a headache and a queezy feeling.

Appreciate your advice.
What video card do you have in the PC, although it shouldn't matter for SBS. I have no issue playing a MKV file in SBS with XBMC by just manually setting the projector to SBS. Video games from PS3 in 3D also have no issue , but I have no video games on the PC so you definitely need a HDMI 1.4 video card and the right software for 3D. My nvidia 630 card plays 3D iso/BR with no problems but with a commercial video player like power DVD only.

Smart enough to know better, to old to care
rekbones is offline  
post #1061 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 03:52 AM
Member
 
speaktome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for that Rekbones.

I'm using a Geforce GTX 770.

I'm completely new to 3D so a walk through of what I need to do would help. Not sure what SBS is. Some kind of 3D?
The movie's are MKV files. It's connected via monoprice's HDMI redmere.

Never heard of XBMC but will give that a try and might also try a trail version of power DVD.
speaktome is offline  
post #1062 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by speaktome View Post
Thanks for that Rekbones.

I'm using a Geforce GTX 770.

I'm completely new to 3D so a walk through of what I need to do would help. Not sure what SBS is. Some kind of 3D?
The movie's are MKV files. It's connected via monoprice's HDMI redmere.

Never heard of XBMC but will give that a try and might also try a trail version of power DVD.
To setup your Nvidia card just go to your video setup and run through the 3d wizard to enable 3d. SBS/TB are the common form of 3D for MKV files and will play back with any video player and should appear as two images side by side or top bottom on the screen, just enable SBS/TB on the projector and it will convert the images to 3D. Frame packed movies (BR ISO's) will play with Power DVD with the 3D enabled on the video card. You need special software from Nvidia to play 3d video games.

Smart enough to know better, to old to care

Last edited by rekbones; 06-20-2014 at 05:10 AM.
rekbones is offline  
post #1063 of 1128 Old 06-23-2014, 01:30 AM
Member
 
speaktome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks again Rekbones. It took me a while to work out that SBS and TB means side by side and top bottom, lol.

I've dl'd XBMC and got it working.

Will read up a bit on NVIDIA 3D for games.

Cheers
speaktome is offline  
post #1064 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Can someone measure their box for me so I can get a shipping quote? Cannot find the dimensions anywhere, only a shipping weight.
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1065 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 03:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopkiwi View Post
Can someone measure their box for me so I can get a shipping quote?
19x15x13
kopkiwi likes this.

| 
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
Charles R is offline  
post #1066 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Legend, thanks mate!
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1067 of 1128 Old 06-30-2014, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Is there a firmware update to fix the HDMI sync? I can watch Uverse all day long, but if I try to use my Panasonic DMP-BDT350 blu ray player the projector will randomly shut off. I swapped out the old cables for new monoprice redmere cables. Everything thing runs threw a Denon 4311ci.
DenisG is offline  
post #1068 of 1128 Old 06-30-2014, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
dan webster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: western mass.
Posts: 801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I installed the 7900 i was using in my sons new basement theater. I knew in advance that the 7900 would have to be tilted due to the low ceiling and limited lens shift but i could not resist buying it due to the low price. We also wanted the largest screen that would fit so we used a 100" and mounted it 2 " from the ceiling. After a great deal of trial and error i was able to get the 7900 mounted 3 inches from the ceiling tiles and only had to tilt it slightly after using all the lens shift. I resisted using the keystone adjustment and was able to get the picture really close to straight and plum. The slightly less than straight picture that you can only notice with test patterns is a small price to pay for having a 100" screen instead of a 92". One interesting thing. When i used hdmi 1 several menu options were greyed out( color wheel speed, true film and video and 1 0r 2 others) When i tried hdmi 2 everything worked just fine. The 7900 now shows 6X speed with all sources and it virtually eliminates rainbows compared to the 4X speed.

The room unfortunately was painted off white by the previous owners and the reflections from the screen are very distracting and lower the contrast significantly compared to when the projector was in my theater. It really is eye opening to see the difference having having dark walls and ceiling can make. With all thi lights off it still throws a nice and reasonably bright picture . I have still been trying to find another 7900 or 8000 for a reasonable price to add to my theater for 3d but so far no luck. I will post a few pictures soon.

Dan Webster
Never stop upgrading!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Last edited by dan webster; 06-30-2014 at 11:29 AM.
dan webster is offline  
post #1069 of 1128 Old 07-02-2014, 07:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenisG View Post
Is there a firmware update to fix the HDMI sync? I can watch Uverse all day long, but if I try to use my Panasonic DMP-BDT350 blu ray player the projector will randomly shut off. I swapped out the old cables for new monoprice redmere cables. Everything thing runs threw a Denon 4311ci.
Gave it another shot. Damn thing shut off five minutes into the bluray. Guess I'll be shopping for a new player tomorrow. This is really starting to be a pain in the butt.
DenisG is offline  
post #1070 of 1128 Old 07-02-2014, 08:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Ok I think it was smelling a little toasty. Is there a safe way to clean the intake, exhaust vents? I only run it on low lamp mode and it only shuts off watching bluray movies. Dose BD's make it run that much hotter to the point of over heat shut off verse watching uverse all day?
DenisG is offline  
post #1071 of 1128 Old 07-03-2014, 03:13 AM
Member
 
pstas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Whatever you do to clean it, NEVER blow air with pressure toward the projector.
pstas is offline  
post #1072 of 1128 Old 07-03-2014, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I myself can not see the projector that close, or reach it very well. Anywho my Dad stopped by and took a close look at it. Wow, intake side was pretty dusty. I'll give another BD a try sometime this weekend and see of that helped.

Last edited by DenisG; 07-03-2014 at 02:30 PM.
DenisG is offline  
post #1073 of 1128 Old 07-04-2014, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
DenisG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Watched the same movie on two different BD players without a single shut off. Keep your units dusted off and save yourselves one big headache.
DenisG is offline  
post #1074 of 1128 Old 07-13-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
gdiamond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Keene,NH
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
AE7000/AE800 has anyone been able to compare these projectors with the 7900dw(which i currently own).Reason i am asking is that i might want to pick up a used one for the flexibility and some added brightness.So i would appreciate any help on this and anyone have an idea what i can get on the 7900DW(great condition,100+ hours on bulb).Thanks for your help.......George
gdiamond is offline  
post #1075 of 1128 Old 07-14-2014, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Anyone recommend where to get the 3D emitter and glasses at a good price?
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1076 of 1128 Old 07-14-2014, 07:33 PM
Member
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kopkiwi View Post
Anyone recommend where to get the 3D emitter and glasses at a good price?
You can make your own with the estar kit, or but the OEM mitsu ones.
whitrzac is online now  
post #1077 of 1128 Old 07-19-2014, 04:49 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Projector has finally arrived. Didn't think a it before purchasing but the lens shift is nowhere near that of the Epson 5010. My shelf is built is the shift being able to go lower than it does. Kiwi ingenuity time.
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1078 of 1128 Old 07-20-2014, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Andy Sowden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Great to hear it finally got through Customs finally Kopkiwi!

The lens shift is something I have struggled with a bit with mine as well since I was ceiling mounting it and my ceiling is rather low. I have ended up recessing it into the ceiling to get the height I want it which has the lense just about parallel with the ceiling once the gibboard (drywall) is up.

be interested to hear your thoughts once you work out your number8 wire solution to mount it ;-)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	projector.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	172034  
Andy Sowden is offline  
post #1079 of 1128 Old 07-20-2014, 01:05 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I had a quick look at it just sitting on the couch and it definitely as a crisper, cleaner image compared with the Epson 5010
A L Wong and Andy Sowden like this.
kopkiwi is offline  
post #1080 of 1128 Old 07-22-2014, 11:29 PM
Senior Member
 
kopkiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Can anyone tell me why when watching normal Tele the picture cuts in and out. But when watching a movie on my htpc it's fine.
kopkiwi is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Mitsubishi Hc7900dw Home Theater 3d Projector , Mitsubishi Hc4000 300 Inch 1080p Front Projector
Gear in this thread - Hc4000 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off