epson 8350 hidden menu - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 05-14-2013, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
b20vtechb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've found the hidden bit menu on my 8350. I've tried changing a few one at a time but nothing new has appeared on any menus. Anyone have any insight on these and what they do.

IMG_20130514_111425_438_zpsc0c56df2.jpg

IMG_20130514_111510_738_zps35a8e733.jpg

Also to get into this
1 hold menu for 8 secs
2 press ESC 2x
3 press right then left
You will then have a window pop up
And then repeat the steps above again
b20vtechb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 08-03-2013, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
spowers777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you figured anything out on this? I am trying to access the lcd alignment menu. But the dip switch that activates it does not seem to work on the 8350? Any ideas? Anyone?

I am referencing this post:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1366241/my-epson-3010-projector-just-arrived/1260#post_21893195

Thanks!
spowers777 is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-04-2013, 08:24 AM
Member
 
nphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I can not get into the hidden menu following your procedures. I have tried both on the remote and the side panel buttons. How accurate is the 8 sec? I have tried from 6-20sec but without any luck. Can you guys me how you get into this hidden menu for the 8350? Thanks
nphan is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 08-04-2013, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
spowers777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. I can verify that the menu is available.
I used the remote. It did seem that you had to hit the buttons rather quickly after the initial 8 seconds.

Hope that helps and good luck.
spowers777 is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 08-04-2013, 12:59 PM
Member
 
Psythik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by b20vtechb View Post

IMG_20130514_111510_738_zps35a8e733.jpg
Dude, have you never heard of msconfig? All those icons in the bottom right of your screen are slowing your PC down.
spowers777 likes this.
Psythik is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-04-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
nphan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks spowers777, I was able to get into the hidden menu now. Moved to DIP-SW6 and set Bit 5 to "1" (green bar on the "1"). Still no submenu called Extended. I went back to the hidden menu to check Bit 5 and it is still at "1".
BTW My other bits under DIP-SW6 were at follows:
Bit 0: "0"
Bit 1: "1"
Bit 2: "0"
Bit 3: "1"
Bit 4: "0"
Bit 5: "0" --> set to "1'
Bit 6: "0"
Bit 7: "0"
nphan is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 03-02-2016, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
Andreas Alexiou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all, I tried the method above in order to get into the DIP switch menu but after entering the sequence, the service menu comes up where I can see the lamp hours, Hz frequencies etc, and when clicking "right" I see a tab with an error log. That's all there is. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I can't figure out what exactly. Any advice?
Andreas Alexiou is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 03-02-2016, 05:45 AM
Newbie
 
Andreas Alexiou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andreas Alexiou View Post
Hi all, I tried the method above in order to get into the DIP switch menu but after entering the sequence, the service menu comes up where I can see the lamp hours, Hz frequencies etc, and when clicking "right" I see a tab with an error log. That's all there is. I'm sure I'm doing something wrong but I can't figure out what exactly. Any advice?
Oops, missed the "do it again" part. Now I managed to enter. Indeed no extended menu after the change
Andreas Alexiou is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 07-29-2016, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
Onlysleeping23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anybody had any luck finding which dip switch activates the lcd alignment menu on the 8350? Or what any of the other switches control for that matter?
Onlysleeping23 is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-28-2017, 10:51 AM
Newbie
 
mlavacot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DP-SW settings don't unlock the "Extended" menu

First off, thanks for posting info on how to get into the secret menu. I at least had hope that I could converge the colors like the more expensive models in the family. It makes no sense to me why Epson did not include that option on the lower models.

Here's the bad news. I have a buddy with the Epson 8500 that has the Extended menu that allows you to converge colors at different points on the screen. You can look up the users manual if you want to see how it works. I had him get into the hidden menu and check his dip switch settings. They are exactly the same settings as the 8350 you have posted above as well as the 8100, the model I have.

So my only conclusion is that the dip switch settings in this hidden menu are not the way to expose the Extended menu. Also, the fact that Epson sends used replacement projectors to people and don't bother to check and calibrate the convergence leads me to believe that there might not be a way to do it, or they're really lazy.

If anyone finds a way to converge the colors, please post it here.

On a positive note, playing with the advanced sharpness settings did help a lot to hide the misalignment. Just a few clicks to the left helped mine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sharpness.JPG
Views:	161
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	1926137  
mlavacot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Epson Powerlite Home Cinema 8350

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off