Have Acer H6510BD, thinking should have went BenQ W1070 due to lense shift :/ - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 07-01-2013, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to projectors and obviously didn't do my homework long enough before ordering the Acer to save hundred or two, thinking they were pretty much the same. I'd return it, but then I have to pay a ridiculous re-stocking fee, shipping, etc. The Acer is still in the box, I am going to mount it on the ceiling, it's a low basement ceiling, maybe 8ft., so flush mount would lover the projector less than a foot below the ceiling. My screen is 100", and it's about 2ft. below the ceiling. So reading about this lense shift, my projector doesn't have it... and it won't be positioned center of the screen, so I'm a bit worried. The H6510BD will be mounted upside down, and the mount tilts down some so I can point it toward the screen. I don't know what to expect, I am thinking I might have a slight trapezoid image displayed?!?! I am hoping that due to the fact it's mounted upside down and the angle isn't that significant I can get away with it. If anyone can put my mind at ease or give me some pointers I would appreciate it. I was not sure if placing it a few feet closer or a few feet further than the recommended distance would help, but I have that option, it's just height that I don't have a lot of flexibility. I attached a sketch of pretty much how it will be angled and displayed, so any input at all would be appreciated. I have heard a little about keystone correction, that it isn't ideal because picture quality suffers to a degree, but would this be an option be for me? Thanks for any advice, ideas, or anything. projector.JPG 9k .JPG file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg projector.JPG (8.9 KB, 28 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 07-01-2013, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 34