Would this room work with a projector? (pics included) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 07-28-2013, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hey guys. We just purchased a new house a few months ago and I'm starting to work on my home theater in the basement. I have began to think whether I could mount a projector in this room or just go with mounting a TV on the wall. Sorry for all the crap that's blocking the view, but that's the flat back wall the screen would mount on. I'm new to this so info or tips would be appreciated. Here are some specs of the pictures provided:

Ceiling height: 84 inches (7 feet)
Floor to air duct: 76.5 inches (6 feet 4.5 inches)
Width of wall: 151 inches (12 feet 7 inches)

I'm thinking that if at all possible i would mount the projector either directly in front or behind the air duct as there are studs on each side. What do you guys think? Is this doable or a difficult task at hand?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 07-28-2013, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 302
Sure, that's all well and good. It doesn't look like you have anything approaching a worthwhile throw distance at the duct, so you likely have to go well behind it and drop the projector down a foot or so to clear the duct. Not a big deal. You could go shorter throw with the BenQ W1080ST, but you give up some image quality overall with short throw models like that. So, do some measuring.

Behind the duct, and dropped down, you will need a projector with lens shift like the Epson 8350 or the BenQ W7000.

On top of all that - paint the walls and ceiling dark if you actually want some good results.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.