Looking for pj that doesn't take too long switching between sources - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-29-2013, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
logan801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'm currently using an acer h5360 for my living room tv. It's hooked up to my receiver through hdmi. When I switch sources (on the receiver) the h5360 scrolls through all the inputs until it settles back down on hdmi. I've tried locking the input on the pj to hdmi but that causes purple or green screens (defect)?. I'd like to upgrade to 1080p anyway so I'm wondering if you have any suggestions as to what would be a good upgrade. I've read that the newer acer h6510bd does the same thing, maybe not the stuck purple screen but the scrolling of inputs. I'm not brand loyal to acer but I do like the lumens they put out. My only requirement is that the "upgrade" be comparable with nvidia 3d. Thanks!
logan801 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-30-2013, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,017
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 174
There is sometimes as setting for auto source or something to that effect.. will cause the projector to look for active source.. if it has it, turn it off.

Doug
Planar PD8150 paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-30-2013, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,271
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 514
Don't buy that brand, complain, let others know. Manufacturers that can't handle the basics have no business getting our dollars.

BenQ, Epson, Panasonic, Optoma, etc. do NOT have this issue. I'm not a fan of Viewsonic due to other, but similar, QC issues that are ridiculous.

Now, none of the switching is amazingly fast, as it often takes 5-10 seconds for a HDMI source to negotiate HDCP, but it certainly is faster than waiting for a projector to scroll through inputs.

My BenQ W1070 came out of the box with 'auto source select' turned on. I turned this feature off, and have had no issues at all. It sticks with HDMI input 1 and never causes me issues (yet... knock on wood).

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-30-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
logan801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your input. I'm now considering the Optoma HD25-LV does anyone know if that one will work with Nvidia's 3D?
logan801 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Acer H5360 3d Dlp Projector , Benq W1070 3d Ready Dlp Projector 1080p Hdtv , Optoma Hd25 Lv 3d Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off