Optoma HD131Xe, HD (1080p), 2500 ANSI Lumens, 3D-Home Theater Projector - Sub $800 New Budget King? - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 2941 Old 03-17-2014, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Brett Tambling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the reply. I'm hoping to pull off some sort of reasonable 2.35:1 zoom with this projector, but I'm afraid the 1.2x zoom (at least that setting alone) won't allow you to project a 2.35:1 image at the same image height. Their superwide feature crops the left/right off 2.35:1, so I'm not a fan of that.
Blindman0v0 likes this.
Brett Tambling is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 2941 Old 03-17-2014, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
PGT FTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I should have mentioned that my wife wants to use the Sanyo for an outdoor projector on an inflatable screen, so, its a good time to "upgrade" the indoor one.
PGT FTW is offline  
post #2433 of 2941 Old 03-18-2014, 08:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Have i mentioned that i ****ing love this projector? smile.gif

I have been playing Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 yesterday and oh my....my eyes cannot believe how crisp the picture quality was. eek.gif

Question: When in Eco mode, it is said that the HD131xe lasts 7000 hours, right? But what if one is not using Eco mode? Which is in my case?
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #2434 of 2941 Old 03-18-2014, 08:56 AM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15

No its 6000 or 4500 in eco AFAIR, look it up on their site or read the manual.

jh30uk is offline  
post #2435 of 2941 Old 03-18-2014, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moonwalker1982 View Post

Have i mentioned that i ****ing love this projector? smile.gif

I have been playing Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 yesterday and oh my....my eyes cannot believe how crisp the picture quality was. eek.gif

Question: When in Eco mode, it is said that the HD131xe lasts 7000 hours, right? But what if one is not using Eco mode? Which is in my case?
Yep 6000 hours in eco mode/ My Infocus was rated at 3000 hours on eco mode but the original bulb lasted 4500 hours before it popped up the warning note. Going to be interesting to see if these really last 6000 hours.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2436 of 2941 Old 03-18-2014, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Moonwalker1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post

Yep 6000 hours in eco mode/ My Infocus was rated at 3000 hours on eco mode but the original bulb lasted 4500 hours before it popped up the warning note. Going to be interesting to see if these really last 6000 hours.

Ok, well i checked and i am nearing 700 hours now.
Blindman0v0 likes this.
Moonwalker1982 is offline  
post #2437 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 08:16 AM
Member
 
198four's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone. I have a little issue I need help with.

My frame rates seem to be sufferring when I am playing FIFA 14 for example on XBOX one. You can't really notice unless you concentrate on a player's movement individually. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? How can I improve this?
198four is offline  
post #2438 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 01:59 PM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by 198four View Post

Hey everyone. I have a little issue I need help with.

My frame rates seem to be sufferring when I am playing FIFA 14 for example on XBOX one. You can't really notice unless you concentrate on a player's movement individually. Any idea what I'm doing wrong? How can I improve this?

You should see the video setting in the lower right corner when you change inputs--try switching from hdmi 1 to 2 and back again--it will show up. What are you seeing? 1080p 60hz for example. If its 30hz or 24hz, then you will see more judder--as if you see one frame, then another with movement that causes a choppy moving object vs. a smoothly flowing object. It's usually very noticeable in 24hz movies that have a lot of action or movement. If the frame rate is low, then you will have to try to increase it at the source (e.g. the Xbox output). The projector takes whatever you give it and uses it. Sometimes older games get sent at 576p or 480p making them less sharp, but that doesn't sound like your problem.

Now that said, you might be simply suffering from RBE or rainbows since the color wheel moves at a different rate than the frame rate and can create a multi-colored flashing image in bright objects or dark objects moving across a light background--forgive me if you are already familiar with this.

Also, if you are using the bright bulb mode, change to eco mode and see if that makes a difference. Bright images make your eye iris close and increase flickering in moving images. Or as they say, you probably have to live with it.
threed123 is offline  
post #2439 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 02:08 PM
Member
 
Dom Sad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14

Couldn't cope with terrible sharpness and  colours so returned it...

Got Benq W1300 and so far I'm happy...

Dom Sad is offline  
post #2440 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 02:49 PM
 
threed123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Troy, MI, USA
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post

Yep 6000 hours in eco mode/ My Infocus was rated at 3000 hours on eco mode but the original bulb lasted 4500 hours before it popped up the warning note. Going to be interesting to see if these really last 6000 hours.

I believe every time you turn on the projector it takes a minimum of 2 hours off the counter when you turn it off, due to the short cool down fan time. So if you are a short-time watcher, your hours will build up more quickly. At least this is my and others experience so far. Still 6000 is a big number, and even you just turned it on and off every day for a year without watching anything you will only burn 700 hours.
Blindman0v0 likes this.
threed123 is offline  
post #2441 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Mine seems to have gotten a little louder in the past couple days I have noticed. Anyone ever notice a higher pitched noise coming from it? Not a chirping, but just a static higher pitched noise?

PM-Performance is offline  
post #2442 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom Sad View Post

Couldn't cope with terrible sharpness and  colours so returned it...

Got Benq W1300 and so far I'm happy...


Nice, I've heard good things about that model. How does brightness uniformity compare to your previous W1070?

BenQ W1070 Projector; Xtreamer Ultra 2 (running XBMC on OpenELEC) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio. MediaBrowser3 for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #2443 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
Dom Sad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post


Nice, I've heard good things about that model. How does brightness uniformity compare to your previous W1070?

Definitely better but still not perfect but then Optoma wasn't perfect either.

It does have better optics which give better sharpness than W1070.

kreeturez likes this.
Dom Sad is offline  
post #2444 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 03:43 PM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by threed123 View Post

I believe every time you turn on the projector it takes a minimum of 2 hours off the counter when you turn it off, due to the short cool down fan time. So if you are a short-time watcher, your hours will build up more quickly. At least this is my and others experience so far. Still 6000 is a big number, and even you just turned it on and off every day for a year without watching anything you will only burn 700 hours.
Yeah I noticed the cool down time is very short compared to my other PJ's.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2445 of 2941 Old 03-19-2014, 05:36 PM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15

My 1st one was good, no issues then it fried after I guess 5-8 hours use including messing about to set up, watched 2x45min Eps and was nearly done watching a 90min movie when it died so that is a approx guess.

 

Replacement has bad focus in 1 corner so its 1 from the bad batch made around Dec 2013.

 

I can get it picked up by Optoma and fixed but I really am not happy and not sure if that focus issue is the reason my 2nd unit has a horrid picture over the 1st one.

 

Blacks, shadow details, noise and not sharp all worst over whole screen.

 

BenQ does not seem much better by reading a lot of info on it from owners who have had both, not sure on that Espon though it cost more.

jh30uk is offline  
post #2446 of 2941 Old 03-20-2014, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
DBryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maine
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sure I am in the minority but I returned mine. I have an Optoma HD65 with about 200 hrs on it. I compared both side by side. The 131 was slightly brighter and had slightly more color "pop" but not the difference I had hoped for. Maybe i was not being realistic in the difference I was hoping for. It also seemed to have some "ghosting." Nothing terrible but more so than the 65. I am not saying the HD65 is better, just not enough of a difference to warrant the money. I use a 92" screen for ref.
DBryant is offline  
post #2447 of 2941 Old 03-20-2014, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
Andrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

We're pretty happy with the hd131xe, we first had a sony projector, which was perfect but after 10 years, broke due to oxidation, and the replacament one was a optoma hd65 which broke within a year and was very frustating..

 

We tried optoma again with hd131xe and so far, so good, images are great and sharp, watching ''batman, the dark knight'' is just awesome, we use a 100' screen for it..

 

So, I'm coming here guys to ask your opinion, we know it is a 3d projector, but we don't have the glasses, what are the best 3d glasses for the optoma hd131xe? We're looking forward to watch ''gravity'' on 3d on it.

 

Thanks!

 

 

EDIT: passive 3d glasses please! can't stand recharging active glasses

Andrest is offline  
post #2448 of 2941 Old 03-20-2014, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
Patty2720's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Should I go for this or W1070?

Patty2720 is offline  
post #2449 of 2941 Old 03-20-2014, 07:40 PM
Member
 
Brett Tambling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did the EStar America ESG6100 RF-3D Starter Kit, which you can get on eBay. It's RF and so far, seems to work great with the HD131xe and RF is kind of considered "the way to go" now for 3D versus IR or DLP-Link.
Brett Tambling is offline  
post #2450 of 2941 Old 03-20-2014, 08:14 PM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrest View Post
 

We're pretty happy with the hd131xe, we first had a sony projector, which was perfect but after 10 years, broke due to oxidation, and the replacament one was a optoma hd65 which broke within a year and was very frustating..

 

We tried optoma again with hd131xe and so far, so good, images are great and sharp, watching ''batman, the dark knight'' is just awesome, we use a 100' screen for it..

 

So, I'm coming here guys to ask your opinion, we know it is a 3d projector, but we don't have the glasses, what are the best 3d glasses for the optoma hd131xe? We're looking forward to watch ''gravity'' on 3d on it.

 

Thanks!

 

 

EDIT: passive 3d glasses please! can't stand recharging active glasses


AFAIK you need Active Shutter glasses and they need support 144HZ ideally.

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Optoma-ZD301-Link-Glasses-Projector/dp/B00CHHWDQI/ref=pd_ybh_13   < Old

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Optoma-DLP-Link-3D-Glasses-ZD302/dp/B00GOWJBT4/ref=pd_ybh_12   < New

jh30uk is offline  
post #2451 of 2941 Old 03-21-2014, 09:55 AM
Newbie
 
Stingrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Would you believe I'm only getting 3D working this week?   I bought the projector followed by the PS4 and a screen from ebay back in the fall.

 

Sony decided not to support streaming as well as playing 3D movies from the PS4 on release.   They say that a patch will come later to allow 3D support for the PS4 (firmware patch)

 

As a result I have put together a muti-media to be able to stream my 3D movies.

Intel Dual Core,3GHZ, 2G RAM, with Nvidia 512 MB card.

I'm running Ubuntu currently, but will be trying either OpenElec or XBMCBuntu

 

My 3D looks amazing, but I haven't sat down to watch a whole movie yet.   Also with this quick setup, I realized that the PC will need a separate optical out for sound to go to my receiver.

So now I can do 3D (with no sound), but I'm getting much closer.   And I have not put together my new screen either, and so I assume that will make my 3D images a little brighter as well.

 

Currently only projecting on a painted wall, and I'm surprised the 3D looks this good already.

 

I'll keep you posted, but it looks like I'll be needing a few more pairs of the RF glasses;

EStar America ESG6000 RF-3D Glasses

Blindman0v0 likes this.
Stingrr is offline  
post #2452 of 2941 Old 03-21-2014, 01:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 110
good to hear. I am still trying to decide if I want to get into 3d for my PJ. I already have 5 pairs of active glasses I am not using for my Panasonic Panel and not sure I want to make the investment again.
Soooo tempting
I want to try the 3Active glasses though. I have a really comfy pair for my Panny and love them. Just dont know how they will work with the emitters out there.

PM-Performance is offline  
post #2453 of 2941 Old 03-21-2014, 05:01 PM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by PM-Performance View Post

good to hear. I am still trying to decide if I want to get into 3d for my PJ. I already have 5 pairs of active glasses I am not using for my Panasonic Panel and not sure I want to make the investment again.
Soooo tempting
I want to try the 3Active glasses though. I have a really comfy pair for my Panny and love them. Just dont know how they will work with the emitters out there.

From the links I posted above (I choose the newer set for you)

 

Quote:

 

By Daviddewisphotography Amazon Verified Purchase The best 3-D experience I have ever had. I thought these to go with my optoma HD131xe receive projector. I have had absolutely no issues with crosstalk, and they synchronise very quickly with the projector. No extra transmitter is required. Simply uses DLP Link to connect directly to the projector

jh30uk is offline  
post #2454 of 2941 Old 03-22-2014, 06:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
PM-Performance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 852
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 110
I am worried about the line to sight tech though. I guess I can try and return if needed, comfort is a big thing too

PM-Performance is offline  
post #2455 of 2941 Old 03-22-2014, 09:00 AM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15

For 3D you are supposed to be ideally at eye level with the screen and you going to be in line of sight or you would not see the screen.

 

I would not watch 3D from the side.

jh30uk is offline  
post #2456 of 2941 Old 03-22-2014, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ftoast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,374
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I've been using some $12 no-name dlplink glasses and I don't have any problems with them flashing or syncing. Even if I look/walk away from the screen so they drop sync, it only takes at most 2 seconds to find it again as soon as the screen is in view..even with daylight pouring in (I had to try it). My only complaint is that this particular set is a little heavy on the nose because the plastic moldmark is right there. Doublesided tape and some form of padding should solve this.

For anyone curious, the box says "G15-dlp. 3D Active Glasses" they come with two batteries and look like a knockoff of some Samsung's.

Simple <$250 dedicated black-fabric theater room, build in a day, takedown in an hour.
Easy $25-40 DIY black/dark-grey ambient-light rejecting screen, grab two things from a local store..mix..roll..done.
Ftoast is offline  
post #2457 of 2941 Old 03-23-2014, 11:54 PM
Member
 
nosdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To those who have the estar rf glasses, did you adjust the emitter settings or was it good out of the box already? Can you adjust brightness using the emitter?
nosdavid is offline  
post #2458 of 2941 Old 03-24-2014, 12:08 AM
Member
 
Brett Tambling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Good out of the box. When I tried adjusting speed, I'd get a weird green screen, so I set back to original settings and looked fine.
Brett Tambling is offline  
post #2459 of 2941 Old 03-24-2014, 07:14 AM
Member
 
jh30uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15

Speed?

jh30uk is offline  
post #2460 of 2941 Old 03-24-2014, 08:49 AM
Newbie
 
Stingrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Same here, they worked great right out of the box.    No configuration needed. 

Stingrr is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd131xe Dlp Projector 3d
Gear in this thread - Hd131xe by PriceGrabber.com



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off