Optoma HD131Xe, HD (1080p), 2500 ANSI Lumens, 3D-Home Theater Projector - Sub $800 New Budget King? - Page 93 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2761 of 2782 Old 07-18-2014, 01:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Nicktx27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
What distance from screen should this be at to get the best picture quality on a 100" screen? The defaulted zoom on Optoma's sight shows 11' 11" I think. Can someone tell me of this is at no zoom?
Go to www.projectorcentral.com and click the calculator.
That will give you everything you need for throw distance, zoom, offset, ect..
Nicktx27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2762 of 2782 Old 07-18-2014, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I've been on there and it says 11'11" at 1.10 zoom. Is 1.0 at no zoom? Do you think 1.10 zoom affects image quality?
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2763 of 2782 Old 07-18-2014, 01:18 PM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
Ok. I'm mounting it today I think and if I'm off a few inches can I make it a little bigger or smaller? My 100" screen will be here Monday, but if like to at least get the projector up. Thanks.
My measurement was with no zoom at 12' from the screen. So if you mount it at about 11" that will put you in about the center of your zoom capability. Any time you zoom you're going to degrade the picture a little. Doesn't matter whether its digital or analog. But having said that even zoomed the picture is still pretty darn good.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2764 of 2782 Old 07-18-2014, 02:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Nicktx27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
I've been on there and it says 11'11" at 1.10 zoom. Is 1.0 at no zoom? Do you think 1.10 zoom affects image quality?
I'm pretty sure 1.0 is no zoom. I know on some projectors zooming out can increase the chance of seeing SDE, but I believe if you buy a decent screen this mitigates some of those issues. I don't think the 131 has that issue.
Anyone can correct me if I'm wrong.
Nicktx27 is offline  
post #2765 of 2782 Old 07-18-2014, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for all the help. Projector is up, man those 3mm screws suck. Not too many stores have them. My 25' hdmi cord is too short, so I have to return it for longer tomorrow. Hope the quality doesn't suffer.
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2766 of 2782 Old 07-19-2014, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
Thanks for all the help. Projector is up, man those 3mm screws suck. Not too many stores have them. My 25' hdmi cord is too short, so I have to return it for longer tomorrow. Hope the quality doesn't suffer.
The only flaw I've found in this projector is the weak signal strength detection and you might have a problem with that. I have a 25" HDMI 1.4 cable and the projector will lose signal from the blu ray player while changing between different files. Have never had it lose detection during any file or blu ray playing though, so its just a bit of a nuisance.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2767 of 2782 Old 07-19-2014, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post
The only flaw I've found in this projector is the weak signal strength detection and you might have a problem with that. I have a 25" HDMI 1.4 cable and the projector will lose signal from the blu ray player while changing between different files. Have never had it lose detection during any file or blu ray playing though, so its just a bit of a nuisance.
What do you mean by files? Menus?
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2768 of 2782 Old 07-19-2014, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So I have everything hooked up and it doesn't work with my 25' hdmi cord, hdmi extender, and 6' hdmi on the other end. I know, too many things. So I moved my bluray player next to the projector and everything works perfect with a 6' cord. I'll try hooking it up just to the 25' and see if that works tomorrow. Otherwise, Iron Man 3 looks great with it all right out of the box projecting on my wall.
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2769 of 2782 Old 07-20-2014, 06:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
It's the 25' HDMI cable. I've read that some cables are directional, but I really don't want to take this out of the ceiling and run it the other way.
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2770 of 2782 Old 07-20-2014, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
What do you mean by files? Menus?
Movies video files. I play a lot of mkv files. I know the mindless idiots in the movie business hate people like me but they shouldn't. I will download a movie and watch it and if I really like it I go purchase the blu ray. They never think about the positive aspect of file sharing. Just the greed. I wouldn't buy any blu rays if I couldn't see if the movie is any good first.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2771 of 2782 Old 07-20-2014, 10:29 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
It's the 25' HDMI cable. I've read that some cables are directional, but I really don't want to take this out of the ceiling and run it the other way.
Was it a 1.4 cable? Might have to buy an updated cable for your length. Never a good idea to patch cables together. I've considered buying one of the hdmi signal boosters but haven't yet.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2772 of 2782 Old 07-20-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post
Was it a 1.4 cable? Might have to buy an updated cable for your length. Never a good idea to patch cables together. I've considered buying one of the hdmi signal boosters but haven't yet.
I just tried doing the 25' alone and that didn't even work. I went and bought the 50' and that does work, weird. All up and running now.
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2773 of 2782 Old 07-23-2014, 03:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Lightbulb 120hz native input?

Hey folks,

I'm new to the world of projectors, and I'd like to ask if anyone with this unit has been able to successfully get a 120hz 2D input at 1080p to work correctly? I want a projector with these specs for movies and for high-framerate gaming from a PC, so 120hz input at 1080p is ideal. There are a lot of 3D TV's out there that support that setting, but none advertise it, and it takes a lot of research to find that information out. It has proven even more difficult on projectors!

Thanks in advance!
MrPeter is offline  
post #2774 of 2782 Old 07-24-2014, 11:24 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPeter View Post
Hey folks,

I'm new to the world of projectors, and I'd like to ask if anyone with this unit has been able to successfully get a 120hz 2D input at 1080p to work correctly? I want a projector with these specs for movies and for high-framerate gaming from a PC, so 120hz input at 1080p is ideal. There are a lot of 3D TV's out there that support that setting, but none advertise it, and it takes a lot of research to find that information out. It has proven even more difficult on projectors!

Thanks in advance!
Under the specs is does say Vertical Scan Rate 24–85Hz, 120Hz, 144Hz. Haven't messed with it though myself.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2775 of 2782 Old 07-24-2014, 11:25 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
I just tried doing the 25' alone and that didn't even work. I went and bought the 50' and that does work, weird. All up and running now.
Must have been a bad cable. You have any issues witht he projector losing connection while changing files? The dreaded old hourglass pic
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2776 of 2782 Old 07-24-2014, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post
Under the specs is does say Vertical Scan Rate 24–85Hz, 120Hz, 144Hz. Haven't messed with it though myself.
Well, for something to support 3D in 120Hz, it MUST support 120fps input, so that's pretty much a given. For some reason that is technically beyond me, a lot of TV's (and I am thinking projectors too) do not advertise support for inputting a standard 1080p 2D signal at 120Hz, even though they can support it. As a result, when connecting to a computer, the option to up the output Hz setting is not available.

There are workarounds of course, to force the output to 1080p at 120Hz in 2D mode, but many display devices don't play nice with this setting for some reason. There are threads on here about which TV's do support it, but not one for projectors.

And before anybody asks, 120Hz in 2D is superior for high-fps gaming when compared to 60Hz. It looks better, and feels much more responsive. That's why I'm hoping for it.
MrPeter is offline  
post #2777 of 2782 Old 07-24-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindman0v0 View Post
Must have been a bad cable. You have any issues witht he projector losing connection while changing files? The dreaded old hourglass pic
Yes I get the hour glass. I'd say it's a 3-5 second delay. Once the disc is loaded all is well.
Nateuofmn is offline  
post #2778 of 2782 Old 07-25-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nateuofmn View Post
Yes I get the hour glass. I'd say it's a 3-5 second delay. Once the disc is loaded all is well.
Same with mine. Wish they would come up with a fix. Thought about buying a signal booster to amp the signal up a little.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2779 of 2782 Old 07-28-2014, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
I have a weird one here. Just bought one of these off the Optoma ebay outlet store - thought I'd ask here while waiting for their reply - the unit itself seems to work, but the remote is very weird - pressing 'Native' actually does Volume Up, 'Contrast' does Volume Down. Other buttons do nothing or at least not what they are meant to.


The remote is model number L-27-5KEY - is that correct? It looks right from pictures I've seen online.


Cheers,
Steve
SteveC00ps is offline  
post #2780 of 2782 Old 07-28-2014, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Blindman0v0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thats the same remote I have. Must be bad. Send it back to Optoma and get a replacement.
Blindman0v0 is offline  
post #2781 of 2782 Old Yesterday, 12:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
They came back to me straight away saying I probably have been given an HD131x remote by mistake as they look identical but don't work on the HD131xe and has put one in the post for me. I'll see what it's like when it turns up.
SteveC00ps is offline  
post #2782 of 2782 Old Today, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
GammaBreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
24 Hz VS 23.976 Hz

Received mine, and am overall happy with it. In the PC's display mode options, it lists both 24 Hz and 23 Hz. The latter is usually the OS's shorthand for 23.976, and it does appear to accept it as a mode.

That said, when playing back 23.976 FPS videos in either mode, there is some pretty severe tearing. This leads me to believe that there is in fact not a true 23.976 mode within the Optoma, and that it's simply going back to 24 FPS. ReClock is able to bludgeon the playback into a mostly tear-free state, but I just wanted to make sure that I wasn't missing something, and if I could attain true 23.976. On my Panasonic LCD TV, it took some fidgeting on the PC end before it would finally cooperate with the TV to do such.
GammaBreaker is online now  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Optoma Hd131xe Dlp Projector 3d
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off