Advice on a projector for large outdoor movie night? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 37 Old 08-29-2013, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a projector to use on a large outdoors screen. I'm a real newbie to the projection world so not sure where to begin in selecting what I need. I'm not even sure what info would be needed for a good suggestion so I'll list everything i can think of smile.gif

1. The screen will either be made up of black out cloth or FlexiWhite (still haven't completely decided on the screen yet)
  2. I thinking of going with 2.35:1 aspect ratio, and the dimensions will likely be 9 feet high by 21 feet wide.
  3. My backyard has a hill that people will be viewing the movie from.
  4. The projector will likely be about 30-35 feet back of where the screen will be
  5. I don't know much about this stuff so I don't want too many settings and adjustments to make. I'd like to just plug it in and press play and have it look "good enough"
  6. This will be used almost exclusively for our movie nights...outside...at night.
  7. I'd like to connect the audio wirelessly to my Apple TV on the same home network if possible. The speakers in the picture are controlled by the Apple TV so it I can stream the audio to the Apple TV I can play the audio on the outdoor speakers through the Apple TV. Not sure if this is something I need to figure out when buying the projector, or if this would come from the DVD player the movie is playing from.

Feel free to let me know if any other info would be helpful in deciding which projector to go with.

I've heard good things about the BenQ W1070, but not sure if it will be right for my situation. Would it work on such a large screen? Would it work sitting so far back from the screen?

What would you guys suggest for a modest projector that would work well for my needs and space (see picture attached)?

Thanks all for any help!!!
Sponsored Links