1920 * 1080 via VGA cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 09-15-2013, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

I have used my panasonic AE700 for 9 years now (6500 hours at original bulb!). Now with a new original panasonic bulb my blue panel burned up after 250 hours. I have used a laptop with the wide 720P resulution with 1:1 pixel mapping. When i change resolution to 1920*1080 the projector shows no image. My VGA cable is of good quality but it is very long 15 meters or 590 inches. In manual it says it will do 1920*1080 interlaced. But does laptops send out interlaced or progressive signal?

Anyway i am going to replace it with a full hd resolution projector. I think i might buy the Optima 131Xe. As this has a native 1920*1080 resolution do you guys think that there is a chance that it will take 1920*1080 via my VGA cable from my laptop?

Thanks
exso is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-16-2013, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by exso View Post

Hello!

I have used my panasonic AE700 for 9 years now (6500 hours at original bulb!). Now with a new original panasonic bulb my blue panel burned up after 250 hours. I have used a laptop with the wide 720P resulution with 1:1 pixel mapping. When i change resolution to 1920*1080 the projector shows no image. My VGA cable is of good quality but it is very long 15 meters or 590 inches. In manual it says it will do 1920*1080 interlaced. But does laptops send out interlaced or progressive signal?

Anyway i am going to replace it with a full hd resolution projector. I think i might buy the Optima 131Xe. As this has a native 1920*1080 resolution do you guys think that there is a chance that it will take 1920*1080 via my VGA cable from my laptop?

Thanks

The AE700 still used organic LCD panels and is likely why the blue panel failed after this much time. The AE700 accepts 720p and 1080i. I seem to remember reading that the AE700 only does 1:1 pixel mapping at 720p.

VGA cables are capable of 1080p and higher but the typical limiting factor is the graphics card or HD receiver and modern-day projectors do NOT accept 1080p over VGA, it's a HDCP restriction.

That said the Optoma 131Xe will accept 720p and 1080i from your laptop. It also accepts WUXGA, UXGA, SXGA+, WXGA+, WXGA, SXGA, XGA, SVGA, VGA resized, VESA, PC and Macintosh compatible.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-16-2013, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

The AE700 still used organic LCD panels and is likely why the blue panel failed after this much time. The AE700 accepts 720p and 1080i. I seem to remember reading that the AE700 only does 1:1 pixel mapping at 720p.

VGA cables are capable of 1080p and higher but the typical limiting factor is the graphics card or HD receiver and modern-day projectors do NOT accept 1080p over VGA, it's a HDCP restriction.

That said the Optoma 131Xe will accept 720p and 1080i from your laptop. It also accepts WUXGA, UXGA, SXGA+, WXGA+, WXGA, SXGA, XGA, SVGA, VGA resized, VESA, PC and Macintosh compatible.

Thanks for the reply!

Do you know how i can send 1080i from my laptop? I have a laptop that has a 1920*1200 native screen so my graphics card is no limitation (geforce go 6800). When i send 720p i just set resolution to 1280*720 60hz. I have the option to send 1920*1080 but i dont think it is interlaced. I can use powerstrip to make my own resolutions. But i dont know what the difference is from progressive to interlaced. Is it the hz? When you say new projectors don't take 1080p over VGA because of the HDCP restriction, do you mean that i will get my windows desktop to show on the screen but that i cannot play dvd's and bluray's that are HDCP protected?

Can you see in this manual at page 60 for the 131xe under compability modes. Look at analog and it says that it takes 1080p in 24,50 and 60hz. But not 1080i in 50 and 60 hz.
http://www.optomausa.com/webresources/files/support/2265_HD131Xe_UM.pdf
exso is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 09-17-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by exso View Post

Thanks for the reply!

Do you know how i can send 1080i from my laptop? I have a laptop that has a 1920*1200 native screen so my graphics card is no limitation (geforce go 6800). When i send 720p i just set resolution to 1280*720 60hz. I have the option to send 1920*1080 but i dont think it is interlaced. I can use powerstrip to make my own resolutions. But i dont know what the difference is from progressive to interlaced. Is it the hz? When you say new projectors don't take 1080p over VGA because of the HDCP restriction, do you mean that i will get my windows desktop to show on the screen but that i cannot play dvd's and bluray's that are HDCP protected?

Can you see in this manual at page 60 for the 131xe under compability modes. Look at analog and it says that it takes 1080p in 24,50 and 60hz. But not 1080i in 50 and 60 hz.
http://www.optomausa.com/webresources/files/support/2265_HD131Xe_UM.pdf

I'm not really sure why you weren't getting a picture on the AE700 from your laptop unless it was going out at 1080p. As you say the laptop video card is not the problem.
Quote:
The Go 6800 includes nVidia's PureVideo technology, which adds video-specific features like MPEG-2 decode acceleration, Microsoft Windows Media HD decode acceleration, advanced motion adaptive deinterlacing, driver support for HDTV resolutions (1,280-by-720 and 1,920-by-1,080), and 3:2 pull-down correction for watching DVD movies.

The AE700 takes all compatible resolutions and either down or up converts to its native resolution - 1280 x 720 pixels.

DVD's are only 480i so they are not HDCP protected. Do you have a Blu-ray player on your laptop? I am guessing no since you would most likely have an HDMI output on your laptop.

Many people rip their Blu-ray's to a hard drive which removes the HDCP protection. Is this the type of file you're trying to play?

Regardless I don't think you'll have a problem with the Optoma 131Xe if that's the route you go.

For specific answers to your laptop's capabilities I suggest you post your questions in the Home Theater Computers Forum.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 09-17-2013, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that AE700 got 1080p because all lcd screens use progressive. So i belive the graphic card has progressive as standard. I fooled around with powerstrip today and the usual 1920*1080 custom resolution was progressive. But i could check of interlaced, and when i did the picture disappeared on my laptop screen. So i believe it could work on the AE700 with interlaced is checked.

I too believe i could use 1080p through vga on the optima 131xe after reading the manual. But i want to be sure before i buy it. This is one of the things holding me back from buying it now plus i don't know if i am sensitive to rainbow effect. I use projector as desktop reading news, web tv and rips. It don't have blu ray player inside it.

I am really sad my AE700 is broken. I loved the sharp 1:1 720p picture and the low fan noise at only 22db. Now its really hard to find a 22db projector as the lamps are higher watts.

I would love to hear more from you regarding organic panels. What happend when i got my new original lamp 3 weeks ago was that first i was impressed how bright it was. But as time went after 50 hour the picture got bluer and bluer. As the blue panel could not shut the light out as good as it used to. Then i got a big yellow circle in the middle. Looked like the blue polarizer got burned. And at 250 hours suddenly a black dot appeared and i growed fast. Like a leak of the liquid crystals poured out and filled line by line. And after 10 minutes 60% of the screen was black. Checked in service mode and red and green panel was good, but the blue was 60% black. Did not let any light though at all at the damaged place. This would give me the best black level ever LOL.
exso is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 09-18-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by exso View Post

I believe that AE700 got 1080p because all lcd screens use progressive. So i belive the graphic card has progressive as standard. I fooled around with powerstrip today and the usual 1920*1080 custom resolution was progressive. But i could check of interlaced, and when i did the picture disappeared on my laptop screen. So i believe it could work on the AE700 with interlaced is checked.

I too believe i could use 1080p through vga on the optima 131xe after reading the manual. But i want to be sure before i buy it. This is one of the things holding me back from buying it now plus i don't know if i am sensitive to rainbow effect. I use projector as desktop reading news, web tv and rips. It don't have blu ray player inside it.

I am really sad my AE700 is broken. I loved the sharp 1:1 720p picture and the low fan noise at only 22db. Now its really hard to find a 22db projector as the lamps are higher watts.

I would love to hear more from you regarding organic panels. What happend when i got my new original lamp 3 weeks ago was that first i was impressed how bright it was. But as time went after 50 hour the picture got bluer and bluer. As the blue panel could not shut the light out as good as it used to. Then i got a big yellow circle in the middle. Looked like the blue polarizer got burned. And at 250 hours suddenly a black dot appeared and i growed fast. Like a leak of the liquid crystals poured out and filled line by line. And after 10 minutes 60% of the screen was black. Checked in service mode and red and green panel was good, but the blue was 60% black. Did not let any light though at all at the damaged place. This would give me the best black level ever LOL.

Well you are right about the trend toward higher wattage's on projector lamps which is mainly driven by the move to 3D. The Optoma 131Xe is rated at 26 dB in eco mode.

Your problem with the blue LCD organic polarizer was a fairly common one. It's caused by excessive heat. Did you get a new air filter with your OEM bulb? Perhaps the fan in the projector was not working properly and failed to move enough air to cool the lamp.

The issue with RBE is dependent on the person and the projector, many are not bothered at all, some a little and some a lot. Find a dealer who will allow you to return the projector if you're unhappy with it.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 09-18-2013, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes the OEM came with new filter and i installed it too. I also set the fan to high mode after 50 hours to see if i could lower the bluish picture. So i had the fan in high mode from 50 to 250 hours till it broke. Both fans worked propely because i checked the temp1 and temp2 in service mode now and then.

I have ordered the hd131Xe today. I checked the return policy. It is 45 days but they said that try not to use it more than 50 to 100 hours. This was because one guy made a big case of this and did not get refound because he had used it 450 hours in 45 days. That was 10 hours a day. And this guy said he had used it a couple of hours each day not knowing the projector had a lamp hour counter.
exso is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 09-18-2013, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by exso View Post

Yes the OEM came with new filter and i installed it too. I also set the fan to high mode after 50 hours to see if i could lower the bluish picture. So i had the fan in high mode from 50 to 250 hours till it broke. Both fans worked propely because i checked the temp1 and temp2 in service mode now and then.

I have ordered the hd131Xe today. I checked the return policy. It is 45 days but they said that try not to use it more than 50 to 100 hours. This was because one guy made a big case of this and did not get refound because he had used it 450 hours in 45 days. That was 10 hours a day. And this guy said he had used it a couple of hours each day not knowing the projector had a lamp hour counter.

Post back after your new projector arrives and you've used it a while. I'll be interested to see whether it's a good match for your laptop and what you think of it.

Cheers.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 09-19-2013, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure will do.

Cheers
exso is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 09-19-2013, 07:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Laptops output progressive video typically and 1080i is not a standard computer output resolution. The AE700 does NOT accept 1080p (1920x1080) resolution over any cable, HDMI or VGA, so you will not be able to send that.

As it is, it doesn't matter. You should only send 1280x720 video to that projector from your computer because that's the native resolution of the projector.

Now, if you are just wondering if your VGA cable will support 1920x1080, the answer is yes. VGA fully supports resolutions up to and potentially beyond 1920x1200 @ 60Hz, so your output of 1920x1080 over a quality VGA cable should be no problem at all.

The only problem you have is that your projector doesn't, and won't, accept that resolution.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-20-2013, 01:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

Laptops output progressive video typically and 1080i is not a standard computer output resolution. The AE700 does NOT accept 1080p (1920x1080) resolution over any cable, HDMI or VGA, so you will not be able to send that.

As it is, it doesn't matter. You should only send 1280x720 video to that projector from your computer because that's the native resolution of the projector.

Now, if you are just wondering if your VGA cable will support 1920x1080, the answer is yes. VGA fully supports resolutions up to and potentially beyond 1920x1200 @ 60Hz, so your output of 1920x1080 over a quality VGA cable should be no problem at all.

The only problem you have is that your projector doesn't, and won't, accept that resolution.

Thanks!

Yes you are right it does not take 1080p. But manual says it takes 1080i. The reason i wanted to try this resolution was 2 things. One is that i wanted to see if my long vga cable could take it before i bought the 131xe projector. The other thing was that i wanted to see how small all things on the windows desktop gets in 1080 on my AE700. I have a dell laptop with native 1920*1080 resolution and i hate it. I cant read this small text so i use 1280*800 on the laptop screen. When this is no native resolution the picture is not sharp but it is at least big enough to read. But now i am forced to buy 1080p projector but for windows desktop use i think 720p is still the best. But we will see after i pick up my new projector today. It was very promising that you wrote that i will be able to send 1080p through my vga. The optoma's manual say that it takes 1080p in 24,50 and 60 hz through analog. I believe analog means vga and component?
exso is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-20-2013, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Analog, in this case, will generally mean VGA. Component video connections are generally limited to 480i/480p/720p/1080i resolutions. No big deal as your connection is VGA and 1080p will be just fine at standard refresh rates.

Of course, at some point, you will need to go to HDMI and a digital connection, but that can happen a bit later perhaps.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-21-2013, 05:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
exso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I mounted my new projector yesterday. I used powerstrip and all the resolutions worked. 1080p 24,50,60hz and 1080i 50,60hz. The manual said it did not do 1080i through analog, but it did work. The desktop was also readable at 1080p. the picture was so good i could not believe it. But it was so bright. Too bright at 86 inches. So lamp was in eco mode too. 3D worked only in 720p and not in any of the 1080 modes. Manual says 3D works though hdmi in 1080i 50,60hz.
exso is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-21-2013, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 78
The key here is the use of Powerstrip. 1080i or any custom resolution or timing is possible with a computer.

The "need to go hdmi and a digital connection" isn't necessarily true either.
Tedd is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 09-21-2013, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,498
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedd View Post

The "need to go hdmi and a digital connection" isn't necessarily true either.
You miss my point that much like Blu-ray Disc players, computers are pushing towards getting rid of analog connections in favor of digital connections, so there is a foreseeable date when analog outputs may be completely obsolete. Microsoft and others have been talking for quite a while about adding HDCP to software and outputs. Not something 'we' want, but something which may come down the line as well.

Certainly I am using component video throughout my entire distributed home setup, so I don't look forward to the eventuality, but I do recognize that it does seem to be the reality that is coming.

Fortunately, I don't see it happening for several more years.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic Pt Ae700u High Definition Home Cinema Lcd Projector , Optoma Hd131xe Dlp Projector 3d
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off