Upgrading my "garage" projector, need help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A few years ago I bought a Sanyo PLV-Z700 on eBay. It was my first projector; I was a projector newbie, and I have been thrilled with my purchase and experience. The price was definitely right as I got it for less than $800. This thing still wows visitors to my home for night viewing.

Ahh, but there's the rub. This is a 2008 projector, and it has "only"1600 lumens. I do love the fact that it has lens shift and two HDMI inputs. I am, however, ready to upgrade.

Here's my challenge. My projector is set up in my garage! I use the garage as a part time entertainment room for, maybe, 20-25 times a year - mainly for sports or movie viewing. I do have a very nice screen that provides a 108" image.

My goal is to be able to use the projector earlier in the day with some amount of light entering the room. I can control most of the light, but the temperature in the garage demands I open the door at least partly. I think I need a brighter projector! Preferably 2500 lumens or more. So I am looking for suggestions. I have no problem buying used or refurb; I would love to keep my budget under $1200 or even under $1000. So far I am looking at the Optoma HD25e, the BenQ W1070, and various models from both Epson and Viewsonic.

Any help is MUCH appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Buy an air conditioner. A brighter projector might help with sports but any dark scenes in a movie will be unwatchable. Your in SC its got to be HOT!! even with the door open that's got to hurt the projector also.
calvinb likes this.

Smart enough to know better, to old to care
post #3 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 07:09 PM
Advanced Member

Liked: 18