INFOCUS H8606HD New DLP Full hd 3D Ready ISFccc - Page 5 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 133 Old 02-17-2014, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
tibia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
aimepijoan, if I understand you correctly you are trying to adjust RGB hue to Rec 709 with cms. Hue is set by the full width-half power bandwidth of the red, green and blue segments of the colorwheel. There is nothing you can do to change that. CMS will allow you to get some improvement regarding saturation and lightness but not hue. You can manipulate cyan, yellow and magenta hue somewhat because they are made up of mixtures of red, green and blue but since RGB are not perfect you won't be able to get CYM perfect either. If the pursuit of lumens were not such a big deal RGB color points could be made more accurate but to do so will result in lower lumens.

Best regards,
Dennis
Ftoast likes this.

Dennis
tibia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 133 Old 02-17-2014, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
aimepijoan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

thank you for the answer , i try to do the maximum

aimepijoan is offline  
post #123 of 133 Old 03-31-2014, 11:02 AM
Member
 
jaimemlg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one question. I see that in the manual there are a setting to 2.35 aspecto, What made it? Compress all the image to 2.35 aspect? Put black bars an 16.9 image to get a 2.35?
jaimemlg is offline  
post #124 of 133 Old 04-03-2014, 03:20 PM
Member
 
swedish cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaimemlg View Post

I have one question. I see that in the manual there are a setting to 2.35 aspecto, What made it? Compress all the image to 2.35 aspect? Put black bars an 16.9 image to get a 2.35?
Thats exactly what it does, squash vertically and add black bars top and bottom, it would be nice if they added something more useful, like ability to chop the centre of a 2.35 and fill the 16:9 screen.
swedish cook is offline  
post #125 of 133 Old 04-08-2014, 05:27 AM
Member
 
jaimemlg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by swedish cook View Post

Thats exactly what it does, squash vertically and add black bars top and bottom, it would be nice if they added something more useful, like ability to chop the centre of a 2.35 and fill the 16:9 screen.

Please, could you confirm it? Can you take some picture whit this aspect ratio enabled and disabled?
jaimemlg is offline  
post #126 of 133 Old 05-04-2014, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkerdman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 3,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had an Infocus IN82 installed with a Panamorph UH480 Widescreen Lens for several years and have enjoyed it a lot.

This week the IN82 has begun shutting itself down after an hour or so for some sort of thermal reason.

It may be time to swap it out rather than have it repaired.

Is the H8606D an upgrade, a lateral move or a downgrade from the Infocus IN82 in a light controlled Dedicated 2D Home Theater?

Murray Kerdman
mkerdman is offline  
post #127 of 133 Old 05-05-2014, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
kraine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: earth -alpha quadrant - france
Posts: 1,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 56
kraine is offline  
post #128 of 133 Old 05-05-2014, 02:10 PM
Senior Member
 
paris401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraine View Post

My hundredth projector review is now online :

http://www.projection-homecinema.fr/2014/05/05/test-infocus-h8606hd-100eme-test-de-projecteurs-de-gregory/

how do expect us to read it...it aint in English...
paris401 is offline  
post #129 of 133 Old 05-06-2014, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Xavier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
But your name is Paris, and its in French??!

Use google or babelfish to translate
Xavier1 is offline  
post #130 of 133 Old 05-07-2014, 07:30 PM
Newbie
 
Raoof Syed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: chicago
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This is simple. Open the link, right click on french subject matter & then click on translate to English, that is all to it. I have saved the entire review on my desk top, as time permit, I will go through in detail. I bought this projector IN8606HD from best buy for $900 and it is an excellent projector. Colors are very good, 3D is amazing with  EStar America ESG601 DLP Link 3D Glasses, however, blacks are subjective. I would rate it, as more than adequate.

Desperately trying to get some calibration settings, such as contrast, color, brightness, sharpness, brilliant color etc, etc. So far no luck, just going with default settings.

Raoof

Raoof Syed is offline  
post #131 of 133 Old 05-15-2014, 10:18 AM
Senior Member
 
willscam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm contemplating supplementing my current projector, a JVC 4810, with this PJ. I would use the INFOCUS projector for 3D content, console gaming, and possibly casual netflix or cable network viewing. I would reserve my JVC primarily for high quality content from my bluray player and media streamer.

My requirements for a second PJ are 1) that it's a 1080p DLP, for zero ghosting on 3D and low lag with gaming; 2) it will accomodate my throw distance of 13 ft (115" 2.35 aspect ratio 1.1 gain screen); 3) that it has a VESA connector so that I can use my MonsterVision RF 3D glasses and 4) that it's cheap (<$1000).

In my research so far, this is the first projector that fills all of my requirements (I was looking at the Sharp Z30000, but they're no longer available at a price I'm willing to pay). I will follow this thread to get a grasp on owners' experiences with this projector. My room is darkly painted and light controlled, so one concern I have is the low contrast and black levels of this PJ, but with the type of content I intend to use it for, I hope this won't be much of an issue. Thanks to everyone that contributes to this thread! smile.gif

"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer Simpson

 

willscam is offline  
post #132 of 133 Old 05-15-2014, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
curtishd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any lens shift? Whats the off set?
curtishd is offline  
post #133 of 133 Old 05-15-2014, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
willscam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No lens shift. Offset is 10. So, ability to properly place the pj in the room is important. It does have a throw ratio of 1.39 -2.09 and a zoom ratio of 1.5 which helps.

"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer Simpson

 

willscam is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Infocus , In Focus

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off