An Everyday guys Review Benq W1070 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 21 Old 10-14-2013, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my home theater setup finished about a week ago. I will list the components below.

120 Elite Screen
Benq W1070 1.06
Denon Avr 1613
Energy Take Classic 5.1
Sony bdp s5100
Direct hd dvr

I will start off saying that I am not a tech nerd but have a little bit of knowledge just based off of a lot of hours or research. This is my first projector setup and first dedicated home theater. My normal watching and basis are off of my Panasonic 60" gt30 which is an awesome tv so my standards where set pretty high. With that saying I guess I wasn't really getting my hopes up with the projector just because of cost and lack of experience.

I also made a trip to gramophone a local home theater dealer/installer that was obviously out of my price range. In there rooms they had $25k plus projectors and $3k screens. So I felt like my stuff would pale in comparison. Well let me start off by saying this was not the case. I dont see 27k worth of difference here not at all.

Initial thoughts are WOW! for what I have wrapped up in the theater I couldn't be more happy. I guess Ill start with my only complaint. When watching hd through direct the picture could be better. Not all that sharp. I guess this wouldn't be so noticeable if the picture didn't look so spectacular when watching blu rays. I guess maybe I am a little spoiled by my plasma but it seems like the picture has a hard time keeping super sharp focus. Some times the picture is unbelievable but then will lose its sharpness as movement happens or scenes change. Anybody else experience a significant drop in picture quality from blu ray to direct?

Black levels. This is where I was a little concerned coming from my plasma but I must say they are pretty good to my un trained eye no complaints here.