Optoma HD180x - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 10-19-2013, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi,

So pardon me if my search and google-fu are weak, but I am new to projectors and wanted to start off with something easy and cheap to start off with and I came across the Optoma HD180x on amazon for $550;

http://www.amazon.com/Optoma-H180X-Lumens-Theater-Projector/dp/B00F0DI8LK

Im having trouble finding any reviews or much information at all on it except that 2-3 years ago Optoma had an HD180 which I assumed this is based upon. (Edit: but the HD180 is a 1080P where as the 180x is 720P) so it doesnt seem realted.

Does anyone have one of these or an HD180?

I'm looking for something for some gaming and movies, I dont plan on watching much/if any TV. The room I am planning on is decently sized at 13'10" wide (for the direction I plan on pointing it) and has 12' ceilings. I was thinking of ceiling mounting it a 1' deep wall shelf I have about 8' up. Does that seem reasonable?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 10-19-2013, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 377
This is a brand new model, and because of the price, is likely their replacement for the very aging HD66.

http://www.projectorcentral.com/Optoma-H180X.htm

It is still listed as 'pending' on the projector central website, so if it is now out there, that's good to see and I expect reviews will start coming in, but at this point, there sounds like there is very little information available.

Optoma has been fairly reliable over the years and this entry level 720p model is almost surprising considering the movement towards 1080p projection. I expect it will be a very solid entry level model based upon their track record.
Elizondo likes this.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.