Panasonic PT-AE2000U - To Repair of Replace - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 11-01-2013, 11:57 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Greetings Wise AVS-ers,

Long-time lurker, first time poster. I have been the happy owner of a Panasonic PT-AE2000U for 5 years. It has served me quite well and I would imagine that I have close to 10,000 hours on it as of this writing. Up until very recently the only issue I had was a bad blue polarizer which was replaced under warranty. Unfortunately, two weeks ago I heard a loud zap during startup followed immediately by the lovely smell of burning plastic. During the large startup surge an arc formed inside the connector that attaches the lamp housing to the leads that run off to the power supply B-Module. I am no expert by any stretch but from some researching I believe the B-Module is the projector's electrical ballast (http://www.encompassparts.com/item/7691811/Panasonic/TXANP03VKF5/Pc_Board).This fusing seemed to be unnoticed by the projector, as the status led showed green for normal operation when I ran over to turn the projector off; both the lamp and temp status lights also indicated no issues. I had to dissemble the lamp and its housing in order to find the fused connector, at which point I started assessing the damage.