Gaming Projector Under $1500 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 12-06-2013, 08:16 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am new to projectors and am not sure if this is the way to go for me. I have the ok from the wife to look for an LCD or projector for our gaming room. If I go LCD, have a feeling she will not be happy with a 50"+ because of the size and the room is smallish. The wall however is big so I was thinking about a projector, since it has a smaller footprint but can throw a large image on the wall.

The room is fairly lit during the day and the walls are a light bluish/gray color.

This will strictly be used for gaming Xbox One ( BF4, Fifa, Forza etc) and some Netflix/blueray.

Any suggestions on something that would fit the bill for this?

Do I need to use a screen or can I just throw the image on the wall?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-06-2013, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 106
What are your actual room dimensions (length, width, and height)?
How far back would you be sitting from the wall that you are projecting on?
Are you planning on ceiling mounting this projector?
Do you have any way to darken the room during the day (blackout curtains)?
Old 12-06-2013, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 31
You can throw an image on the wall, but spending $300 on an inexpensive screen will be well worth it. For well under $1500 you could get an Optoma HD131xe and an Elite fixed frame screen and you would likely be very happy.

Spend the rest on blackout curtains.
Old 12-06-2013, 08:54 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by ack_bk View Post

What are your actual room dimensions (length, width, and height)?
How far back would you be sitting from the wall that you are projecting on?
Are you planning on ceiling mounting this projector?
Do you have any way to darken the room during the day (blackout curtains)?