Whites too bright after Disney WOW calibration - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 12-08-2013, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This is my first projector and could use a little help. I have Mitsubishi 7900 projector and elite maxwhite screen. I used the Disney WOW calibration disk to calibrate contrast and brightness. When done the picture looks great except when a bright scene comes on or one with lots of white. It pretty much burns your eyes. The only setting that makes a huge difference on the brightness is when I back the contrast down from say 20 to 5 but then the calibration is not valid anymore and then the less bright images don't pop as much.
I was wondering if this is an interaction with the cheaper elite screen or if something is maybe not happy on the projector.

Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 12-08-2013, 10:56 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Instead of adjusting the contrast from 20 to 5, why don't you try one of the 14 numbers inbetween those and see if you can find a happy medium.
post #3 of 27 Old 12-09-2013, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 109
First you did not say if you have the lamp on low or not, start with that, then does the projector have a manual iris is close it down, if an auto iris, does it have a high contrast setting?. Also you need the auto iris off when doing the contrast and brightness so if you did not have it off, turn it off and redo the adjustments.
Lastly there are 3 rules of setting contrast
No Clipping Color
No Discolorations
NO EYE STRAIN.

Turning down the contrast so your eyes do not hurt is not a bad thing if the other above mentioned means of reducing light output have already been done.
post #4 of 27 Old 12-09-2013, 05:54 PM - Thread Starter