BenQ W1070 vs Optoma HD131xe for first projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 49 Old 01-02-2014, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 110
So I am looking to dip into a projector setup on a budget. I had another post about a Pro8200, but decided to pass because of the image offset being soo drastic.

So now I am looking at the W1070 or the HD131Xe.

The plus that sways me on the BenQ is the lens adjust and reliability.

The plus that sways me on Optoma is the blacks were reported to be much better than the BenQ. But I have read about some more QC issues on the Optoma units. The Optoma has would need a 6-8" offset, which may work well for me, but I am skeptical on this because I am really a newb.

For further info on the room:
I have 7'9" ceilings in my basemements and would view about 13'. I would like to do atleast a 110" if possible.
Walls are all white for the time being, but I will probably do a black fabric of some sort on the front and back walls
Also zero ambient light in this room unless I turn on any lights. No windows at all to deal with.

I understand I will not get the blacks I am used to in my Panny Plasma, but I would like relatively ease of install and a very good image for the sub $800 price range of both.

Suggestions/Tips?
With my height and viewing distance, should the offset angle vs. lense adjust even be a concern?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 49 Old 01-02-2014, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

No help here for a newb?
Do I not ask in the right format?

post #3 of 49 Old 01-03-2014, 03:04 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10