Optoma HD33 squares of color - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-11-2014, 08:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sombershin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hey all--

 

I've started having a strange issue with my Optoma HD33, and was curious if anybody had seen something like this:

 

 

That's a picture taken of the projector output with the brightness pushed up to make the issue clearer. This started happening a few weeks ago. The projector is 1.5 year old, with about 250 hours on the lamp. I've tried different inputs and cables and the problem is definitively the projector. What's particularly curious is that the color splotches are not fixed in place with respect to the projector, but with respect to the projected image. That is, if I move the photograph or whatever that's being projected around on my computer the image coloration stays the same. This makes me think it's some sort of decoding issue on the projector software side.

 

Anybody have an idea?

sombershin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-13-2014, 03:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Does it happen with other output devices such as a Blu Ray player. If so then try doing a full reset on the projector it has been known to solve other corrupted firmware issues. If not I would suspect the video card in computer.

"Smart enough to know better, to old to care" ------ Dedicated Home Theater, Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector, 110" 16:9 Jamestown screen with variable power masking for CIW 2.35:1 to 2.50:1, Denon 1912 AVR, 7.1 with Ohm mains, Custom Built HTPC, 10TB NAS
rekbones is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-13-2014, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sombershin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Yep, the problem occurs with multiple, known-good input sources. Full reset doesn't fix it.

 

Oh well, probably going to have to send it in for service.

sombershin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off