HDMI cable length and signal loss - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 08:19 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
triggerhippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm forced to use a 15m long HDMI cable and for all practical intents and purposes this length does not seem to affect the PQ. How do I go about testing signal strength though? Is there a way to be sure no handshakes are being lost? eek.gif
triggerhippie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by triggerhippie View Post

I'm forced to use a 15m long HDMI cable and for all practical intents and purposes this length does not seem to affect the PQ. How do I go about testing signal strength though? Is there a way to be sure no handshakes are being lost? eek.gif

I have a 45 foot length of decent high speed HDMI cable and it has been working fine for 7 years. If you are getting a decent picture with no sparklies or handshake problems (loss of picture) you're good.

If you're still not happy with my answer visit the HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World forum for more information.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
triggerhippie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post

I have a 45 foot length of decent high speed HDMI cable and it has been working fine for 7 years. If you are getting a decent picture with no sparklies or handshake problems (loss of picture) you're good.

If you're still not happy with my answer visit the HDMI Q&A - The One Connector World forum for more information.

OK, thanks a bunch. So, as long as I'm not getting "sparklies" or complete black outs, I should be fine, right? I shouldn't be concerned about lowered bitrates or anything else that is not so easily observable?
triggerhippie is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by triggerhippie View Post

OK, thanks a bunch. So, as long as I'm not getting "sparklies" or complete black outs, I should be fine, right? I shouldn't be concerned about lowered bitrates or anything else that is not so easily observable?

Correct.
old corps likes this.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-14-2014, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 294
There is no such thing as lower bitrates. Data either arrives or it does not. Data which doesn't arrive appears as sparklies or with a cliff effect.

No video is a sure sign that you've gone to far, but sparklies are a good indicator as well.

I've run video up to 1080p/60 at 75 feet without issue. It's all about using a well constructed HDMI cable. I generally use the Monoprice HDMI 22AWG cables for long length runs and so far... so good.
old corps likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post

There is no such thing as lower bitrates. Data either arrives or it does not. Data which doesn't arrive appears as sparklies or with a cliff effect.

No video is a sure sign that you've gone to far, but sparklies are a good indicator as well.

I've run video up to 1080p/60 at 75 feet without issue. It's all about using a well constructed HDMI cable. I generally use the Monoprice HDMI 22AWG cables for long length runs and so far... so good.

The guy at BB Magnolia told me that his $200 Monster Cable would be very important for my 30' run. "People shouldn't ceap out on cables . . ." rolleyes.gifbiggrin.gif

------


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 01:42 PM
Member
 
swedish cook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickTheGreat View Post


The guy at BB Magnolia told me that his $200 Monster Cable would be very important for my 30' run. "People shouldn't ceap out on cables . . ." rolleyes.gifbiggrin.gif

Cable quality is key for analog audio cables, for HDMI though, as mentioned further up, the signal gets there or it doesn't. I'm running a 30' cable that was a fraction of that cost (about 100 USD but 3 years ago when HDMI was newer) with never a problem, including 3D. These shop guys will also swear you need to spend $30+ on a 6' cable for your TV, where <$10 is more realistic.

swedish cook is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,699
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by swedish cook View Post

Cable quality is key for analog audio cables, for HDMI though, as mentioned further up, the signal gets there or it doesn't. I'm running a 30' cable that was a fraction of that cost (about 100 USD but 3 years ago when HDMI was newer) with never a problem, including 3D. These shop guys will also swear you need to spend $30+ on a 6' cable for your TV, where <$10 is more realistic.

I agree on all your points. I called his bluff a little bit, but didn't want to be too much of an a-hole since I may need a good deal from him soon wink.gif

------


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-15-2014, 08:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,990
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 294
For 6' and less cables, the Super Slim HDMI cables from Parts Express can't be beat from what I've seen. They are almost as skinny as the Redmere cables, but have no active components to fail and aren't directional and they cost less than half as much. That's the only way to go IMO for shorter cables. I use them all the time, and have them installed with my HDBaseT units and they work perfectly.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off