How SMALL an image can be projected? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 07-27-2014, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How SMALL an image can be projected?

Hi everyone. Maybe someone here can give me advice as 4 hours of Google searching has been no help. Also, I'm a complete novice to digital projection, so maybe this is a ridiculous question.

Here's what's going on. I'm working on an AV project for a rock band. We want to have a stage backdrop that incorporates rear projection, both digital video and still 35mm slide projectors. We want to have several holes in the backdrop with rear projection material covering them and of course, the projectors behind. I need to know how close I can get a projector to this backdrop, since we will be working with extremely limited space back there. Maybe as little as 1-2 feet. It would seem that the projectors wouldn't have to be super bright to achieve that, especially if I build some sort of light baffles from the projectors to the rear of backdrop.

Is this possible? I only need the images to be maybe 24" diagonal, as the set is supposed to resemble the interior of a spacecraft and the projections are going to be representations of monitor screens. If I just put a projector very close to the screen, can I make images that small? I understand heat is an issue as well, but these would only be running intermittently for a few seconds at a time.

Secondly, if this IS possible, what would be the least expensive projector that would work? I don't need super high definition. This is more of an atmospheric effect. Of course, I'd like my images to be as clear as possible, but cost is certainly a big factor in this as well, and I'm willing to compromise some image quality to save money.