AVS Forum banner

Ceiling mount angle question

693 views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  agent8 
#1 ·
Just ordered the Optoma hd131xe. Using the calculator it shows that the center of the lens to the top of the screen is 8" for a 100" screen. (Sorry, I know there is probably a term for that but I don't know what it is.) My problem is that because of my floor standing speakers, I can only go down from the ceiling a max of 55 3/4". A 100" screen is 49" tall (viewable area @ 16:9)

49"+8"=57" which is too tall.

I think if I have the screen in front of the speakers, it will be out to far and will be in the path of my swamp cooler too much and if it goes behind the speakers, part of the image will be on my tweeters.

Simply put, Can I angle the projector "upwards" and have it project say 2"-4" from the ceiling? Will this create any weird trapezoid or other negative effects? Sorry, I am a projector newb.

#2 ·
Its called Keystone and there is an adjustment in the projector to eliminate it but its not recommended to use it as it degrades the picture because you no longer have 1 to 1 pixel mapping. One option is to tilt the top of the screen out to match the upward tilt of the projector keeping it perpendicular to the screen. I take it that your room or wall is not wide enough to set the speakers to the side of the screen. Optimal height of the screen is your eyes should be about level with 1/3 of the way up the screen, it looks like yours will be mounted too high.

#3 ·
Poop. That sucks. I guess I could go with a smaller screen but I don't really want to. I was hoping that if it was just a few inches, it wouldn't keystone. I could move my speakers out but then it is not in line with my seating area. I can't change speakers cause they are all voice matched. I will have to do some more brainstorming it seems. Thanks

#5 · (Edited)