Ae-200, Ae200 - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 07:44 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The scenes which show screen door the most are scenes with light areas. Sounds like the 200 is quite cool. Are you aware of anyone else in NA who has ordered one?
cpc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 08:38 AM
DRS
AVS Special Member
 
DRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One question, how is the noise level in low power lamp mode?
DRS is offline  
post #33 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 09:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike Lindberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cpc
The scenes which show screen door the most are scenes with light areas. Sounds like the 200 is quite cool. Are you aware of anyone else in NA who has ordered one?
I ordered one. Stupid bank of mine didn't wire the money till today, so it should be here by Thursday. I won't have a screen yet, and will be projecting on my cream-colored (blech! :mad: ) walls for a few days.

I may throw some printer paper up to get an idea, though. ;)

-Mike Lindberg-
Mike Lindberg is offline  
post #34 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffreyoian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The fan is not loud at all.
jeffreyoian is offline  
post #35 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rlindo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ON, Canada
Posts: 4,732
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Congrats on the new toy and I hope you have lots of hours of enjoyment with it.

As for the whole screendoor thing, hey, if you can't see it, DON'T even waste a second of your time on trying to look for it. MY advice is to jsut sit there, enjoy your movies and forget some of the stuff you have read here. Some people here are too focused on finding problems or pointing out negatives instead of actually using their projectors to do what it was bought for, which is watching movies.

ROB
rlindo is offline  
post #36 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 02:33 PM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am eliminating my balance on my credit card [well, one of them anyways ;) ] in the hopes that I can afford the AE200 in the next little while.

Hey jeffreyoian keep enjoying you PJ over there in Minnisota :)
cpc is offline  
post #37 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 03:08 PM
DRS
AVS Special Member
 
DRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jeffreyoian
The fan is not loud at all.
can you compare it to anything? Did you hear the ae100 previously?
DRS is offline  
post #38 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffreyoian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here is the deal boys. I don't have a screen. I just use a white wall. It is great. In a few weeks I am going to be able to put the ae300 side by side so i will post a thread about that when i can. But I now using the regular RCA inputs for TV and I love it. I think the colors are great and everything is just as I wanted it to be. I can't hear any fan noise at all. She is about 8 feet in the air though. I have seen many projectors. But when you can't see them side by side I don't think it is easy to see what is what. I had this thing at like 175 inch diag. and i thought from about 15 feet back it looked super. I just can't say a bad thing about it. Well time for another movie. Air Force one it is.
jeffreyoian is offline  
post #39 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Xander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,023
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jeffreyoian, if you could access to a friend with a good digital camera, it would be great to see shots taken (of the same shot) at 6", 12", 6ft, 12ft, 15ft (or so) similar to the other pictures taken about the TW100.

TIA

o AE100->TW100->AE300->HS10->AE500->AX100->TW700->TW3000->TW8000
Xander is offline  
post #40 of 52 Old 10-07-2002, 07:59 PM
Member
 
wantin'atheater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your excitement is contagious!! I am ready to go order a 200 myself just reading your posts, but I must be patient as I want to get reviews on the AE300 and the Sanyo LP-Z1. Maybe even the two new Sonys. You said you were going to do side-by-sides with the 300 in acouple of weeks. How so?
wantin'atheater is offline  
post #41 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 05:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffreyoian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i know someone with a ae300 on preorder. he was that impresseed with mine. Man there is always somethng to wait and hear about. If you got a pair that clangs ya just send kaneda that yet and have some fun... I think i have said it before but sell it on ebay if you don't like it. ?? that is how i do it.
jeffreyoian is offline  
post #42 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 07:23 AM
Member
 
chromatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal canada
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi, :)

i would like to knkow more about the zoom modes on the ptae200 ...

with the ptae200, can you zoom a 4/3 letterbox (non anamotphic ) dvd, and still be able to see the subtitles if they are in the bottom black barre ?

thanks
chromatic is offline  
post #43 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
jrwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the difference between the AE100 (discontinued) and the AE200 models?, as its an extra $300 now.
jrwood is offline  
post #44 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 08:08 AM
DRS
AVS Special Member
 
DRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some of the differences noted so far have been:

Less screen door, better contrast, improved component input (scaler) and finally reduced fan noise. One of the most important factors that I hope is improved is the power supply (i.e. LED of death).

FWIW I think I'm going with the AE200 tomorrow (edit:then again I might wait on the SE rebadge). The price is right and screen door was never a factor for me on the ae100 and I won't be using the DVI input for at least a couple of years.
DRS is offline  
post #45 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 08:52 AM
Member
 
gfly1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, so you will not have to use a transcoder w/the 200 to achieve optimal pic quality or will you :confused:

Gfly1
gfly1 is offline  
post #46 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 10:24 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly. I am curious about the internal scaler/line doubler. Can I use an interlaced DVD player and just go through the component inputs and experience iscan/ae100/vga port bliss? That would be cool cause then the internal line doubler would work for my other NTSC stuff :)
cpc is offline  
post #47 of 52 Old 10-08-2002, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike Lindberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Seoul, Korea
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by cpc
Exactly. I am curious about the internal scaler/line doubler. Can I use an interlaced DVD player and just go through the component inputs and experience iscan/ae100/vga port bliss?
I'll make sure I try the whole range of connections when I get mine.

-Mike Lindberg-
Mike Lindberg is offline  
post #48 of 52 Old 10-09-2002, 02:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
scotty144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ottawa, ontario canada
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I didn't realize that the ae200 had a line doubler?...My concerns are similar, I would like to know if the component, composite and svga inputs are improved over the 100....somehow it defeats the purpose buying a budget projector and then having to buy a htpc or transcoder to get a decent picture. I saw a ae100 demoed and was quite pleased with it, the screendoor was not an issue for me. Alot of my viewing would be done from direct tv satelite so a improved svga input would be a big plus and of course a internal doubler would be great but I am thinking that that idea may be a misunderstanding from the previous post.

Other areas of interest

http://my.T-Nation.com/scotty144

ClubWrx.net Scotty144
scotty144 is offline  
post #49 of 52 Old 10-09-2002, 04:46 AM
Senior Member
 
Yenzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I could be wrong here but I thought every PJ had an internal linedoubler. Most of them aren't very good though (at least not on budget PJs).

-Jens
Yenzu is offline  
post #50 of 52 Old 10-09-2002, 07:53 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most PJ's do have internal line doublerss but they aren't great. The reason for using a transcoder with the AE100 was to take advantage of the VGA port and the WIDE setting which allowed the adjustment of each of the RGB settings individually. Most felt that was necessary to achieve optimum results. I can't remember if the AE100 accepted progressive through the component connections. Even if it did, the AE100 did NOT give a pixel for pixel projection like you get using the VGA port and the WIDE setting. how the AE200 works, I've no idea. Hey jeffreyoian, how about trying to look for the WIDE setting in the projector menu?
cpc is offline  
post #51 of 52 Old 10-09-2002, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jeffreyoian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can set it to 16:9 or 4:3 or just or zoom

i have had it setto 16:9 the entire time i have had it.
jeffreyoian is offline  
post #52 of 52 Old 10-09-2002, 02:20 PM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you tried the "PC priority WIDE" setting? I believe if that is available, it is the best way to go. This requires you connect to the projector with a VGA cable. To do this you either get a DVD player with a VGA output (not many around) or you use a progressive player with a transcoder (cable which converts component to VGA) or connect an interlaced DVD player to an iScan line doubler and then connect the VGA out of the iScan to the VGA of the AE200. Just to give you some options. What DVD player are you using right now? Is it progressive or interlaced?
cpc is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off