Davis dlx650 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-14-2002, 06:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
odskaggs2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay So I've owned 2 Davis 650 clones for around a year now.
I own both a Viewsonic pj1030 and Kodak dp1050. Reading some old threads and got the impression that 16x9 may be possible with a firmware change ? (just a guess) Overall I'm happy with both pj's but I haven't really done any tweaking other than buy an EVC-VGA cable for my htpc. PQ is impressive running DVD through this cable but s-vid and composite are really poor. Is the 16x9 possible with firmware or am I off base ?
Also for anyone interested. The Davis and Kodak specs are slightly different ,however after a tear down of my Kodak I noticed that the boards are marked Davis.
odskaggs2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-14-2002, 10:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware upgrade shouldn't give you anything more if you use an HTPC. The firmware upgrade let the projector display with a resolution of 800x450 when you feed it directly with a DVD player via S-Video. The quality is still really poor, not to say almost not watchable. Right now if you try to feed the projector directly via S-video or composite your projector should go in 640x480 format so giving a 16x9 film a resolution of only 640x360.

What you can be interest in is to upgrade your firmware to correct what I think is a greenpush on that projector. I am no expert on the 650 put if my memory is good a firmware upgrade would correct that. Make a search for Davis tuner or mflaster, your should be able to find useful information and tweek. Mflaster made a program that let you adjust your entire gamma curve.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mflaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the Viewsonic DLX 650 clone.

In addition to the color changes Bruno talked about, I also played around with changing resolutions in DavisTuner.

On my own projector, before I got my Panamorph, I fed it from Powerstrip a 1024x554 resolution (I have a 1.85:1 screen). I then changed the resolution table in the Davis from (I believe) 800x600 to 1024x554. It then displayed black above and below the picture. (It would never display 800x600, however.)

Without the firmware change, when it saw the 1024x554 res, it thought it was 800x600, and it messed up the picture.

Are you trying to do a permanent 16x9?

Mike
mflaster is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 10:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mflaster
I also have the Viewsonic DLX 650 clone.

In addition to the color changes Bruno talked about, I also played around with changing resolutions in DavisTuner.

On my own projector, before I got my Panamorph, I fed it from Powerstrip a 1024x554 resolution (I have a 1.85:1 screen). I then changed the resolution table in the Davis from (I believe) 800x600 to 1024x554. It then displayed black above and below the picture. (It would never display 800x600, however.)

Without the firmware change, when it saw the 1024x554 res, it thought it was 800x600, and it messed up the picture.

Are you trying to do a permanent 16x9?

Mike
Hi mike. Does it work with the DL450 clones. I will like to try it. How is the quality for viewing DVD? Is it better? With that trick do you think I could feed my projector with a Progressive DVD player using a transcoder?

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 11:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know why I thought that the 650 was a native 800x600. So I guess your program won't work on a Dl450. With de DL450 you need to get a resolution of 800x450. Powerstrip can do that resolution. I never was able to achieved it anyway!

I think the dowscaling of the signal cause more problems than upscaling.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mflaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think if you had only made your post once I still would have seen it... :)


*Theoretically* the technique I used would work for other projectors. But I never quite perfected it, it never did exactly what I thought it would do.

I guess a question is - is there some resoultion that you would like to send to your 450, but it doesn't recognize it correctly? Do you try to send it 800x450, but it sees it as 640x480?

Mike
mflaster is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 12:57 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mike, I erased the duplicate of my last post.

I haven't try to feed my projector with a progressive player for now. But my thought is that it will try to sync it in a 640x480 window.

I tried often to feed my projector with a powerstrip resolution of 800x450. I wasn't able to achieve it. I think if I could fool my projector not to scale in a 640x480 windows I would be nice. I was able to get something weird with a Viewsonic scaler. I got a not bad image by inputing 852x480. It did last for long but quality was ok at that resolution.

Did you write a small program that will let me try different value?

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mflaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: California
Posts: 1,529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There's a command in the serial protocol manual "Lock" - I think it's [LCK1] and [LCK0] to turn on and off lock.

Send it an 800x600 signal, lock it, then send your other signal.

I don't have any simple test programs...

Mike
mflaster is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-15-2002, 02:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
bgosselin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Montreal,quebec,Canada
Posts: 1,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I will try it someday. My projector is on the ceiling right now. Maybe I will try that trick when I have to clean it for dust.

It would be nice to be able to lock the projector in different resolutions. That way I could feed a progressive signal directly from a DVD player via the VGA port (transcoder). By locking a resolution of 800x450 my projector would have no choice to keep that resolution instead of switching to 640x480. Maybe playing with fix resolution we could play anamorphic and non anamophic DVD without the use of a external scaler? The RP-56 DVD player with the faroudja chip could give good result that way. In theory of course. :)

Just a thought.

Bruno
bgosselin is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off