Questions about long DVI runs and HS-10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Paul K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm expecting my HS-10 soon and am wrestling with the dilema of cableing. I would like to run DVI from the Radeon 9000 in my HTPC to the projector. I understand the HS-10 has a DVI-D input. Does anyone know whether this port is SINGLE LINK or DUAL LINK or does it accept either type?
If I rearange my equipment somewhat, I can reach my projector with a 35 ft long DVI cable. Unfortunately, it looks like to go this long I would need to spend much $$$ on either a custom Inline cable or a fiber optic repeater. Instead, I would like to try using a standard 15 ft DVI cable connected to 2 10 ft DVI extension cables. Since the maximum length of a DVI-D cable is supposedly 15 ft, I'm a bit pessimistic about this working. Would I have a better chance of success with a dual link cable than with a siingle link cable? I'm guessing that with a dual link cable, there are more twisted pairs transmitting the signal, so the bandwidth per twisted pair is lower, meaning a greater chance of success.
Paul K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
blitzkreig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a BUNCH of research on the DVI cable topic related to the HS10. You will find it difficult to locate a DVI cable longer than 5 meters as that is the specification. That being said I did find lots of references to longer runs being used successfully well outside the specification limit by people who should know what they are doing. The claim that it works for them. I think of it more like a guideline than a rule:) ... I daisy-chain SCSI cables over 3 meters, I have a 15 meter (45 foot) parallel printer cable, and I cut those tags off my pillows that say DO NOT REMOVE:D
That being understood I ordered a 10 meter (30 foot) DVI dual link DVI-D cable from a company that primarily supplies high end computer components to industry (in the UK) at a very reasonable price. It is slowing winding it's way over the Atlantic to me even now. When I get that cable and I finally get a hold of my HS10 I will let you all know "is it safe" :D
blitzkreig is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 12:49 PM
Member
 
OhioGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too am interested with your results as I will need about a 24 foot run of the DVI cable. Was wondering about some kind of repeater or inline buffer for long runs, but perhaps with a high quality cable the DVI will still work at long lengths.
OhioGuy is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
blitzkreig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are a number of quality sloutions with repeaters... but they are somewhat expensive to say the least.
blitzkreig is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 01:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Alan Dail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wooster, Ohio
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Instead of taking chances, I rearranged my room to make the 3 meter cable that comes with the Sony HD200 work. The one advantage of not having my room built yet.

custom printed apparel http://www.inktastic.com
Alan Dail is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 01:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
blitzkreig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 755
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have often thought that rather than long cable runs there should be some kind of a solution which hangs all yer electronics up there close to your projector on the ceiling :D
blitzkreig is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 01:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
letMeIn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kings County
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I rearranged my room too, just to make sure my DVI cable will not be longer than 15 feet ...... Lol

My setup for HS10.

New PC
Readon 9000 pro
256mb PC2100
Gigabyte Motherboard
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 4.1 THX surround speakers
AlienWare ATX Case/300W PS
Intel 1.6-1.9 ghz CPU ..

I need .13 micron CPU, to make my PC ULTRA quiet. Will then further Underclock it ~200-300mhz, to produce even less heat.. Don't need all this computing power for watching DVDs.. Unless I will pop in UT2k3, then ofcourse, overclock it . lol


Crestron & AMX Programmer. GUI Designer.
letMeIn is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-14-2002, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Capo Beach
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most Video cards including Radeon are Single Link
Most PJs including my Infocus LP350 are Single Link
Having a Dual Link cable won't do any good if the Electronics aren't there.

So far DVI is really just for Computer Flat Panels
and since most of those are only 2-3 meters from the Computer
that's how I guess they design and expense the Trans/Receivers

From what I read, building DVI cables is very EXACTING
seems all the connecting lines need to be EXACTLY the SAME Length
or the Clocking doesn't sync and you see SPARKLES (random stuck colors)
so Extensions are not the WAY to go.....1 cable is better than extra Connections

Bob Williams (Infocus Engineer) says they use 10 meter cables
all the time in their lab successfully making connections.....
But he hasn't said who's cable they are using (Infocus doesn't sell a 10 meter DVI)

I can only get a 5m DVI cable to work....2m & 3m Extensions just Bombed
my setup ATI7500 -> DVI 5m -> LP350
I wanted 26-30 feet myself, but had to ReArrange the Equipment
I guess U will just have to wait and C how Strong the Trans/Rec is on HS10
Mouw is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off