Official BenQ HT2050/W1110 Owner/Settings Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 198Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1190 Old 01-17-2016, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
expoav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderguy View Post
^ ^ ^
Yes, but it's totally dependent on how high you wish to mount the screen above the floor, and how thick your screen frame is. Assuming your screen frame is 4" thick, about the highest you will be able to place the screen is somewhere around 2 feet above the floor (24 inches). You can use fudge factors a little but the image may not be perfectly square if you do (though you can use the screen's black border as a fudge factor to hide any non-square image if you end up running out of room. So I'd say yes it will work, even though just barely.

I would probably go with a smaller screen (110") and move the seating closer, then you have more wiggle room in the mounting and screen position above floor.
This worked perfect. Thank you!
expoav is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1190 Old 01-19-2016, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Have anyone played around with the options on W1110? I'm just wondering if someone figured out the options to improve the image quality, or calibration so it's close to HT3050.
TheNaitsyrk is offline  
post #33 of 1190 Old 01-19-2016, 07:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
So I'm a happy new 2050 owner I appreciate the help I got previously in choosing my projector. I simply slapped this on the wall just to see what was up, using my ps3 just because it was downstairs and easily accessible.. My ps4 and pc is in the room that the main setuo will go. But I'm really pleased and this isn't even on my silver screen yet, just really impressed with out of the box colors and ease of use overall.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160119_181635_1453262152791.jpg
Views:	4535
Size:	71.4 KB
ID:	1196186  
Savatage316 is offline  
 
post #34 of 1190 Old 01-19-2016, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khaberst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNaitsyrk View Post
Have anyone played around with the options on W1110? I'm just wondering if someone figured out the options to improve the image quality, or calibration so it's close to HT3050.
I liked the User 1 default settings then used the Disney WOW calibration disk to dial in the Brightness, Contrast and Gamma. I'm blown away with the image quality.

One thing that caught be off guard was the "grain" in the image on certain Blu Rays. I had to do some research and found out this is actually a GOOD thing since those movies were shot on film there should be grain as it's part of the "art" of film. I had never seen this detail on my Blu Rays before and have come to appreciate it!
khaberst is offline  
post #35 of 1190 Old 01-20-2016, 06:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Just looked at the pic I posted above on my phone here and not sure if it's lookin blurry a bit for others but looked blurry to me, and I rechecked the original pic which is crisp as it gets. Not sure if it's how my note 5 is displaying it or if the resizing messed it up a bit but if anyone checked that and it's not crisp let me know, just curious. Because I couldn't believe how sharp and crisp the image was, just gorgeous
Savatage316 is offline  
post #36 of 1190 Old 01-20-2016, 12:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savatage316 View Post
Just looked at the pic I posted above on my phone here and not sure if it's lookin blurry a bit for others but looked blurry to me, and I rechecked the original pic which is crisp as it gets. Not sure if it's how my note 5 is displaying it or if the resizing messed it up a bit but if anyone checked that and it's not crisp let me know, just curious. Because I couldn't believe how sharp and crisp the image was, just gorgeous

What size screen? Just ordered my 2050 and am torn between 100 inch and 110 inch screen.
AschMan is offline  
post #37 of 1190 Old 01-20-2016, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Bigger the better man. Go for the 110, absolutely gorgeous picture that I had on the wall at about 120 inches. But I expanded it further even tho it wasn't fitting the wall and focused and the quality of pic never degraded, it's incredible something this solid is as affordable as it is.
Savatage316 is offline  
post #38 of 1190 Old 01-20-2016, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The only thing I want to do with my projector is to protect it from dust and scratches so I'm thinking to buy like a plastic self adhesive film that can be peeled off if necessary etc.
My "Friend" peeled of the factory sealed transparent one so I must get a new one. I like to keep my things as new as possible.
TheNaitsyrk is offline  
post #39 of 1190 Old 01-21-2016, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
So I just fired it up last night again to get the feel of it all since I still have such a massive amount of work to redo my game room, but I mean holy God, I can't get over how this is simply on my basic wall, so sharp, so much color... It's just spectacular. I am so happy to of entered the world of projectors. Just dying to get it on my silver ticket.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160121_002355_1453390021576.jpg
Views:	4927
Size:	87.6 KB
ID:	1198962   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160121_003226_1453390039848.jpg
Views:	4267
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	1198970  
Savatage316 is offline  
post #40 of 1190 Old 01-21-2016, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
khaberst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savatage316 View Post
So I just fired it up last night again to get the feel of it all since I still have such a massive amount of work to redo my game room, but I mean holy God, I can't get over how this is simply on my basic wall, so sharp, so much color... It's just spectacular. I am so happy to of entered the world of projectors. Just dying to get it on my silver ticket.
I have a silver ticket 110" and I love it!
khaberst is offline  
post #41 of 1190 Old 01-21-2016, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Ordered the 110 inch Elite screen from Staples online. Best price around.
AschMan is offline  
post #42 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
expoav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So probably a stupid question. Just got mine and, well, how do you get your OTA broadcasts to the projector? Got the 110" Silver Ticket screen setup, don't buy this screen fyi...while nice I had to cut 6 holes for the snaps since they forgot, 5 of the plastic snaps broke, 1 of the rods was broke when I opened it up. All required pretty simple fixes; however, I just find it asinine you have to rig a brand new screen.

Anyways, everything is hooked up but I'm at a lost as to how to get our OTA signal to the TV. Is this what I need? I don't really need the recording aspect of it, just something to go from COAX to HDMI.
expoav is offline  
post #43 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by expoav View Post
So probably a stupid question. Just got mine and, well, how do you get your OTA broadcasts to the projector? Got the 110" Silver Ticket screen setup, don't buy this screen fyi...while nice I had to cut 6 holes for the snaps since they forgot, 5 of the plastic snaps broke, 1 of the rods was broke when I opened it up. All required pretty simple fixes; however, I just find it asinine you have to rig a brand new screen.

Anyways, everything is hooked up but I'm at a lost as to how to get our OTA signal to the TV. Is this what I need? I don't really need the recording aspect of it, just something to go from COAX to HDMI.
There is no built in tuner. You will need a cable or satellite box or some sort of external tuner.
AschMan is offline  
post #44 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 05:48 PM
Newbie
 
expoav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AschMan View Post
There is no built in tuner. You will need a cable or satellite box or some sort of external tuner.
Why? I currently have the COAX from my HD Antenna providing signal to my TV, why can't I do this with the projector, minus the lack of a coax connection?

Ahh the forums here don't change the color of the links in the post. Anyways, is this what I need?

http://www.amazon.com/Converter-Emat...ct_top?ie=UTF8

or

http://www.amazon.com/Mediasonic-Hom...8T9JHEZH4Q50VN

I don't need the recording aspects of either.
expoav is offline  
post #45 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 06:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sonora, CA, USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by expoav View Post
Why?
There is no built in tuner.
Just go to walmart and buy the RCA tuner for less than $50. I live in a small town where you have to live on a hill and have fringe antennas/preamps to get OTA signal, and our walmart had several.
bobbyc is offline  
post #46 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 07:07 PM
Newbie
 
expoav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyc View Post
There is no built in tuner.
Just go to walmart and buy the RCA tuner for less than $50. I live in a small town where you have to live on a hill and have fringe antennas/preamps to get OTA signal, and our walmart had several.
Sigh, I guess I'm just missing what everyone is saying. I know the projector has no built in tuner, I know that. I'm asking what I need to buy. I have excellent OTA signal already, my wife wants the OTA hooked up to the projector, so I need something to convert the coax signal to HDMI to use on the projector.

Is this the RCA tuner you are talking about?
http://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Digita...rding/46583029

Also, if you still live in Sonora I can relate to the lack of signal there. Used to live there when I was climbing in Yosemite a lot.

Last edited by expoav; 01-22-2016 at 07:14 PM.
expoav is offline  
post #47 of 1190 Old 01-22-2016, 08:04 PM
Member
 
Yuppers5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Also went for the 2050 and love it.

I'm torn between a giant fixed frame screen or manual pull-down. Don't want an electric one. I live in an apartment and feel a giant fixed frame screen would look a bit odd. Any thoughts on good manual pull downs and do they still look good with the "school room" look?

Great picture though. I'm finding Vivid is where it's at for me. Just can't get into Cinema Modes on any tv or projector so far. Don't get it. Vivid just has the pop, with the skin tones slightlyyyy over, but I can easily look past that tiny detail.
Yuppers5 is offline  
post #48 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 02:27 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
coderguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 10,735
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 345
For the manual pulldowns, the ones with black frames and cases tend to look better than the ones with the white cases. It looks pretty good if you do it right.

**New Projector Calculator Released**
Access HERE from this thread

coderguy is offline  
post #49 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 04:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by expoav View Post
Sigh, I guess I'm just missing what everyone is saying. I know the projector has no built in tuner, I know that. I'm asking what I need to buy. I have excellent OTA signal already, my wife wants the OTA hooked up to the projector, so I need something to convert the coax signal to HDMI to use on the projector.

Is this the RCA tuner you are talking about?
http://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Digita...rding/46583029

Also, if you still live in Sonora I can relate to the lack of signal there. Used to live there when I was climbing in Yosemite a lot.
You are on the right track including your Amazon products. Enjoy.
AschMan is offline  
post #50 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
bobbyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Sonora, CA, USA
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by expoav View Post
Sigh, I guess I'm just missing what everyone is saying. I know the projector has no built in tuner, I know that. I'm asking what I need to buy. I have excellent OTA signal already, my wife wants the OTA hooked up to the projector, so I need something to convert the coax signal to HDMI to use on the projector.

Is this the RCA tuner you are talking about?
http://www.walmart.com/ip/RCA-Digita...rding/46583029

Also, if you still live in Sonora I can relate to the lack of signal there. Used to live there when I was climbing in Yosemite a lot.
Yes that is the one. I bought it last sunday to watch some NFL football on the projector. It has HDMI out and it lets you set the resolution (I think it is at 480i by default so just push the HDMI button on the remote until it is 1080i or 720p your preference).
bobbyc is offline  
post #51 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Mounted mine today. Can't wait for the screen to arrive to better dial in the picture and cover part of the built-in bookshelfs on either side.

Installing surround sound tomorrow and we used internal speakers tonight. This is fun.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1453596470811.jpg
Views:	2617
Size:	114.9 KB
ID:	1204721  
AschMan is offline  
post #52 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 07:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Anyone having an issue with the projector turning itself on? I walked into the room and it was turning on at the same time and I was nowhere near the remote. Is there some sort of motion sensor that I don't know of??
AschMan is offline  
post #53 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kreeturez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,351
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 495 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Official BenQ HT2050/W1110 Owner/Settings Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by AschMan View Post
Anyone having an issue with the projector turning itself on? I walked into the room and it was turning on at the same time and I was nowhere near the remote. Is there some sort of motion sensor that I don't know of??

The joys of CEC.

It's being triggered to power on by another HDMI device in the chain. Turn that 'feature' off in the projector's settings:

Advanced --> HDMI Settings --> CEC -- 'Off'

BenQ HT2050 Projector; Kodi (on Ubuntu, OpenELEC & S802) via Sony STR-DH540 AVR with Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE 5.1 Audio + Jamo 210 Sub. Emby for Mobile Streaming.

Helpful post? Click the 'Like' button!
kreeturez is offline  
post #54 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 10:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreeturez View Post
The joys of CEC.

It's being triggered to power on by another HDMI device in the chain. Turn that 'feature' off in the projector's settings:

Advanced --> HDMI Settings --> CEC -- 'Off'
I would have never found that, thanks!
AschMan is offline  
post #55 of 1190 Old 01-23-2016, 10:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Sorry about the chair sitting in the way lol. Anyways, love my new setup. Beautiful 120 inches of gaming, movies, you name it.. I bought also a new denon s910w which is spectacular as well.. I can't get over how incredible the 2050 is, just an absolute treat to watch movies and game on.

I also bought a silver ticket and yea, thankfully it was only two but it had two slots missing from the screen, easy fix but still annoying nonetheless..

I am so happy with this setup, love it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160123_190526_1453617459231.jpg
Views:	2801
Size:	73.0 KB
ID:	1205297   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160123_192302_1453617482421.jpg
Views:	2545
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	1205305  
Savatage316 is offline  
post #56 of 1190 Old 01-24-2016, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savatage316 View Post
Sorry about the chair sitting in the way lol. Anyways, love my new setup. Beautiful 120 inches of gaming, movies, you name it.. I bought also a new denon s910w which is spectacular as well.. I can't get over how incredible the 2050 is, just an absolute treat to watch movies and game on.

I also bought a silver ticket and yea, thankfully it was only two but it had two slots missing from the screen, easy fix but still annoying nonetheless..

I am so happy with this setup, love it.
Looks good. What picture settings are you using? I enabled smart Eco and it really did not degrade brightness, still looks good.
AschMan is offline  
post #57 of 1190 Old 01-24-2016, 04:54 AM
Member
 
Pedro6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Savatage316 View Post
Sorry about the chair sitting in the way lol. Anyways, love my new setup. Beautiful 120 inches of gaming, movies, you name it.. I bought also a new denon s910w which is spectacular as well.. I can't get over how incredible the 2050 is, just an absolute treat to watch movies and game on.

I also bought a silver ticket and yea, thankfully it was only two but it had two slots missing from the screen, easy fix but still annoying nonetheless..

I am so happy with this setup, love it.
Looks great! Any noticeable lag while playing NHL?
Pedro6 is offline  
post #58 of 1190 Old 01-24-2016, 07:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
What is the major difference when running eco mode?

Also absolutely no lag, that's why I bought this one and it has delivered on all facets for gaming! And movies obviously. It's just an incredible piece of equipment.
Savatage316 is offline  
post #59 of 1190 Old 01-24-2016, 07:55 AM
Newbie
 
tfast500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thought I'd share my setup. So far loving it. Just wish my projector could be further back from the screen. I'm using an electric 100" screen and it fits nicely over my existing TV stand its a little high but I do have a 1 year old who loves to touch things. The benq is amazing I am curious about the 3d. I will need to do some research to find the best glasses for my needs. Wish it came with a pair of glasses. This projector is perfect for my needs the default picture settings are fantastic not sure if adjustments are needed. I'm using smart eco and cinima mode.


Keep in mind the last pic was lights on and phone camera focused on screen. So the screen is pretty decent with lights on.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160123_105704_1453650589725.jpg
Views:	2757
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	1205426   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160118_214940_1453650636743.jpg
Views:	3229
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	1205434   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160123_092302_1453650673670.jpg
Views:	3556
Size:	94.7 KB
ID:	1205442  
tfast500 is offline  
post #60 of 1190 Old 01-24-2016, 10:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Savatage316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 42
^ lookin good man

I am just personally blown away by the overall performance. This has blown my mind. I'm coming from an 82 840 Mitsubishi that was incredible for me, and I was skeptical because I was so attached to my 82 and it looked so good.... This has completely destroyed my expectations, absolutely just has blown me away and makes me happy to enter the world of projectors. And what's incredible is this is only the beginning, I plan to see what's happening in the 4k projector world in a year or 2 and I can't even fathom it getting any better. But I absolutely love this, love it.
Savatage316 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
HT2050/W1110

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off