DIY Sanyo Z1 Ceiling Mount $20 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 Old 03-03-2003, 04:29 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First off I have to give all my credit to Monkey Man who's DIY mount gave me the idea for this project. I didn't feel the need for compression springs,so I just secured the the plastic with 4mm flange nuts..Total cost was just under twenty bucks :)

Parts list

(2) 1/2 Floor flange
(1) 1/2 X 10" Black steel pipe
(4) 1/4" X3/4" nut and bolt (machine)
(1) 1/4" plexi glass 9x13
(3) M6 X 50mm bolts
(9) M6 flange nuts


Monkey Man's DIY Ceiling mount

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=232749

http://pdquickk.tripod.com/P1.jpg
http://pdquickk.tripod.com/P2.jpg
http://pdquickk.tripod.com/P3.jpg

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 Old 03-08-2003, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picture of mount w/ parts description...

http://home.nycap.rr.com/pdquickk/Parts.jpg

Update (6.14.03).. original incorrect M4 has been edited to the correct M6 size..sorry for the confusion..

Also a Flange nut is a nut manufactured with a washer attached to it, conventional nuts and washers will work just as good...

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #3 of 40 Old 04-10-2003, 07:17 AM
Member
 
TSOLfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Albany, IN
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How did the M4's work for you? I picked some up, but I was left with a lot of room and they were quite loose when I tried to screw them into the projector.

I ended up picking up some M6's as I hauled the projector into Home Depot and tried them until I found one that was snug.

I've already finished the project with the M6, but I'm still curious about the M4's.

Thanks!
TSOLfan is offline  
post #4 of 40 Old 05-25-2003, 07:03 PM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
M4's don't work. Guess he should edit his parts list to (3) M6 X50MM bolts and (9) M6 nuts.
turbo1 is offline  
post #5 of 40 Old 05-26-2003, 07:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
hoops10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Break,
Did you mount the top flange on the DIY mount directly to a floor joist? If not, what did you screw the top flange into?
hoops10 is offline  
post #6 of 40 Old 05-26-2003, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mounted directly to a joist in the ceiling..

I was lucky considering the support that runs across the ceiling is exactly 10' from my screen which is perfect for the Z1...

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #7 of 40 Old 05-26-2003, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
hoops10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Break,
So assuming your floor joists are 2x10's, you mounted the top flange to the narrow side (2") of the 2x10? Do you think that would supply enough support? I ask because this is what I may have to do.
hoops10 is offline  
post #8 of 40 Old 05-26-2003, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 41
hoops, if you can get 2 screws dead center into the ceiling joist and use a couple of drywall expamding screws for any toher holes you will be plenty secure. Just use screws that will go through your mount then extend 1.5 inches or moor into the ceiling/joist.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #9 of 40 Old 05-27-2003, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
hoops10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip. My ceiling is plaster so would that make a difference when using the drywall-expanding screws? It would be easy to find dead center on the joists with a studfinder, correct?
hoops10 is offline  
post #10 of 40 Old 05-30-2003, 12:03 PM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I added a few minor upgrades to your mount Breakstuff.
http://zbestoftheweb.com/CARS/PJ.jpg
turbo1 is offline  
post #11 of 40 Old 05-30-2003, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
TreyCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oakwood Village, OH
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is the exact same set up I have.. Except i used particle board where he used plastic.. GOOD Job..

What was once tame is now wild.
TreyCarr is offline  
post #12 of 40 Old 05-30-2003, 05:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
hoops10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
turbo, do you just have the flange screwed into a 2x10 (joist)? Also, what is that black cable coming off of the pj?
hoops10 is offline  
post #13 of 40 Old 05-30-2003, 09:33 PM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hoops10,
Oh, I have an 18" pipe by the way, 10" would shine the picture into the path of my ceiling fan. I have 2 wood screws in the flange going into the joist. I mounted it last week but was rainy so I saved painting for this week. Took out wood screws and found out only 1 of the 2 were actually in the beam. That black cable is the new fiber optical digital video cable. I get res up to 3200X2400.
http://www.raceworx.com/funnypics/wh...the%20hell.jpg
Ok, so its not fiber digital video cable. I have conduit around the power, rgb, component, and rca cables. Makes everthing looks neat and tidy.
turbo1 is offline  
post #14 of 40 Old 06-12-2003, 01:46 AM
Member
 
jimmyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious, where did you pick up that conduit? Is it something home depot or lowes would have?
jimmyz is offline  
post #15 of 40 Old 06-12-2003, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
hoops10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A question about using plexiglass. I know that the Z1 has an exaust output on the bottom of the pj. If the pj sits right on the plexiglass, wouldn't this block the vent? Does this matter?
hoops10 is offline  
post #16 of 40 Old 06-12-2003, 09:43 AM
Member
 
Tannehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Even if the fan WAS too close to the plexiglas, I suppose you could drill a few air holes to help dissipate the heat.
Tannehill is offline  
post #17 of 40 Old 06-14-2003, 06:25 PM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine at Home Depot. Someone told me CompUSA has it as well but I didn't check on it.
Quote:
Originally posted by jimmyz
Just curious, where did you pick up that conduit? Is it something home depot or lowes would have?
turbo1 is offline  
post #18 of 40 Old 06-14-2003, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The setup I have has 2 inches from the Plexiglas just like Breakstuff's so the exhaust is fine. It's not possible to block the vent because even if the Plexiglas was touching the PJ rubber stoppers on the bottom it would be equivalent to the PJ sitting on a table and the wood that the PJ sits on when it is table mounted doesn't block it either.
Quote:
Originally posted by hoops10
A question about using Plexiglas. I know that the Z1 has an exhaust output on the bottom of the pj. If the pj sits right on the Plexiglas, wouldn't this block the vent? Does this matter?
turbo1 is offline  
post #19 of 40 Old 06-14-2003, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I edited this thread to the correct bolt/nut sizes which should be 6mm as Turbo mentioned.. You would figure a 14 year auto tech should know the difference, my bad! :p

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #20 of 40 Old 07-01-2003, 08:32 AM
Newbie
 
z1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Breakstuff
yours is great, I am gonna built one too, where did you get these M6 flange nuts? I coun't find any of theses in Homedepot or lowes.
Thanks
z1fan is offline  
post #21 of 40 Old 07-04-2003, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
turbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try local auto parts store or hardware store.
turbo1 is offline  
post #22 of 40 Old 07-05-2003, 05:56 PM
Member
 
paul.n3w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Capital Region, NY
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Breakstuff, thank you very much for this post! This is going to come in handy when I order my 1HD (very soon I hope :)) Thanks!
paul.n3w is offline  
post #23 of 40 Old 07-12-2003, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Chris Otto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Belleville, MI; west of Detroit
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Flange nuts will be easier to find at an auto parts store than just about anywhere else.

EDIT: Guess I should have kept reading the rest of the thread first. :/
Chris Otto is offline  
post #24 of 40 Old 10-07-2003, 12:36 AM
Member
 
orbitalpunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do i need to ground the projector when using this kind of mount system?
orbitalpunk is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 10-16-2003, 08:13 AM
Newbie
 
mickeyGoUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might be a simple question to handy people, but I am so new to all these DIY and home improvement stuffs, I would really like to get some guidelines from you experts.

How do I connect the floor flange and the steel pipe? Do I use some kind of glue?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

--------------
Mickey
mickeyGoUp is offline  
post #26 of 40 Old 10-16-2003, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
miketc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: S. Jersey
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Orbital, Your pj is grounded thru. the AC plug.

mickey, Metal pipes and floor flange are threaded while PVC pipes and floor flange are usually glue together but they could be threaded as well. I just started a thread where I use metal electrical conduit which is less weigh than metal plumbing pipes and more strength than PVC.

Hope this help.

MIKeTC
miketc is offline  
post #27 of 40 Old 10-16-2003, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
BreakStuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: City of Albany NY
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi mickeyGoUp -

On my particular mount, the PVC pipe was threaded and easily attached by screwing the pipe into the floor flange...

Visit me at petedz.com
BreakStuff is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 03-04-2004, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
chuckvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phx
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Given the frequent cleaning the Z2 needs I wonder how the removal could be made easier
chuckvb is offline  
post #29 of 40 Old 03-04-2004, 08:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Legairre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I made my mount with the board cut an odd shape that didn't cover the filter. That way I could remove the filter without taking down the Z2. There's pics on my site. Look under the "Equipment" menu then go to "Projector".

"What do you mean it's too loud? My ears aren't even bleeding yet!"

Legairre is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 03-04-2004, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good ideas here.

would it be easiest to use one board with four M6 bolts with nuts affixed to the projector (ie. making four posts) with 4 more nuts/washers on top of the board which lets the PJ hang from the "posts" while being able to adjust it from the top with an open ended wrench?

finally does anyone know the thread size for a Z2 and where online you might be able to order 2-3" long "m6" bolts?

DVD's are about movies & people watch them in living rooms, how many people actually use their computer drives to sit and watch movies- Bluray's Andy Parsons
chinch is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off