another projector selection assistance question please - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By thejck

post #1 of 17 Old 02-08-2017, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
another projector selection assistance question please

Firstly. I have always been an audio guy and I have some basic knowledge of tv's but my projector knowledge is about zero.

I am putting together a projector/music room in my basement and I am trying to decide how much to spend on a projector.
My screen will be 120" and I will be seated about 14-16' back from the screen. My projector will be a few feet behind this

I am trying to decide between buying a JVC DLA-RS46 from a local CL sale (1500). that has been used fairly lightly. vs buying something cheaper like the Optoma HD142x or Benq 2050 something under the 1k mark.

I understand that 4k projectors are out of my reach right now and so I have 2 thought streams.
1. Buy a 1080p that is better quality and use it for the next 5 years until 4k becomes more main stream and affordable
2. Buy something less than 1k and use it for 2 years and then upgrade to a 4k.

I guess there is no way of telling how long it will be before 4k prices come down to where quality 1080p projectors are right now. But the tug-o-war that is going on in my mind is will i regret spending more on a 1080p if in a year of 2 4k projectors come down towards the 2k price range.

The question is what do i get from something like a JVC that was about 3k new vs a sub 1k projector. I have no problem buying a used 1080p since I understand that this is a stop gap measure. (just how long of a gap :-))

The room is my basement and I can block out most of the light if needed. This will mainly be used for movies on a weekend as I have plenty of other places in my house to watch regular tv's
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 02-08-2017, 07:31 AM

Quoted: 69 Post(s)