Projector too close to ceiling? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By bud16415

post #1 of 13 Old 08-16-2017, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Projector too close to ceiling?

Hi,

My new BenQ HT2050 just arrived and I am thrilled. It's my first projector, and I'm a newbie at these.

For various reasons (overhead, hiding cords, etc.) I mounted it right up against the drop ceiling. It almost looks like it is sitting on the ceiling upside down.

Do you think this will be o.k. for venting and heat? Of course, it vents out the sides. But since heat rises, I'm worried that it will have to work harder than if it were hanging down another six inches or so.

Any thoughts on this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 08-16-2017, 07:33 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Assuming you have an air conditioned room, and you keep the filter in the projector clean, you'll be fine.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
post #3 of 13 Old 08-16-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 2 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1126 Post(s)
Liked: 819
I haven't heard of anybody complaining about their projector failing when mounted tight to the ceiling. You may decide you want to increase airflow slightly around the projector, but it shouldn't matter much. The typical temperature jump from floor to ceiling in a well insulated room is just a couple of degrees, which won't impact the projector's ability to stay cool. I would expect the fans to move enough air to keep it circulating as well.

Of course, the 2050 should be no more than about 4 inches above the top of your screen. So, unless you have particularly low ceiling height (not uncommon), you may have your screen mounted a bit high, and you may want to lower everything to get the screen at a more comfortable viewing height. Up to you on that one though.