Sony hw45es screen flicker normal? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By robinw

post #1 of 6 Old 09-30-2017, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Sony hw45es screen flicker normal?

Dear avs forum readers,

Recently i became the proud owner of a sony hw45es. The lamp has some 180 hours on it and i'm noticing a flicker effect. It's the same kind of flicker which is produced by fluorescent lights. (just google fluorescent light flicker if you've never noticed)

I'm not sure if it was already there from the start or it developed over time, i just noticed it recently.

It's constant and especially visible in high power mode which i usually use.

This is my first projector. Is this normal or should i ask for a repair/replacement?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 09-30-2017, 12:03 PM
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinw View Post
Dear avs forum readers,

Recently i became the proud owner of a sony hw45es. The lamp has some 180 hours on it and i'm noticing a flicker effect. It's the same kind of flicker which is produced by fluorescent lights. (just google fluorescent light flicker if you've never noticed)

I'm not sure if it was already there from the start or it developed over time, i just noticed it recently.

It's constant and especially visible in high power mode which i usually use.

This is my first projector. Is this normal or should i ask for a repair/replacement?
This is a well-known defect with Sony projectors and their lamps. Certain members here were spreading misinformation stating that the defect had been fixed with the new Sony 45es model. But obviously this defect has continued with the new 45ES.
post #3 of 6 Old 09-30-2017, 01:24 PM - Thread Starter

Thanks i'll contact my store then.