The 1st Official Infocus 4805 Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 17985 Old 06-20-2004, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JeffKB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 1,922
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
acksnay - no issue here with the remote or mysterious turn-ons here. Then again, I always power mine off with the toggle on the unit. Just for yuks, my firmware is version 1.0.2. You can check yours in the About menu.

Since we're speaking of weird issues, there is one thing that's starting to bug me. When I adjust focus, the picture shifts left and right by about an inch as I rotate the focus ring. I'm just about sure it didn't start doing this until yesterday. Before that I could have sworn everything just stayed in place. Anybody else seeing this?

Jack - sounds like we're on the same page ;)
JeffKB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 05:50 AM
Senior Member
 
mooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Austin TX, Pagosa Springs,CO
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DMCdayton

Where did you get the telephone stand?

Bob
mooney is offline  
post #183 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by admiralpumpkin
acksnay, Do you happen to have a learning remote? If so, try to teach it one of the menu buttons, then move the IF remote to another room and see if you can reproduce the effect with the learning remote.

Or check the history of the land your house is built on...
It works fine this morning (?!) Have a Kameleon learning remote coming in this week and we'll see. That was so strange and I'm sure it will pop up again. Will attempt another batch of screen shots (on a public server this time) if the remote/firmware is feeling up to it. Will also put a call into InFocus tech support just in case they've seen this sort of thing before.

And that reminds me; I wanted Poltergeist on the netflix list...
acksnay is offline  
post #184 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 07:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
zipbags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Ocean, NJ
Posts: 716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone besides the original group from C******* heard anything about their units shipping? I have an order with TV****** and I know we were suppose to hear something from Neil here. But, that was a week ago and nothing.
zipbags is offline  
post #185 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dmcdayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the telephone stand at an unfinished furniture place. I tested it out this morning and am cautious as I don't have the recliners yet...worried about feet getting in way of image at 22" off the ground...

Its not just a hobby, its a 401K reduction plan.
dmcdayton is offline  
post #186 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 10:00 AM
Member
 
jfine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nothing yet zipbags, just checked the credit card and no charges or even authorizations yet. I'm crossing my fingers also. I'd really like to get this puppy setup before my vacation.
jfine is offline  
post #187 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SpeedyHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 3,263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question for krasmuzik -

>The specified lumens of 750 and contrast of 2200:1 are at D65 optimized home theater mode, the X1 in this mode was about 400 lumens and 800:1 contrast.

Isn't this comparing a spec'ed output vs a calibrated output?

The reason I ask is because my issue with my X1 is that its not bright enough. Looking to upgrade to the 4805 (maybe) - how much brighter is it compared to the X1? Any kind of measured output from the 4805?

Also i'm not understanding why a high powered screen would affect how vivid the colors are, I thought a high powered screen would bring out the colors?
SpeedyHTPC is offline  
post #188 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
rsmith4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by SpeedyHTPC
Question for krasmuzik -

>The specified lumens of 750 and contrast of 2200:1 are at D65 optimized home theater mode, the X1 in this mode was about 400 lumens and 800:1 contrast.

Isn't this comparing a spec'ed output vs a calibrated output?

The reason I ask is because my issue with my X1 is that its not bright enough. Looking to upgrade to the 4805 (maybe) - how much brighter is it compared to the X1? Any kind of measured output from the 4805?

Also i'm not understanding why a high powered screen would affect how vivid the colors are, I thought a high powered screen would bring out the colors?
That's the point, the 750 spec'ed lumens is optimized for video on the 4805. I believe that was already stated in his post. I could be wrong, but I don't think anyone said high power screens effect colors, but they can hurt contrast ratio and black level. I wish I had got a grey screen, but I bought mine before I new the difference. And by the way, the constrast ratio spec has been changed to 2000:1, which if it actually accomplishes that in video will be amazing anyway.
rsmith4321 is offline  
post #189 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 01:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
krasmuzik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: NewPort, VA
Posts: 11,270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SpeedyHTPC,
The 400 lumens is Infocus spec for the X1 film mode settings - while the SP4805 has only the film mode setting at 750 (600 in low power) - as it has no presentation mode.

The X1 contrast ratio is my measurement of a SP4800 after my calibration - but it is well known that the X1 contrast ratio spec is for presentation mode and you take a serious hit turning off the white segment of the color wheel.

Specwise for contrast/brightness the X1 may seem similar to the SP4805 - but you cannot compare presentation mode to film mode. When you compare both in film mode - the SP4805 comes out significantly better.

Subjectively you will see even greater improvement if your X1 lamp is old and dim.

What is your current screen gain/size?

rsmith4321,
A ND2 or ND4 filter is a cheap fix for your white gain screen if you find the SP4805 is too bright. You still get the room contrast enhancement of the gain controlling reflections - while still controlling the brightness to cut back on headache. You only loose on further room contrast enhancement without the grey screen - but if you have not painted your walls a dark neutral yet - there is still setup tweaks to be made before you change screens
krasmuzik is offline  
post #190 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 02:49 PM
Member
 
lappy4711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I can't see any pictures on that yahoo link
lappy4711 is offline  
post #191 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
acksnay is offline  
post #192 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry ... I assumed they could be viewed by others.
What's a good free photo sharing service?
acksnay is offline  
post #193 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 02:59 PM
KvB
Member
 
KvB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Acksnay, 3 things

1. Thanks a lot for those screenshots, the one I saw looked awesome
2. I can't see the other screenshots, for some reason yahoo doesn't show them? I think you can post your pictures here in AVSForum's own gallery
3. 4805 or not, playoffs still suck if the Flyers loose :) (Or were you talking about NBA?)
KvB is offline  
post #194 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 03:08 PM
Newbie
 
blatimer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
acksnay, did you choose to share the album? There is a link on the yahoo my photo's page that allows to you choose what albums other people may view.

thanks for all your efforts
blatimer is offline  
post #195 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 03:10 PM
Member
 
jclampit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know how to use the "gallery" feature on this board, but maybe that would be an option...
jclampit is offline  
post #196 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately Yahoo photo sharing is not "public gallery".

If someone knows a good free online photo album, please clue me in.

Otherwise I'll have to dig up some bellsouth.net storage I've got laying around somewhere ... let's see, where'd I put that ...

Hey KvB: I'm a big sportsfan in October. Hoping the '04 World Series is in local HD.
acksnay is offline  
post #197 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gwlaw99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you can post pictures on the avs forum for free. Sign up here

http://gallery.avsforum.com/index.php
gwlaw99 is offline  
post #198 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 04:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
nowknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orlando
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Hi Allen,

I wanted to make sure you had the most recent information regarding the ScreenPlay 4805 shipments. InFocus is on track to receive a small shipment at their corporate offices in Wilsonville, Oregon by this Friday followed by a much larger shipment a few days later. There will be a day (possibly two) turnaround before we can ship to you. Our goal is to have all of our existing pre-orders (including yours) shipped by the end of next week. Of course, there is always a possibility the dates could change again but I know InFocus is doing everything possible to help us expedite this shipment.

I appreciate your continued patience! If you do have any questions, please contact me at the number below and I’ll give you as much information as I have.

Thanks,

Kirk Punches

Director of Merchandising

TV *********

'Best comment on one of my AVS reviews ever, "What did I just try to read!" Latest: Snow joke - six foot rabbits and the run-a-way brain.
nowknown is offline  
post #199 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gwlaw99
you can post pictures on the avs forum for free. Sign up here

http://gallery.avsforum.com/index.php
Tells me "I'm already registered. And for the life of me I cannot find the "upload photo" feature for my gallery. Love those blonde moments.

I did get the SDE image up if you look a couple posts earlier though.
Comments about that?
acksnay is offline  
post #200 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 04:53 PM
Member
 
jclampit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try clicking on "login" rather than on "register". You should then see an "upload photos" button (to the right of "home", "search", and "profile").
jclampit is offline  
post #201 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 05:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jclampit
Try clicking on "login" rather than on "register". You should then see an "upload photos" button (to the right of "home", "search", and "profile").
Right on! and thank you. Images to follow.
acksnay is offline  
post #202 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 05:30 PM
Senior Member
 
LARUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oregon
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Absolute Home Theater's webpage is claiming they have the 4805 in stock. I didn't call or order though.
LARUE is offline  
post #203 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 05:36 PM
Member
 
jfine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by acksnay
Sorry ... I assumed they could be viewed by others.
What's a good free photo sharing service?
http://imagebin.org

Or you can upload via the form attach file tool.

And as far as the TV**** dealie. I guess with my trip I won't be playing with this thing until July 12th :-(
jfine is offline  
post #204 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hawkson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 650
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone comment on the longetivity of the 4805s bulb? Does it use the same life efficient bulb design as the X1?
Hawkson is offline  
post #205 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mupi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Midwest
Posts: 3,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally posted by Jack Gilvey
Someone else who isn't fixated on a resolution spec. :) Agreed. Can't imagine trading that for some extra detail.


I've noticed this also...thought it was my somewhat-warped temporary "screen". Will investigate further.


You're in a minority here, the whole point is to post screenshots.
There you go. The problems have started to pop up. I am not surprised if 4805 has problems. X1 had problems like brightness nonuniformity, lot of light spill and some have also reported about focus issue.
Even 7200 had that geometry problem. I am not surprised if these sub 2k projectors have problems.

I just wonder why a company cant make just a few prototypes, test them out and if they dont see any issues then mass produce. I dont think it would cost a lot of money to just assemble say 5 of them, play them for many hours to find any obvious flaws. They dont have to start a plant, hire several 1000 employyes overseas to make a few prototypes. Might be easier said than done. It might be worth trying.
Mupi is offline  
post #206 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
rsmith4321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Mupi
There you go. The problems have started to pop up. I am not surprised if 4805 has problems. X1 had problems like brightness nonuniformity, lot of light spill and some have also reported about focus issue.
Even 7200 had that geometry problem. I am not surprised if these sub 2k projectors have problems.

I just wonder why a company cant make just a few prototypes, test them out and if they dont see any issues then mass produce. I dont think it would cost a lot of money to just assemble say 5 of them, play them for many hours to find any obvious flaws. They dont have to start a plant, hire several 1000 employyes overseas to make a few prototypes. Might be easier said than done. It might be worth trying.
You say problems like they didn't know the PJ had certain issues when it was made. As was stated before, you just can't afford optics that cost thousands of dollars in a unit like this. These "problems" are just people being too pickey, they need a $10K PJ if they want their to be no performance issues at all. This is much different then the problems being had with the Optoma H30, it's problems make the units almost unusable in some cases. And it has a 40 percent brightness uniformity drop off in the corners. None of these issues mentioned for the 4805 would be noticed watching video on the unit in a normal 2x screen distance. Except for the remote problem, that may be a serious issue.
rsmith4321 is offline  
post #207 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://gallery.avsforum.com/showgall...at=500&thumb=1
Which is just another way of clicking on my profiles <Gallery>
All are of XMen-2 (plus 1 Fifth Element and 1 SDE)
The reflection below the screen is off my "tripod".
Will do better next time.

Requests?
acksnay is offline  
post #208 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
b.greenway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think acksnay's figured out how to take screen shots :) those are looking much better, thanks man. X2-2_2_ looks real nice for a PJ under 2k
b.greenway is offline  
post #209 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
acksnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Asheville, NC
Posts: 1,260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by b.greenway
I think acksnay's figured out how to take screen shots :) those are looking much better, thanks man. X2-2_2_ looks real nice for a PJ under 2k
Much obliged. If they look this good on a $50 piece of foamcore, imagine what a 0.8 grey will do for 'em.
acksnay is offline  
post #210 of 17985 Old 06-21-2004, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
LARUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oregon
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
acksnay,
Are you noticing problems in the uniformity of focus that others have seen?
(Thanks for all your updates!)
LARUE is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off