OFFICIAL Sanyo Z3 thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1827 Old 11-05-2004, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"tvted
Senior Member"

Hey,
I'm a Senior now - do I get to collect a pension?



ted
tvted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1827 Old 11-05-2004, 10:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Dream1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Rio Rancho, NM.
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ted,

Are you saying that light output is not dampened by distance?

Additionally, an Edit to my earlier post; the Panny 700 is listed at 1000 ANSI, opposed to the 800 I originally thought it was. I guess the jump up in light output can probably be the compensation for the possible throw distance.

My question has been answered.

I will assume that in general, not all cases but some; a higher light output is required for a longer throw distance.

BetrayThis Clan
Xbox Live Gamer Tag:
DreamKill
Dream1 is offline  
post #183 of 1827 Old 11-05-2004, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Dream1
Ted,
Are you saying that light output is not dampened by distance?

In this case yes - for a constant screen area - as you move the PJ you must zoom the lens which concentrates (or spreads) more (or less) light on a given area. The key is constant area and a lens which gathers light and focuses it. If your area also increases (or decreases) as you move the unit then the intensity will change. Its the lens.

A brighter PJ becomes a factor when you wish to increase your screen size.

Hope this makes sense. This has been discussed in greater depth in other threads in the PJ forums.

ted
tvted is offline  
post #184 of 1827 Old 11-05-2004, 04:01 PM
Senior Member
 
zAndy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Scunthorpe, Nth Lincs, UK
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've posted some impressions and pics of the Z3 on the uk avforums for anyone that's interested. In my opinion this is a fantastic projector, I've had the AE700 and am happier with the Z3 overall.

http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?h...d.php?t=161676

Cheers,
Andy.
zAndy12 is offline  
post #185 of 1827 Old 11-06-2004, 01:45 AM
Member
 
markbingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by TheFerret
This is not an absolute. Some have been able to tune discernible VB from their AE700's, but some have also noted they have not been able to remove it completely and were left with noticeable VB.

There is a whole thread on this on the Panny Forum, the solution is doing a "flicker tweak" apparently this makes a huge difference to VB should you have it. A lot of owners cant see VB at all, and those that can seem to think the flicker tweak does the job.

I guess it comes down to the fact that all these PJ's are unique to some degree, and some may be better than others.

Mark
markbingo is offline  
post #186 of 1827 Old 11-06-2004, 04:25 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Radeon 9600 with ATI catalyst 4.10 with DVI- D to HDMI at the Sanyo Z3 can not make the image inside the pj's image even with power strip.. ex. 1/3 of the "start" button is outside the frame.. how to adjust?
Ludde is offline  
post #187 of 1827 Old 11-06-2004, 05:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TheFerret's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Swamps of Georgia
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by markbingo
There is a whole thread on this on the Panny Forum, the solution is doing a "flicker tweak" apparently this makes a huge difference to VB should you have it. A lot of owners cant see VB at all, and those that can seem to think the flicker tweak does the job.

I guess it comes down to the fact that all these PJ's are unique to some degree, and some may be better than others.

Mark

I know its a case by case basis, which is why I stated its not an absolute. I was present at someone's home and watching them use the flicker adjustment to tweak their AE700 and the VB was not removed completely.

And what Panasonic forum are you talking about? I didn't know there was a whole forum dedicated to Panasonic.

When will D* stop pushing HD-Lite while charging us for full HD? Digital input on a CRT is a reality, not a possibility.
TheFerret is offline  
post #188 of 1827 Old 11-06-2004, 08:04 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't see any options in the catalyst control center which gives you the option to finetune the image size?
The function in the powerstrip which should finetune the size is just making the image distorted?
My problem is that even though I put the mouse in the corners, I still can't see the outline of the desktop??
The only thing I have done is change from Z2 to Z3 and the cable between, which is now a Oehlbach DVI-D to HDMI??
The area which is outside is half of the taskbar and the same all around the image...???
Ludde is offline  
post #189 of 1827 Old 11-06-2004, 10:55 PM
Senior Member
 
zAndy12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Scunthorpe, Nth Lincs, UK
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am quite frankly staggered at the amount of attention the AE700 is getting compared to this projector. Trust me, the Z3 deserves a lot of attention! I've had the AE700 and now the Z3 and the Z3 is better in my opinion, less noisy, less VB (and that's even after doing the flicker tweak on the AE700), better lens shift, sharper picture, no problem with the blacks (they're black!) etc etc....

Cheers,
Andy.
zAndy12 is offline  
post #190 of 1827 Old 11-07-2004, 12:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: The Old World
Posts: 607
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New technical review of the Z3 now up at cine4home.
Paul
Paul Butler is offline  
post #191 of 1827 Old 11-07-2004, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am really happy with my Z3 compared to Z2 but only if I can fix this stupid problem with the desktop outside pj's image...
Anyone any idea`???
Ludde is offline  
post #192 of 1827 Old 11-07-2004, 04:49 AM
Plx
Newbie
 
Plx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ludde
I am really happy with my Z3 compared to Z2 but only if I can fix this stupid problem with the desktop outside pj's image...
Anyone any idea`???

As I said in the other thread, you might wanna try to use function "OVERSCAN" which can be found in menu RGB>Advanced>Overscan.

It solved the problem to some people according to a French forum.
Plx is offline  
post #193 of 1827 Old 11-07-2004, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adjust the Overscan setting to 0% under the Advance menu on the Z3. Default is at 10%!


Thanks to Li On!!!
Ludde is offline  
post #194 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 01:04 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm, has anyone seen this problem? Happened twice yesterday, just sitting watching a movie and the image just went to how should I say, something like only 16colors and mostely green, the pj did not take any commands from the remote and not from the buttons on the pj either..
Had to switch off/on on the main power button, and the movie/image came back normal???
Ludde is offline  
post #195 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 04:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TheFerret's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Swamps of Georgia
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ludde, somehow I could not call what you described as normal.

When will D* stop pushing HD-Lite while charging us for full HD? Digital input on a CRT is a reality, not a possibility.
TheFerret is offline  
post #196 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 06:13 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I was surprised. First I thought it was something with the DVD but since the movie just continues as normal it has to be something with the pj...or?? (new Z3??)
I don't know how to describe it but it is almost like you see the image as the Predator see things, but with more green colors..!!??
I will try to get a screen shot if it happens again, could it be something with 10m Oehlbach DVI-D to HDMI cable?
Ludde is offline  
post #197 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 06:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TheFerret's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Swamps of Georgia
Posts: 10,004
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It could be a problem with the cable such that its triggering something in the projector.

When will D* stop pushing HD-Lite while charging us for full HD? Digital input on a CRT is a reality, not a possibility.
TheFerret is offline  
post #198 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it happens again I will take a screen shot and post it here and try with other cable, problem is that those cables are not for free....
Have you experienced similar things with cable problems?
Ludde is offline  
post #199 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 08:08 AM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Canada the Z3 may possibly be attainable at realistic pricing so I'm wondering.....

How does the colour and contrast of the Z3 compare to the AE700?
(Cine4home review is not complete yet)

Any idea how the Z3 bulb life is going to be? Z1 short bulb life is still a concern.
cpc is offline  
post #200 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
gbdrbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first post this forum, so hello everyone :-)

Here in the UK the sanyo z3 is around the same price as the infocus 4805. Does anyone have any idea of how the two compare? We've been able to get a demo of the 4805 and were very impressed but can only get the Z3 by mail order.

There are no HD transmissions in the UK (and unlikely to be for several years) so that aspect of the Z3 is less important, however UK PAL DVD's have 576 lines of vertical resolution so the 4805 scaler would be removing detail, whilst the z3 would be scaling up the picture.

We'll be using the projector in the living room with a 92" screen and whilst lights can be dimmed thee will a low ambient level at most times. From what I've read the 4805 is brighter when configured for video than the Z3. Also how does the contrast of the Z3 compare to the 4805, both are rated 2000:1?

Running costs worry worry me, the 4805 has 4000hr lamp life, the Z3 doesn't have published lamp life on the basis that it is the standard 2000hrs that means double the costs with the z3.

If anyone out there has experience of both the 4805 and the Z3 I'd really like to hear your opinions.

regards,

gbdrbob
gbdrbob is offline  
post #201 of 1827 Old 11-08-2004, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
leedees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Naples, FL USA
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by zAndy12
I've posted some impressions and pics of the Z3 on the uk avforums for anyone that's interested. In my opinion this is a fantastic projector, I've had the AE700 and am happier with the Z3 overall.

http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?<...p?t=161676</a>

Cheers,
Andy.

Andy,

Many thanks for the pics and comments.
leedees is offline  
post #202 of 1827 Old 11-09-2004, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yesterday it happened alot! Watching Donnie Brasco and after 30-40min the image turned to "Predator look".
See pics, also from desktop...
LL
Ludde is offline  
post #203 of 1827 Old 11-09-2004, 12:23 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
okej image
LL
Ludde is offline  
post #204 of 1827 Old 11-09-2004, 12:25 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
desktop, my wallpaper is black in normal conditions..
LL
Ludde is offline  
post #205 of 1827 Old 11-09-2004, 04:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Frichard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw a demo today of the Z3. I was really impress I didn't think I would like it aven seen the Z2 before but this is a totally different machine to my eye.

The Vb is almost inexistant by the way. You really need to concentrate to see it and even then. I was also scared of the SDE but I can't see none unless im at 5 feet. Maybe im blind .

Anyway I really liked the overall picture. The black and contrast was not the best ever but it's really good none the less. Even compare to some DLP in my opinion.

Well anyway I really like it. So much that I bought it.

I will go get it this week. Woohoo !

if only my home theater was finish .

Thanks

________________
Denon 3311CI
Martin Logan Motion 10 - Martin Logan Motion 8
Martin Logan Motion 4
Paradigm PW-2200
Samsung PN64D550
Epson 6500UB
Panasonic Viera TH-42PZ80U

Frichard is offline  
post #206 of 1827 Old 11-09-2004, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
leedees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Naples, FL USA
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am starting to think the Z3 has not been getting its due respect.

With the exception of Ludde's weird problem, many that see this projector have a lot of praise for it.

For two grand it might be the projector upgrade to hold me over until the next significant improvements arrive.
leedees is offline  
post #207 of 1827 Old 11-10-2004, 12:11 AM
Member
 
Ludde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think it is a big improvement (when the image is working :-) but I am thinking the cable could be the problem, will try with shorter cable and see if the problem occurs again) from the Z2 I had the Z2 for 1year and now Z3 and for me the big difference is, this is out of the box:
No VB, I have really looked for it since I had it on my Z2.
Contrast is better.
Black is black. (this is comparing to Z2)
Subtitles are razor-sharp.
More functions in the menu, (I like).
I will even upgrade my screen to a 2,70meter tomorrow and see if it is still good.
In general I think it is just better on all the things that was lacking on the Z2....
Ludde is offline  
post #208 of 1827 Old 11-10-2004, 12:17 AM
Member
 
markbingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cambridgeshire, England
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by TheFerret
And what Panasonic forum are you talking about? I didn't know there was a whole forum dedicated to Panasonic.

The Panny 700 forum is :

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...57#post4632857 now up to 128 pages

and the flicker tweak one is here :

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=465849


Latest news from me is that I got my Panny 700 yesterday, and set it up last night. The picture (right out of the box) is awesome. I must be lucky cos I have absolutely no VB or peekaboo. Not a bit of it.

The picture is truly stunning, and coupled with the lens I have got a perfect installation on my back wall, very high up (almost touching the ceiling).
markbingo is offline  
post #209 of 1827 Old 11-10-2004, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
leedees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Naples, FL USA
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered the Z3 as an upgrade to my Z2 and keep the Z2 as a backup.

I will use my existing Carada High Contrast 80" diagonal with the Z3.

This combination should result in a detailed, bright, high contrast image.

I will post first impressions early next week.
leedees is offline  
post #210 of 1827 Old 11-10-2004, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
HT Gearhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: White Oak, PA
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Leedees

Please do give us your impression. I also want to hear more about any misconvergence issues too. I have a 2HD and would very much like to upgrade. I was told by Studio Experience that they will not be using the Z3 for their 3HD so I am seriously considering the Z3 over the Panny 700.
HT Gearhead is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off