AE700 Tweak Thread - Page 92 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2731 of 2757 Old 01-06-2010, 04:53 AM
Newbie
 
AmazingMatze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My projector is connected with the PS3 via HDMI. No problems so far. Just the flashes which are firmware related (1.03)
The PS3 automatically detects a max resolution of 1080i, but I configured it to use 720p only (since it is the projectors native resolution)

Good luck.
AmazingMatze is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2732 of 2757 Old 01-11-2010, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Zip41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bumpass, Va
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zip41 View Post

I'm trying to get my new Sony Blue ray Disk Player 360 to work with my projector through the HDMI cable. It works fine with the component cables.

When I first turn on the player I see the splash screen and when it goes to the setup screen I just get a snowy picture. I know the project is getting the signal because I can see resolution in the setup menu. If I change the res it changes in the menu.

Panasonic support said to try and turn the Cinema Reality on to see if that would make a difference. When I went into the menu it is grayed out. Any ideal why? Any ideal on what else I could try to get these two units to shake hands?


Thanks for any help
Ken

PS My projector is running firmware 1.05. Maybe I need to update to 1.07?

Just thought I would throw out a update of what I found. It was a capability issue. I took the Sony player back to the store and had them hook it up to a display model to make sure the HDMI was working. I exchanged the Sony for a Panasonic, hooked it up and it worked great.

Thanks to everyone that tried to help.

Thanks
Ken T
Zip41 is offline  
post #2733 of 2757 Old 01-11-2010, 01:51 PM
Newbie
 
faulesocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I updatet My PT-AE700E from R1.03 A1.03 P1.04
to R1.07 A1.103 P1.04. I've done this Update to fix the problem with overscan on the vga port.

I connected the beamer to my pc with 1280x720 @60 Hz (europe). On the left side there are cut some pixels i think about 30 pixel. I thought this problem is fixed with the new option hd overscan on or off. But there's no change on my beamer with this option?

Can you please help me

Best Regards
faulesocke
faulesocke is offline  
post #2734 of 2757 Old 01-12-2010, 10:10 PM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just curious. Does anyone still use the filter on this pj. And if so, do you use blu-ray as well. Comments, opinions?

PF
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #2735 of 2757 Old 01-13-2010, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nascar Dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfreud55 View Post

Just curious. Does anyone still use the filter on this pj. And if so, do you use blu-ray as well. Comments, opinions?

PF

I always use the filter. Don't want any dust bunnies in my PJ.
I use HD-DVD.
Nascar Dog is offline  
post #2736 of 2757 Old 01-13-2010, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm. I should have been clearer. I mean the lens/light filter that screws onto the lens itself. Probably at the begining of this thread it is mentionned. As far as I understand it, it levels out the color spectrum (decreasing one of the primaries I think... as the Panasonic 700 has some inherent colour issues... I think).

I have the filter but can't recall the modesl (lee?? something).

I'm sure someone can chime in, and give me some feedback.

PF
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #2737 of 2757 Old 02-22-2010, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there anybody out there????

I almost pulled the trigger on the 4000 after seeing, but then decided on getting a new bulb. WOW!!!!! IMO the 700 is still a great PJ now with blu-rays and a new bulb.

I believe that the gradual dimming makes one forget how good this PJ actually is - 720 p.

When I saw the 4000 I thought way better, but now I realize I was comparing apples to oranges, and not referring to the resolution, but rather to the lamp output.

I am able to use the lens-filter again, and the contrast is very acceptable. Having saved 1700.00 was well worth it. Those who say the 4000 is a huge upgrade need to make the comparison with a new bulb, and I think the conclusion would not be so huge.

Thoughts from the PF
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #2738 of 2757 Old 02-22-2010, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
meriadec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Montréal Québec
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfreud55 View Post

Is there anybody out there????

I almost pulled the trigger on the 4000 after seeing, but then decided on getting a new bulb. WOW!!!!! IMO the 700 is still a great PJ now with blu-rays and a new bulb.

I believe that the gradual dimming makes one forget how good this PJ actually is - 720 p.

When I saw the 4000 I thought way better, but now I realize I was comparing apples to oranges, and not referring to the resolution, but rather to the lamp output.

I am able to use the lens-filter again, and the contrast is very acceptable. Having saved 1700.00 was well worth it. Those who say the 4000 is a huge upgrade need to make the comparison with a new bulb, and I think the conclusion would not be so huge.

Thoughts from the PF

Happy that you are still enjoying your AE700 as much as I am. It will be 5 years next month that I have purchased this excellent front projector. I only watch movies, concerts, operas and special events on it. I don't use it for watching regular TV (even in HD). I now have watched 880 hours on it and it still delivers an outstanding picture. I keep it clean of dust, give it good ventilation and never power it off until the cooling fan has stopped. Thank you for telling us that it looks even better once the bulb has been replaced. Guess that I will stick with it until the forthcoming LED PJs reach a reasonable price point.

Regards,

Mériadec
meriadec is offline  
post #2739 of 2757 Old 02-23-2010, 03:11 AM
Member
 
Robert_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by meriadec View Post

Happy that you are still enjoying your AE700 as much as I am. It will be 5 years next month that I have purchased this excellent front projector. I only watch movies, concerts, operas and special events on it. I don't use it for watching regular TV (even in HD). I now have watched 880 hours on it and it still delivers an outstanding picture. I keep it clean of dust, give it good ventilation and never power it off until the cooling fan has stopped. Thank you for telling us that it looks even better once the bulb has been replaced. Guess that I will stick with it until the forthcoming LED PJs reach a reasonable price point.

Regards,

Mériadec

That's how I use my PJ. Occasionally I'll watch HDTV through it. I have a few more hours on mine. I am also waiting for LED.

Bob.
Robert_W is offline  
post #2740 of 2757 Old 02-23-2010, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Heuristix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Strafford, PA
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkfreud55 View Post

Is there anybody out there????

I almost pulled the trigger on the 4000 after seeing, but then decided on getting a new bulb. WOW!!!!! IMO the 700 is still a great PJ now with blu-rays and a new bulb.

I believe that the gradual dimming makes one forget how good this PJ actually is - 720 p.

When I saw the 4000 I thought way better, but now I realize I was comparing apples to oranges, and not referring to the resolution, but rather to the lamp output.

I am able to use the lens-filter again, and the contrast is very acceptable. Having saved 1700.00 was well worth it. Those who say the 4000 is a huge upgrade need to make the comparison with a new bulb, and I think the conclusion would not be so huge.

Thoughts from the PF

If you don't mind, did you buy a Panasonic manufactured lamp or was it aftermarket? I am asking because there appears to be 2 price levels if you do a search. (I have nothing against aftermarket, just curious).
Heuristix is offline  
post #2741 of 2757 Old 02-26-2010, 03:57 PM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heuristix View Post

If you don't mind, did you buy a Panasonic manufactured lamp or was it aftermarket? I am asking because there appears to be 2 price levels if you do a search. (I have nothing against aftermarket, just curious).


It was an OEM lamp. Bought in canada for 350.00. That's the cheapest I could find on this side of the border for an original.
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #2742 of 2757 Old 03-12-2010, 02:01 AM
Newbie
 
citypunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi
I need to FW upgrade my AE700, does annyone know where i can get the cabel i need. Or where i can find the schematics for it, so i can make one myself ?
citypunk is offline  
post #2743 of 2757 Old 04-08-2010, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
mccabem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I recently updated my 700u to a 4000 and took my 700u to my HT showroom. I went from a shelf mount, to a ceiling mount setup. Now the picture image is 1.5" taller on the right side of the screen vs. the left. My throwing distance is about 12' onto a 100" 16:9 screen. Does anybody know the problem or any solutions?

Thanks,
Matt
mccabem is offline  
post #2744 of 2757 Old 04-08-2010, 11:46 AM
Member
 
Ace55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey.."pinkfreud55"...Where on earth did you find an OEM lamp for $350.00 ??
Ace55 is offline  
post #2745 of 2757 Old 04-08-2010, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
mccabem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mccabem View Post

I recently updated my 700u to a 4000 and took my 700u to my HT showroom. I went from a shelf mount, to a ceiling mount setup. Now the picture image is 1.5" taller on the right side of the screen vs. the left. My throwing distance is about 12' onto a 100" 16:9 screen. Does anybody know the problem or any solutions?

Thanks,
Matt

Any solutions please?
mccabem is offline  
post #2746 of 2757 Old 04-09-2010, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace55 View Post

Hey.."pinkfreud55"...Where on earth did you find an OEM lamp for $350.00 ??


Either the price went up, or i am delusional. It is now listed at 400.00 (ask the guy if he had it cheaper).... sure I paid 350

PF

http://www.projectorlampexperts.ca/i...ProductID=3300
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #2747 of 2757 Old 04-15-2010, 08:14 PM
PAP
AVS Special Member
 
PAP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,407
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like you don't have it squared up and level to the screen.

Good, cheap, easy - pick any two.
PAP is offline  
post #2748 of 2757 Old 04-16-2010, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ferbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mccabem View Post

Any solutions please?

PAP is right. Your PJ is not perfectly squared (horizontally and vertically) to the screen. Looking at the screen, the rigth side of your PJ is farther than the left side.
To correct this:
Turn a little your PJ to the left in order to get the same length on both sides (left and right).
Tilt the PJ to re-align the top.
Correct with lens shift and zoom.
ferbal is offline  
post #2749 of 2757 Old 07-20-2010, 07:03 AM
Newbie
 
salvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace55 View Post

Hey.."pinkfreud55"...Where on earth did you find an OEM lamp for $350.00 ??

330$ USD total cost (shipping, fees and insurance included) here: **********

**********

they are serious and fast.
salvs is offline  
post #2750 of 2757 Old 08-05-2012, 09:36 AM
Member
 
Tom Campbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT USA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to build a firmware upgrade cable; do I need anything more then this:

http://www.technologicalarts.ca/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=154 on the projector PC/VGA IN side

and this:

http://www.ebaypa.com/albums/20110005/sku026822_27.jpg http://www.ebaypa.com/albums/20110005/sku026822_13.jpgon COM1; this unit has a MAX232 chip on board

If some one could verify the pinouts on the D Sub 15 side for TXD/RXD/GND that would be very helpful (remember they are inverted)
Tom Campbell is offline  
post #2751 of 2757 Old 08-07-2012, 04:45 PM
Member
 
Tom Campbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT USA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BUMP
Tom Campbell is offline  
post #2752 of 2757 Old 08-08-2012, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Campbell View Post

I need to build a firmware upgrade cable;

Is there a reason why a regular DB9 to HD15 cable won't work?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1M-3FT-VGA-HD15-to-DB9-9-pin-RS232-Serial-Port-Cable-MM-/390108950259?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item5ad44e2ef3


All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Movies

Mr.G is online now  
post #2753 of 2757 Old 08-09-2012, 05:28 PM
Member
 
Tom Campbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT USA
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:

Yes, you need +5V. That's why the MAX232 is in the circuit.
Tom Campbell is offline  
post #2754 of 2757 Old 08-17-2012, 04:22 PM
Newbie
 
John Wilfong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the same problem with my NEC MT1075 and it was the s-video cable that I was using. I tried a new one and it still did the same thing. I didn't give up and tried a monster s-video cable that I had in the past and it worked fine. With these signals you have to make sure that there is no interference whatsoever. I have not had any problem since. In the meantime I am currently trying to get the schematics (wiring diagram) for my NEC MT. I will be attempting to rebuild my own optical block by replacing blue polarizing filter and LCD. If you have any ideas on where to get technical support, I am all ears.
I hope this helps....
John Wilfong is offline  
post #2755 of 2757 Old 09-24-2013, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
Nommag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought a PT-AE700 as a first projector just to get used to using a projector and to see weather its worth buying a more expensive one a little down the track. I use a ps3 as my blu-ray player and run the signal through an Onkyo nr-tx717. Any suggestions on what settings I need to adjust on the ps3 to get the best from the projector? Also any calibration settings that would work well with blu-ray on the projector. Sorry to resurrect such an old thread. Help would be appreciated.
Nommag is offline  
post #2756 of 2757 Old 09-24-2013, 12:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,643
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Sharing setting does not work 90% of the time. I can point you to more info on why if you want to read about it or just take my word for it.
This is the PS3 info, you can find it in the official PS3 Thread but I have a local copy I paste in as this is often asked in the calibration forum.
Video Settings

BD Internet: "Allow"
BD/DVD Cinema Conversion: "Automatic"
BD/DVD Upscaler: "Normal"
BD/DVD Video Output Format (HDMI): "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr" for TVs, "RGB" for PC Monitors
BD 1080p 24Hz Output: "Automatic"
BD/DVD Dynamic Range Control: "Off"
BD/DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI): "Linear PCM"
BD/DVD Audio Output Format (Optical Digital): "Bitstream"

Display Settings

RGB Full Range (HDMI): "Limited"
Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr Super-White (HDMI): "On"

Sound Settings

Audio Output: Varies/Automatic


As for projector user settings, download and burn the AVS 709 disk to a DVD and play it in your PS3 (plays in a BR player only but burns to standard DVD). There is a pdf instruction manual in the first page of the thread and there are videos on the disk that explain how to set the basics. As your lamp age, room conditions and screen effect the image using other peoples settings does nothing, set them yourself correctly with the disk.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/948496/avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration/0_100

Why not copy settings?
http://www.tlvexp.ca/2012/12/the-fruits-of-copying-settings-the-pioneer-lottery/
Nommag likes this.
airscapes is offline  
post #2757 of 2757 Old 09-25-2013, 02:54 AM
Newbie
 
Nommag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by airscapes View Post

Sharing setting does not work 90% of the time. I can point you to more info on why if you want to read about it or just take my word for it.
This is the PS3 info, you can find it in the official PS3 Thread but I have a local copy I paste in as this is often asked in the calibration forum.
Video Settings

BD Internet: "Allow"
BD/DVD Cinema Conversion: "Automatic"
BD/DVD Upscaler: "Normal"
BD/DVD Video Output Format (HDMI): "Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr" for TVs, "RGB" for PC Monitors
BD 1080p 24Hz Output: "Automatic"
BD/DVD Dynamic Range Control: "Off"
BD/DVD Audio Output Format (HDMI): "Linear PCM"
BD/DVD Audio Output Format (Optical Digital): "Bitstream"

Display Settings

RGB Full Range (HDMI): "Limited"
Y Pb/Cb Pr/Cr Super-White (HDMI): "On"

Sound Settings

Audio Output: Varies/Automatic


As for projector user settings, download and burn the AVS 709 disk to a DVD and play it in your PS3 (plays in a BR player only but burns to standard DVD). There is a pdf instruction manual in the first page of the thread and there are videos on the disk that explain how to set the basics. As your lamp age, room conditions and screen effect the image using other peoples settings does nothing, set them yourself correctly with the disk.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/948496/avs-hd-709-blu-ray-mp4-calibration/0_100

Why not copy settings?
http://www.tlvexp.ca/2012/12/the-fruits-of-copying-settings-the-pioneer-lottery/

Thank you very much, I really appreciate your help and thoroughness of your reply. I will let you know how it goes smile.gif
Nommag is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Panasonic Pt Ae700u High Definition Home Cinema Lcd Projector
Gear in this thread - Ae700u by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off