*OFFICIAL* Benq PE7700 Thread - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HiHoStevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Las Vegas & Cedar Hills
Posts: 3,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No Warren............. probably not the best match.......

But what are you going to do with SDTV? (sorry I am addicted to the SciFi channel and until it goes HD I really "need" good de-interlacing)

There are just two theories for successfully quarreling with a woman -- neither one works!
The Barn - Use Password = AVSForum
HiHoStevo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yes, of course in that situation you want the MT700. Best tool for the job. Of course again the iScan would come in handy.
Well, that isn't why I got the iScan HD+, but I end up using it for SDTV. The iScan is so nice, just plug anything into it and it all goes over the same single hdmi cable to the projector automatically. Very nice indeed. We watched Desperate Housewifes and Grey's Anatomy (or whatever that is) on it last night.
Warren.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #543 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 12:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
I plan to send in most sources at 720p already. So if the BenQ does have overall better picture quality then I would find it modt beneficial to get it instead of the Toshiba. I also own a HD+ and will use it for SD sources from DirecTv. I have an Onkyo SP1000 so I am not sure yet if I will run that thru the Iscan (SP1000 does pretty good job of scaling alone) at 720p on its own. Anyway, if they are identical in picture quality then the Toshiba would be my choice. So is the Sense Eye feature good enough to be the deal breaker? I only have a week or so to decide. And I must admit, I am still stuck in the middle...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #544 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jonnyozero3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 000000N 0000000E
Posts: 1,498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think there is a direct comparison by two thorough people (Mike and Art) coming up - maybe next week. If you can sit tight you'll have a pretty damn definitive answer on what the differences between the MT700 and PE7700 are...

- Jon
"010 Meh"
jonnyozero3 is offline  
post #545 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 12:55 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Thanks Jonnyozero3!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #546 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
c722's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by miltimj
No, the Toshiba has a 2 year warranty (difference of one year). That's good enough for me, for the difference in price and getting the Faroudja. (If it breaks, I think it will in the first 2 years)

u r of course right; just that I was suggesting when there is no price difference (that's what O'Henry said I think) , will the additional 1 yr warranty mean anything ? (For me, since I only feed 720p material through it, either through a IScan or a gd dvdp, the DCDi function is not so useful. In this case I value the warranty more. )

In any case it seems US is the only place to have this pricing difference. In europe Benq is cheaper, here the Benq is the same as the Tosh US price.
c722 is offline  
post #547 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 07:07 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
So if you were on a desert island and could only have one or the other, which would you have?

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #548 of 5110 Old 05-10-2005, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miltimj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 3,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'd pick the one with the built in satellite phone, joe..
miltimj is offline  
post #549 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
takisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tested the 7700 with an HTPC via dvi>HDMI cable? If yes, does it have any sync problems?

A Never Ending Quest Τowards Visual Nirvana..
takisot is offline  
post #550 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Beeblebrox_dk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by takisot
Has anyone tested the 7700 with an HTPC via dvi>HDMI cable? If yes, does it have any sync problems?

I'm going to pick mine up in a couple of hours - If everything goes well I can tell you in the evening (europe evening, that is )

-Claus
Beeblebrox_dk is offline  
post #551 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
gkanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing I hope any head to head comparison tests is syncing at 48, 72 Hz, etc. As near as I can determine from the threads, the Tosh syncs, but displays at 60. It is not clear (to me) if the BenQ does the same thing, since I've read that the DCDi is where the conversion to 60 is taking place.
That may be an important difference for some users.

-Greg
gkanders is offline  
post #552 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Yes, I did test HTPC with dvi>HDMI. It will not sync at 48 or 72, just 50 and 60. I played with powerstrip timings at 48 to no avail, but not at 72, so it may sync there with some effort.
Warren.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #553 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 11:06 AM
Member
 
Kjelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by gkanders
One thing I hope any head to head comparison tests is syncing at 48, 72 Hz, etc.

Why would you like the 48Hz or 72Hz syncing? The judder is far less then with the 8700, almost unnoticable.
Kjelt is offline  
post #554 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 12:23 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Hey, just a quick install question. I am getting ready and it seems I will be mounting my PJ a few feet back from a sofet (since I-beam is in ceiling there). How many inches does the PJ need to clear it by? In other words, if the difference from the ceiling to the soface is 7 inches, should I get an extension column that extends 6-9 inches or 9-12 inches? I also will gain a 1 3/4 " from the Chief RPA U and 1 3/4" from the ceiling mount. So my main concern is getting the picture past the sofet without dropping the PJ down too far....Thanks!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #555 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 01:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miltimj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 3,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
All you need is the center of the lens just below 7" in your case.. a conservative placement would be to have the top of the projector (when upside down, so actually the bottom) at the same height as the soffit, because the lens will be below it. Then it's just some math: 7" - 1.75" - 1.75" = 3.5" extension column (at least)

Edit: I'm not saying I know how your mount works either... I'm just going off of the dimensions you gave in your previous post. Just wanted to point that out.
miltimj is offline  
post #556 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 01:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Thanks miltimj!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #557 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 01:35 PM
SJK
Advanced Member
 
SJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Solon, Ohio
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
joerod,

I am about to have the exact same setup as you. I currently have a Chief RPA setup and I recently placed an order for the 700 and the universal mount (base only). When I set up my first projector I put the screen up first. Then, when I determined what height I needed I had the hardware store cut the pipe to fit. It worked perfectly. Also I believe the MT700 can be adjusted up/down +/- 15% so height may not be as critical as the horizontal position.

Does anyone know how far offset the lense is from center on this projector-I have not been able to find it in the literature?

Best Regards,
SJK
SJK is offline  
post #558 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miltimj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 3,259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
SJK, there's no lens shift on the PE7700 or MT700... the center of the lens should align with the top of the screen. The +/- 15% the manual talks about is with the use of keystoning (none is ideal, the less the better).

I haven't seen a mention of the lens offset (from center of the projector) either, but from the pictures and dimensions, it seems around 4"... it may take someone carefully measuring their PJ to get this information (perhaps you when you receive it!)
miltimj is offline  
post #559 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Kjelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The front of the projector is exactly 36cm wide.
The lensopening (not the lens itself but the opening in the case) starts at exactly 23 cm from the left and ends at 31 cm from the left. This is measured at the middle of the lens. One inch equals 2,54cm so unless i am mistaken the width of the projector is 14,1732283465 inches
the lensopening starts (from the left) at 9,05511811024 inches
and the lensopening ends at 12,2047244094 inches
Kjelt is offline  
post #560 of 5110 Old 05-11-2005, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
takisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by wnielsenbb
Yes, I did test HTPC with dvi>HDMI. It will not sync at 48 or 72, just 50 and 60. I played with powerstrip timings at 48 to no avail, but not at 72, so it may sync there with some effort.
Warren.

Thanks for the reply.
Actually I tested it today with an HTPC and it behaves like 8700 sync-wise, except that it has LESS judder i.e. more fluid picture!
My first impressions? Two Thumbs Up! An improved 8700 at half its price!
Well done BenQ..

A Never Ending Quest Τowards Visual Nirvana..
takisot is offline  
post #561 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 02:07 PM
Senior Member
 
gkanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lafayette, CO
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Kjelt
Why would you like the 48Hz or 72Hz syncing? The judder is far less then with the 8700, almost unnoticable.

Just academic really. I'm looking for advantages of the 7700 -vs- the Tosh 700.

Sounds like the Tosh is (in the US) is a little less.
7700 has Senseye, but nobody knows what that is.
7700 has a 3 yr -vs- 2 yr warranty.
700 has better reverse 3-2 pulldown (as the 7700 seems not to have it at all). And related, the overall quality of de-interlacing of DCDi.
I was just wondering if one or the other would be better with HTPC, and I was remembering that someone said the 700's DCDi likes to output at 60 hz. I was wondering if the sync was an advantage of the 7700. Sounds like probably not, as both seem to look good regardless.

I'm sure either would make me happy. I'd better get on that theater constuction and off of the forum!

Greg
gkanders is offline  
post #562 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
presenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Clemente
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Greetings, I'm going to try to demystify Senseye for everyone (wish me luck). I am having a powerpoint presentation posted to my website, from BenQ that goes into good depth as to what its supposed to do. Now, how that stacks up with DCDi, and other circuitry, is another story - they think theirs is the best solution, but wait and read. Then everyone can debate what it all means. I have a product manager contact there, so I might be able to get some other specific questions answered, but, I have to use my "connection" sparingly.

BTW this was originally an internal document, that they sent me. Lots of typos, boxed out stuff, etc. But 95% of the content is there and readable.

I will email back as soon as my webmaster gets it up, and figures out where he's putting it. Stay tuned. Hopefully tonight or tomorrow latest. -art

-art

Reviewing projectors sure beats selling them...
---but then, watching The 5th Element
-----for the hundreth time sure is getting old.
ProjectorReviews.com
presenter is offline  
post #563 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
checklst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No 3:2 pull down wonder how these internet rumors get started. It clearly states in the manual that Benq's on proprietary system (Senseye) is handling this task. Now is that better than the tried and true DCDi, my guess is probably not, just different.

I'll let experts like Art decide on the fine points like that.

I think is funny how a lot of folks have got into such a nit pick about picture quality between the BQ7700(senseye) and theTM700 DCDi when in fact the difference would be so slight is would not be worth the argument.

I am new to FP but so far what I have seen from my own 2 eyes is there is far more DIFFERENCE in the picture quality of what SCREEN material you choose, than the difference in Senseye or DCDi.

I own the 7700 and would be proud to own the TM700 as well.

JMO
checklst is offline  
post #564 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 06:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
sog35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Hi guys!
Just need some help! How is the contrast/blacks on the 7700? I have a 4805 right now, is the blacks better?

Also I'm planning on using an 80 inch screen. Will this improve picture quality? Or should i use a bigger screen. I'm mostly concerned with contrast. Would the smaller image be too bright? thanks.
sog35 is offline  
post #565 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
presenter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Clemente
Posts: 676
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The 7700's contrast will definitely be better - inherently because of the HD2+ chip, but also because of some of the contrast enhancing technologies that have become popular (on machines like the Panasonic 700u, the PE7700, and others.

As to screen size, vs brightness - personal taste. Let's just say that in a dark room, you'll have plenty of horsepower. You can always dim the lamp down however...

I run my 8700+ on a 140" screen right now (waiting for a new Firehawk at 128",) and I am a bit underpowered for my taste, but pretty sure the 128" and 1.3 gain will make me happy. If you've got room, and seating where you want it (not too close...), then you certainly can go for a 92, 100, 106 or 110" without any real concern (dark room).
I think within that range of screen sizes, (and surfaces), it will come down to where you like to sit in a theater - are you an up close person, half way back, etc.
Since you already have a 4805, you should know what pleases you. Remember the pixels will be about as visible on the 7700 as they are on the 4805 - if you sit half the distance to the screen when watching the 7700.

YOu can always (as some folks do) get the projector - shine on the wall, and figure out what size is ideal for your purposes.

And if you are really adverse to the amount of gray where there should be black, you can always choose a High contrast gray surface - that might be your ticket if you go 80 - 92 inches.

The fun part, is that the 7700 is so far beyond the 4805 you will almost certainly love any combination you decide on. Have fun! -art

-art

Reviewing projectors sure beats selling them...
---but then, watching The 5th Element
-----for the hundreth time sure is getting old.
ProjectorReviews.com
presenter is offline  
post #566 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 09:29 PM
Newbie
 
stlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased a 7700. My room is pretty dark. dark walls and ceiling. I plan to shoot on a stewart 100 screen. My question is what material to get. I am currently thinking GreyHawk RS. The other options I am considersing are FireHawk and Studiotek 130.

Can anyone tell me the pro and cons of the different screen type ?
stlman is offline  
post #567 of 5110 Old 05-12-2005, 10:45 PM
Senior Member
 
FlyingGimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sog35 - I've watched my old 4805 and my MT700 (OEM of the 7700) side by side. Contrast and black level are nearly identical to my eye. For me the MT700 is essentially a higher resolution 4805. This is not a knock on the MT700 - the 4805 is that good.

For another opinion, see MikeSRC's thread on the MT700 vs. 4805 comparison.

I'm using mine on a 70" wide screen and use a Hoya HMC ND2 filter to lower the brightness along with black level. With this combo I get a color for black that my mind at least considers to be "black" (it's really a dark, dark grey of course, like any DLP I've seen on a white screen).
FlyingGimp is offline  
post #568 of 5110 Old 05-13-2005, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wnielsenbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What screen do you have FlyingGimp? 70" Wow, that is half what I am shooting. No wonder the filter.
I am using temporary blackout cloth but I am ready to order a screen now. I am planning a 133" pulldown, I just haven't decided what material yet. I only use it at night with no lights, so thought I was good, but this projector is so bright it lights up the whole room, which in turn lights up the screen, so I assume I need a high constrast screen.
Warren.
wnielsenbb is offline  
post #569 of 5110 Old 05-13-2005, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
stlman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope to use a shelf to mount the 7700. I was hoping to turn the unit upside down and use stick-on rubber feet. Ill put the screen where the image lands.

The top of the shelf is around 7 feet, thats why I wanted a zero offset PJ. The front is a little less than 13 feet from the far wall, so I should be able to use a 100 inch screen the biggest I can fit on the wall because of obstacles.

Has anyone done this. Could I damage the unit setting it upside down with rubber feet. The shelf already exists and would be hard to move, but is there another way to put this PJ on top of a shelf that would be better. The ceiling is vaulted and high so thats kinda out.
stlman is offline  
post #570 of 5110 Old 05-13-2005, 12:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
checklst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 574
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the rubber feet would be just fine, it vents in the front and has a side air intake.
checklst is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Benq Pe7700
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off