AE700 - lamp brightness changing slow flicker...AE700 owners please read... - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 101 Old 05-03-2005, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tvted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pinkfreud55,

Honestly I believe you - even tried it myself to no avail with my non-flickering but waning bulb and I do believe I've a separate and likely unrelated problem, but this all seems like Voodoo to me. :D

don't be mad at me now,
ted
tvted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 Old 05-03-2005, 08:56 PM
Member
 
aurz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I posted in the AE700 tweak thread too.

No they did not reset the hours

I never had any dimming in the first place - only flicker.

60 hours later problem still all fixed. :)
aurz is offline  
post #93 of 101 Old 05-05-2005, 02:11 AM
Member
 
KongFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Been away for a while.

Well, I had to try it myself. Just re-set my lamp hours, including the prompted shutdown, and have found (drum roll)... no increase in brightness.

It seems that my lamp is getting progressively dimmer, and I think it's now pretty well beyond credibility that this could be normal "break in" or aging.

Just reached 200 hours exactly, despite the new "0" on my lamp timer.

I'm well under the lamp's maximum warrantied hours, but well over the 90 day limit. This very early demise of the lamp is pretty unreasonable, though, and I'm hopeful I can get Panasonic to supply a new one, ideally not from the same run. Really hope I don't have to duke it out long-term with them to get this taken care of. We'll see.

Calling them in the A.M.

KongFan
KongFan is offline  
post #94 of 101 Old 05-05-2005, 06:01 AM
Senior Member
 
pinkfreud55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Great White North
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well guess I was fortunate with my Voodoo. No I'm not mad TvEd, just hurt. lol.

PF
pinkfreud55 is offline  
post #95 of 101 Old 05-05-2005, 12:51 PM
Member
 
dirtyrascal7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weeeeeeee... I love playing the "there's nothing we can do, call these people instead" game. :rolleyes:

What I know so far is that Panasonic says they won't exchange or replace any units, they will only fix the unit you have... and by that they mean you send it to a 3rd party company and have them fix it. Normally I wouldn't have a problem with this, but it seems an entire batch of bad AE700's were released and no one really knows what's wrong with them or how to fix them... so I'm apprehensive to send it in and have them simply upgrade the firmware and reset the connections like they did with aruz's unit... it may have fixed the flashing, but i'm skeptical that will fix the dimming problem.

Ideally, I can get my dealer to send me a new unit from a different production batch with the newest firmware already installed.

Worst case scenario, I'll have to send my unit to Heartland, wait a couple weeks to get it back, then cross my fingers every time I turn it on, hoping they really did fix the problem for good. :(
dirtyrascal7 is offline  
post #96 of 101 Old 12-31-2005, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
mikaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I'm resurrecting this thread from oblivion ;). My AE700 just turned one year, and last nite was the first time I noticed the dreaded flickering, on a menu screen...:(
It has about 670 hours on the lamp, all low mode, auto iris on, fed 720p via HDMI mostly (some TV via composite), and I make sure to turn off the main power after using it, so I've never had a VB issue. I have the 1.07 firmware, which fixed the WF problem, and until last nite, it has run beautifully. I don't think this is a mains related problem, we have 220 Volts in Sweden and in my apartment it is quite stable, no lights ever flicker, even when I turn on the oven or any other large appliance.
Now, the flickering didn't actually affect the movie (Godzilla, kinda dark), but it worries me nonetheless. Is there anything to be done? I haven't noticed any dimming (DVE calibrated), should I just wait for 1) my bulb to die or 2) the problem to go away?
What about running it in high mode for a while, does that actually help?
So, any help will be greatly appreciated :).

/Mikael
--------------------------------------------------
- "Do you indulge in any form of worship?"
- "Life. I love life, very much indeed."
mikaels is offline  
post #97 of 101 Old 01-02-2006, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
dgkp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikaels
Well, I'm resurrecting this thread from oblivion ;). My AE700 just turned one year, and last nite was the first time I noticed the dreaded flickering, on a menu screen...:(
It has about 670 hours on the lamp, all low mode, auto iris on, fed 720p via HDMI mostly (some TV via composite), and I make sure to turn off the main power after using it, so I've never had a VB issue. I have the 1.07 firmware, which fixed the WF problem, and until last nite, it has run beautifully. I don't think this is a mains related problem, we have 220 Volts in Sweden and in my apartment it is quite stable, no lights ever flicker, even when I turn on the oven or any other large appliance.
Now, the flickering didn't actually affect the movie (Godzilla, kinda dark), but it worries me nonetheless. Is there anything to be done? I haven't noticed any dimming (DVE calibrated), should I just wait for 1) my bulb to die or 2) the problem to go away?
What about running it in high mode for a while, does that actually help?
So, any help will be greatly appreciated :).
Running in high lamp mode for a while (sometimes 10 min, sometimes an hour or more) usually gets rid of it for a while--say 50hrs. There is no permenant fix, though.

My bulb flickered from about 50hrs onwards. It's now at 525hrs and though it hasn't dimmed that much I got the opportunity to get a new cheap(-ish) bulb and I've replaced it, keeping the flickering bulb as a back-up.

The new bulb hasn't flickered yet, but it's only at 10hrs.

Dave
dgkp is offline  
post #98 of 101 Old 01-02-2006, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Sandwedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am at about 900 hours now, and have noticed the "slow" flickering now as well, for say the last 50 hours. All my sources are componant, and they all do it. I have been in low bulb mode, ceiling mounted. It has also been powered on a dedicated circuit (well, the A/V built-in has it's own dedicated 20amp circuit with all the gear fed off of a furman line-conditioner strip). I shut the unit power off yesterday, and will see if that helps - I haven't done that for many months.

Optoma HD8200, Denon AVR-2309ci, PS3
Sandwedg is offline  
post #99 of 101 Old 01-02-2006, 11:46 PM
Newbie
 
mikaels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, thanks for your answers, guess I'll try the high lamp trick and see what it does...

/Mikael
--------------------------------------------------
- "Do you indulge in any form of worship?"
- "Life. I love life, very much indeed."
mikaels is offline  
post #100 of 101 Old 01-03-2006, 09:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Sandwedg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I said above, my PJ was turned off at the switch for most of a day, I watched a movie last night WITHOUT any brightness changes/flickering. I will keep testing.

Not sure how long the unit needs to be hard powered off/unplugged for to make a difference? A few seconds. minutes, hours?????

Optoma HD8200, Denon AVR-2309ci, PS3
Sandwedg is offline  
post #101 of 101 Old 01-03-2006, 03:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just an fyi

changed my bulb last night at 1330 hours

wow, what a huge difference, i can actually see it again! ;)

seemed to really start to fade around 1000 hours

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off