Can You Put a Projector on the Floor? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 18 Old 07-20-2005, 08:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to projectors and wanted to know if you could put a projector on the floor. I would put it on the ceiling but there is a fan there. I would like to put the projector just in front of the bed. Thankx :)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 07-20-2005, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member

It depends on the placement of your screen and the offset of your projector, and its distance from the screen. Some projectors, the NEC HT1000/11000, for example, have a very large offset. I have the NEC HT1000 installed on the lowest shelf of a table ( practically on the floor) and in 16:9 mode the bottom of the screen is approx. 17" up from the center of the lens. This is on a 92" wide screen with the PJ at 13.5 feet from the screen. I would have ceiling mounted it but the ceiling is too low.
post #3 of 18 Old 07-20-2005, 08:20 AM

You could, but you probably should have a least 9 feet between screen to projector. Depending on your projector, at 9 feet, the maximum size of your image would only be about 60", which may be too small (and bright).

A common size for front projectino is about 92" diagonal, which will be about 12-14 feet away from the screen (depending on projector).
post #4 of 18 Old 07-20-2005, 08:21 AM
IVO

Just in front of the bed?

Not a good idea. First potential problem is falling asleep while watching a movie and adding needless hours to the bulb. Second, how big is your room? Even short throw pj's need around 9 feet to project a decent size. Third, dust is a huge problem on the floor. Fourth, unless your projector exhausts it's hot air from the front you could have a fire hazard on your hands.

I would advise against it. But you're free to do whatever you like.
post #5 of 18 Old 07-20-2005, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member

Liked: 11
Quote: