The 2nd Official Infocus 4805 Thread. - Page 271 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8101 of 8123 Old 02-05-2011, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigsauce View Post

I did everything in my power to edit the description.

BS.

You could have written in the editable text of your ad:

"The eBay provided specifications printed above are erroneous. This projector is 854x480 resolution, not 1024x768. Sorry for the confusion."


"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8102 of 8123 Old 02-06-2011, 12:32 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigsauce View Post

I would have gladly given a refund if the person asked. I did everything in my power to edit the description. And for yer boyfriend to insult me about it is the most ludicrous and asinine (ps if yer gonna try to be a big boy and use big boy words try spelling it correctly, kthx) thing I've ever heard of on all of avs.

I was bumping it because people in this topic have broken 4805's. So yeah, one would think the people here would like to know about it. I could see how helping people could be irritating to someone like you. My bad.

For something I was going to throw away, I'll take the $96. But thanks for showing so much interest in me. I feel so special.

Yeah, a typographical error certainly trumps blatant fraud.

Maybe you can bump this thread when you sell the remaining 10% of your soul as well.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #8103 of 8123 Old 03-27-2011, 04:02 PM
Member
 
vgs86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Metrowest, MA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody tell me which adapter to by (and where from) so that I can use my existing M1DA cable in the ceiling when I upgrade my 4805 to any projector with HDMI input?

Thanks,
- Vikas
vgs86 is offline  
post #8104 of 8123 Old 03-27-2011, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by vgs86 View Post
Can somebody tell me which adapter to by (and where from) so that I can use my existing M1DA cable in the ceiling when I upgrade my 4805 to any projector with HDMI input?
See MONOPRICE. $4.75


"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #8105 of 8123 Old 05-09-2011, 07:27 AM
Member
 
hayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still having HDCP issues. Got a Xbox recently and went to watch Netflix and received a HDCP error. I'm using the M1 to HDMI adapter from monoprice with an HDCP compliant 9800GT and, of course, an sp4805.
hayj is offline  
post #8106 of 8123 Old 05-30-2011, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Jack Ferry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Can't believe I'm posting in this thread for the first time in years...

Anyway, I'm wondering if anyone ever had any success putting a non-spec lamp into the 4805 lamp housing. If so, what did you go with? I know this has been asked many times, but any other ideas for cheap bulbs?

My bulb blew yesterday (and when they blow, man they blow!), and I'm looking to see if there's a cheap way to replace it. The 4805 is my back up projector that spends most of its time in a box, but I'd still like to have it available for outdoor showings if I can do it without spending much. (The Epson 8100 handles most of the workload these days.)
Jack Ferry is offline  
post #8107 of 8123 Old 11-07-2011, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
acr12000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My color wheel just exploded. I've got two fresh bulbs and do not want to throw another 100+ at this thing. What would you guys do?
acr12000 is offline  
post #8108 of 8123 Old 11-07-2011, 01:43 PM
Member
 
Barrettmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Sell your bulbs to Jack?
Barrettmr is offline  
post #8109 of 8123 Old 11-07-2011, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
BHendershot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can still gets bulbs for this PJ? I upgraded a while ago but can't bring myself to dispose of the 4805, thinking my son might get some use out of it or to have two games on at once.
BHendershot is offline  
post #8110 of 8123 Old 05-30-2012, 07:49 AM
Senior Member
 
mym6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was playing Wii last night on my 4805 and out of the blue the image went out. Heard the PJ beep, took a look and the light at the lens appeared red, like it had it just been turned off. After a few seconds the projector fired up the lamp again and continued.

Pretty sure we didn't get any sort of power bump...but has anyone seen this on their 4805 before?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 - Make your mac context and location sensitive!

mym6 is offline  
post #8111 of 8123 Old 12-17-2012, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
booker21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Argentina, Buenos Aires
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i`m not from US and i was wondering if this cable will work on the projector?

I keep reading that infocus use a M1 cable, but the connector looks like a DVI. Not sure if there is any special or a regular DVI would work.

here is the cable i`m talking about. I can`t find in my country a "M1" cable at all.

Other option is to use the VGA but i want to keep it digital.

http://articulo.mercadolibre.com.ar/MLA-440805359-cable-dvi-hdmi-1080-contactos-dorados-con-filtro-3-metros-_JM

The description is in Spanish but you will get the idea.

Anyone Knows?
booker21 is offline  
post #8112 of 8123 Old 12-17-2012, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by booker21 View Post

I keep reading that infocus use a M1 cable, but the connector looks like a DVI. Not sure if there is any special or a regular DVI would work
You need an M1DA - a DVI connector is .not. the same!!

Order one directly from Infocus. Mono price has them as we'll.

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #8113 of 8123 Old 12-17-2012, 07:51 PM
Member
 
hayj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hayj is offline  
post #8114 of 8123 Old 12-18-2012, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Now What's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So my projector finally bit the dust the other night. Family members were watching Day and Knight, so I am blaming Tom Cruise for killing it. They said it made a pop sound and then sounded like a hamster fell off his wheel. I opened it up last night to see what had happened and it looks like my color wheel had broken.

Now I am in need of replacing it and my main question is in all the threads of people asking for an upgrade, no one is recommending Infocus. Is there a reason for this? Also a lot of people are recommending Epson, when I purchased my 4805 I looked at the Epson of back then and couldn't stand the screen door effect. Has this gotten better?

I was looking to replace the bulb soon, and not the entire projector, so I don’t have much of a budget for a new one. If I could find something for $500 or less that would be great. We mostly use it for movies, but it would be nice to hook up the x-box as well.

Thank you,

Mike

Research has proven to cause cancer in laboratory animals.
Now What is offline  
post #8115 of 8123 Old 12-18-2012, 10:46 AM
Senior Member
 
esdwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavu View Post

You need an M1DA - a DVI connector is .not. the same!!
Order one directly from Infocus. Mono price has them as we'll.

Throughout the years of using Infocus with bizarre M1 connector, I broke at least two HDMI cables using M1 to HDMI adapter. This was because flimsy HDMI plug is usually not sturdy enough to hold heavy cord and it breaks in time. Best thing I did so far was to use two items: M1 to DVI adapter screwed right into the projector and DVI to HDMI cable screwed tight with adapter. Such combination is hard to be broken. Highly recommended. Cheers!
esdwa is offline  
post #8116 of 8123 Old 01-13-2013, 07:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Cataphract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia, US
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My bulb has gotten too dim and needs replacement after about 3000 hours. Way to go Infocus!! (I mean this in the most positive way possible) smile.gif

I checked online and there are so many vendors selling "OEM Equivalent" or "OEM Compatible" bulbs for about $ 90-100. The OEM bulb can be had for about $ 160-180. My question is if anyone has had any luck with these non-OEM, but compatible bulbs?

I would rather only spend $ 90 on this Pj now so it gets me another 6-12 months while I decide on my next PJ. I have fixed the light tunnel once and it is also rearing it's ugly head one more time.

I see a lot of these lamp vendors on ebay. If anyone knows a reputed place offering decently priced lamps for 4805, please let me know.
Cataphract is offline  
post #8117 of 8123 Old 09-07-2013, 05:23 PM
Newbie
 
rgdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i replaced mine a few years ago and it appears to be working fine. Recently, however, ive noticed some distortion on the right side of my screen. Its in the same spot regardless of whether i use the ceiling/rear mode or not. It comes on immediately so its not a heat issue. Its there regardless of input..ive attached a few pics. if anyone has seen this before or has any diy suggestions please let me know. Ive thoroughly cleaned the unit as well..
distortion small pic.JPG 41k .JPG file distortion 2 small pic.JPG 49k .JPG file
rgdw is offline  
post #8118 of 8123 Old 09-08-2013, 07:34 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgdw View Post

i replaced mine a few years ago and it appears to be working fine. Recently, however, ive noticed some distortion on the right side of my screen. Its in the same spot regardless of whether i use the ceiling/rear mode or not. It comes on immediately so its not a heat issue. Its there regardless of input..ive attached a few pics. if anyone has seen this before or has any diy suggestions please let me know. Ive thoroughly cleaned the unit as well..
distortion small pic.JPG 41k .JPG file distortion 2 small pic.JPG 49k .JPG file

It's the light tunnel issue and it's mentioned countless times here, as well as how to fix it.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #8119 of 8123 Old 09-08-2013, 03:48 PM
Newbie
 
rgdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Langley BC
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Spyder. I'll try and find the solution...much appreciated
rgdw is offline  
post #8120 of 8123 Old 10-05-2013, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
booker21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Argentina, Buenos Aires
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Will this work?

I'm outside from us so I need to buy it from ebay. would this accept 720 signals or only native signals?

Also i`m looking at my lamp usage and i`m seeing only 703 hours. I`m not sure if i updated the firmware or something so my question is what could cause my lampt usage to reset. Only 703hs of use seems low to me.
I never selected a Reset lamp usage or anything else. any thoughts?


6ft 28AWG HDMI® to M1-D (P&D) Cable - Black

http://www.ebay.com/itm/6ft-28AWG-HDMI-to-M1-D-P-D-Cable-Black-/120883133716?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item1c25323d14
booker21 is offline  
post #8121 of 8123 Old 05-01-2014, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Nicholas-Athens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello! I see it's been some time since someone posted for the last time here, I hope someone notices my post! I have an Infocus 4805, the lamp is about 10 years old but below its life-time. Lately, on the far right side of the screen I notice a yellow shaded vertical zone, on a 100" screen this zone is around 5-10 inches wide. It is yellowish but rather blackens the far right side of the image. Took the lamp off and gave it a good clean, no improvement whatsoever, obviously it has nothing to do with the lamp but either the lens or the color-wheel. Any idea anyone what's happening? The zone seemed it started at a couple of inches wide, it has almost tripled but then remained at this size, didn't grow wider. The problem is the 4805 is ceiling-mounted and it's quite a trouble to get up there and start unscrewing etc without having a clue what to look for. Any advice would be highly appreciated! Thanks!

Nicholas-Athens is offline  
post #8122 of 8123 Old 05-01-2014, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do a search for "light tunnel" in this thread.

There is a mirrored square tunnel that the light passes through. The glue that holds it together is degrading and affecting your image.
Nicholas-Athens likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Elfman is offline  
post #8123 of 8123 Old 05-01-2014, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
Nicholas-Athens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Much obliged Elfman, many thanks!

Nicholas

Nicholas-Athens is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Infocus Screenplay Projector Sp4805
Gear in this thread - Sp4805 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off