The 2nd Official Infocus 4805 Thread. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Here is a LINK to the old thread.

Alright gang, everything directly related to the 4805 goes in this new thread. All other 4805 threads will be deleted.

I will leave open threads that compare the 4805 to other projectors.

Carry on...

EDIT: Please check out The Unofficial Infocus ScreenPlay 4805 FAQ by Ja Phule.

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 05:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanC-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 908
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kysersose View Post

Here is a LINK to the old thread.

Alright gang, everything 4805 related goes in this new thread. All other 4805 threads will be deleted.

Carry on...

Wow, I get first post in the new thread. A historical moment .


P4 HTPC, Infocus 4805, nVidia GeForce 6800 pixel mapped, Theater Tek 2.2, Bluegears X-Mystique 7.1 Soundcard, HK AVR-55 A/V receiver.
DanC-P is offline  
post #3 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scooterboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Kingston, NH USA
Posts: 1,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you also going to change the title of the original thread?

Apparently, there can be only two.


"If you're not passing anyone, get the hell out of the passing lane!"
scooterboy is offline  
post #4 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,500
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:


Apparently, there can be only two

There can only be one................................. at a time.

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
post #5 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwv651's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Castle Rock, CO
Posts: 5,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the 4805 put out a ton of heat...with a ceiling mount a couple of inches from the ceiling is this going to be a problem being that the heat comes from the sides of the 4805...am I looking at a problem here...I only have a 7 foot ceiling...and the 4805 will be 14 feet from the screen. Thanks

Joe V.
jwv651 is offline  
post #6 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man, and I was hoping to be the first post in the 600th page of the old thread...oh well...dream on.

Don't forget to subscribe to this thread if not done so automatically.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #7 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ja Phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas, TX (Formerly Austin)
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwv651 View Post

Does the 4805 put out a ton of heat...with a ceiling mount a couple of inches from the ceiling is this going to be a problem being that the heat comes from the sides of the 4805...am I looking at a problem here...I only have a 7 foot ceiling...and the 4805 will be 14 feet from the screen. Thanks

There is some heat coming out of the 4805 but I don't think it's enough to be a fire hazard (I don't think the projector would even be able to be sold if it was).

But in my own way, I am King. Hail to the King, baby.

My Networked Media/Music/DVD Server
Ja Phule is offline  
post #8 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ja Phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas, TX (Formerly Austin)
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about linking the FAQ in the first thread?

But in my own way, I am King. Hail to the King, baby.

My Networked Media/Music/DVD Server
Ja Phule is offline  
post #9 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 07:06 AM
Member
 
little_blaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a first-time projector owner that jumped on the refurb 4805 deal last week, but I've been following the forum and contemplating a purchase for a long time. I just got the projector yesterday and hooked it up to my laptop for a simple test. Some information first:

1) The unit appears to be like-new. No visible signs of usage. Menu shows 0 hours on the lamp.
2) Firmware revision is 1.1.3
3) The laptop screen resolution is 800x600, connected via the enclosed VGA-to-M1 cable.

I just projected the image to a wall for the first checkout, but even so I was wowed by the clarity and vividness of the picture. However I did notice one problem: The right 1/3 of the screen shows a slight image distortion. The best I can describe it is as rising smoke or rolling clouds, moving from the bottom to the top of the screen. It is faint but noticeable to me, my wife didn't see it at all until I spend a couple of minutes pointing it out to her. Am I experiencing this (from the FAQ):

Quote:


7.07. I'm noticing a slight pulsing in my picture, what is wrong?

Not to be confused with lamp flicker, for more information on lamp flicker, click here:


There seems to be an issue with the 1.13 and 1.21 firmwares on the 4805. Every now and then while watching on the 4805, there will be some slight strobe-like pulsings in the picture, some people notice it more than others and it seems to vary on anything that you watch, and is most noticeable in darker scenes.

The only solution to get rid of this issue is to revert to the original firmware that you can download here:
1.02 Firmware

InFocus is aware of this problem and is working hard to fix this. There seems to be a fix for this and is going internal testing as we speak Hopefully it will be available in its next firmware update.

If this is something that can be fixed with an upcoming firmware upgrade, I'll hang on the the 4805, otherwise I'll try to send it back for a replacement.

Thanks!
little_blaine is offline  
post #10 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ja Phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas, TX (Formerly Austin)
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
little_blain,
Sounds like you may have either a ground loop problem or a heat problem. It isn't sound like the "pulsing" problem discussed in the FAQ. Try a search for "ground loop" in the forum.

Do you see the image distortion on a blank screen (Press the blank button on the remote)? Have you tried any other sources other than your laptop? Could the distortion be coming from some of the heat out of the front of the 4805?

But in my own way, I am King. Hail to the King, baby.

My Networked Media/Music/DVD Server
Ja Phule is offline  
post #11 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quick question about my 4805. I've started noticing that the screen is "blinking" on bright scenes (or if I just view the white background. It's more of a constant shimmer/flicker visible during only bright scenes. Is this a product of the screen or the projector? It's a year old, has about 320 hours on it. The screen is painted Silverscreen by Behr. Thanks for any help.

edit: just read the faq about flicker. Mine occurs even after an hour of usage. I will try the method of putting the unit on high for awhile to see if that corrects it. I'm hoping it will, as this issue is really annoying on bright movies.
skyehill is offline  
post #12 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 599
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Blaine

Do you have the pj sitting on a table? If so that distortion you are seeing is caused by the heat of bulb passing in front of the lens. If it looks kind of wavy, like something you'd see on a long straight road on a hot day, then it is the heat.
It is usually really noticible in bright white scenes correct?

The fact that it moves from the bottom to the top is consistent with heat waves as we all know heat rises.

Wife factor? Hell, my electronics keep me warm at night.
Gushy is offline  
post #13 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any updates on a new firmware for the 4805?

BTW - does anyone know what bug fixes, features/enhancements will be available in a future firmware?

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #14 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 08:56 AM
Member
 
little_blaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Totowa, NJ
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies everyone, it sounds like my problem is from the heat rising in front of the lens (Gushy yes it is on a table and noticeable on bright scenes). I'll experiment some more tonight to confirm. What's the best way to deal with it, given that the PJ has to be on a table for a while until I can get a proper HT setup?
little_blaine is offline  
post #15 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
skyehill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4,980
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 47
OK, I bumped up to high power and the flickering appears to have gone away, but now I noticed on the white screen that there appears to be "fumes", if that makes sense, like smoke on the right hand side of the screen on the bright white screen.
skyehill is offline  
post #16 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ja Phule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas, TX (Formerly Austin)
Posts: 7,046
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

any updates on a new firmware for the 4805?

BTW - does anyone know what bug fixes, features/enhancements will be available in a future firmware?

Bob Wiliams (infocus engineer) mentioned they were testing out a firmware that supposedly fixes the "pulsing" issue. No mention of when it will be released. The September firmware update was finished many months in advance before finally being released, so I imagine it could take a few months for another firmware that fixes the pulsing issue to be released. We can always hope.

But in my own way, I am King. Hail to the King, baby.

My Networked Media/Music/DVD Server
Ja Phule is offline  
post #17 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
boukante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The clouds you are seeing are caused by the heat from the bulb. There is a density difference between the hot air from the bulb and the cooler air of the room as they mix. This same phenomena can be observed when you pour two liquids together, i.e. fresh water and very salty water.

The name for the lines are often refered to as "Schlieren" lines. Do a search for Schlieren Photography to get more detailed explaination of what is causing the lines. (I'd include a link, but I haven't done my 5 posts yet.

Jeff

Now I have 5 posts! Schileren Photography
boukante is offline  
post #18 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 10:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just renewing my subscription

Carry on.
Elfman is offline  
post #19 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Alex solomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elfman View Post

Just renewing my subscription

Carry on.

There ia an easier way to do this. From drop down menu, thread tools, click the option to subscribe.

I want to hear opinions from people who don't have a dog in the fight.
Alex solomon is offline  
post #20 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 11:07 AM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Damn, I wanted to see just how big the original thread was going to get. Guess I'll just have to add up the two different ones now to get the grand total.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #21 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 11:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Elfman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lake Stevens, WA
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex solomon View Post

There ia an easier way to do this. From drop down menu, thread tools, click the option to subscribe.

Thanks for the tip, but I was already aware of that.

Just wanted to add to my post count.

I mean I am still a 4805 owner so I'll make it on topic I guess.

Umm... 600 hours and still going strong.
Elfman is offline  
post #22 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Mako PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone using a Xbox 360 on the 4805 yet? Curious to know what differences you see from the Xbox1 to the Xbox360, and how the 4805 does in displaying the 360. Very pleased by the 4805 but wondering if I need to upgrade soon.
Mako PJ is offline  
post #23 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 11:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Cataphract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia, US
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you guys make any adjustments to the Chroma and Luma Detail settings in the menu? I currently have both of them at 5, the default was 0, I think.

I have done the calibration using DVE and was wondering if those 2 need to be tweaked. Are there any patterns in DVE to calibrate these 2 settings.

I also have the 'Color Space' setting at Auto, is that the recommended setting?
Cataphract is offline  
post #24 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
nduda78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use my 4805 with my 360. I run it at 720p. I am new to the world of projectors, this is my first , just got it about 4 weeks ago. I know im not at true 720p res, but i can tell a difference over 480i/p for sure....I myself, am trying to find an article about how good the 4805 and 360 really are together....anyways, here are a few real bad pictures of the 4805 running Perfect Dark Zero on the 360.

blah since I am new, first post i cant post urls...i need 5 posts GRRRRR
nduda78 is offline  
post #25 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 12:32 PM
Member
 
swift535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how's the 4805 do when sitting closer to the image?

i'd like to project at least a 70" image or so, but one of the couches is only a couple feet from the image - maybe 2-3 feet at the close end and 6ft at the far end.

i've heard about some SDE problems from reading around, so how bad is it?
swift535 is offline  
post #26 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 12:41 PM
Member
 
Russ D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received my Refurb 4805 yesterday and it was in great shape and for what I know (1st PJ) working great too. It is a great picture... but I think what I'm most excited about is the Fact that I Did Not buy a Plasma! I was so close and this deal, of which we don't mention, came along... How sweet it is.

There is one Small issue that someone may know about...
I'm attributing it to my VCR or Composite cable. When I play my VCR through the composite in of the 4805 there is a small 1/4" line across the bottom of the picture that is distortion of some kind. I rarely play my VCR and I don't think it's the 4805... But if someone might know what it is...?

Thanks,
RD
Russ D is offline  
post #27 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Quaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


swift535

how's the 4805 do when sitting closer to the image?

i'd like to project at least a 70" image or so, but one of the couches is only a couple feet from the image - maybe 2-3 feet at the close end and 6ft at the far end.

i've heard about some SDE problems from reading around, so how bad is it?

The recommended seating is a distance away equal to 2x the image width. Some people are less sensitive to the SDE and sit at 1.5x with no complaints. For a 70" screen this means starting your seating at around 6' rather than ending there. If those seating distances are set in stone, you should possibly look into 1080p and a second mortgage

The only way for you to make a decision concerning SDE (or RBE for that matter), is to view it for yourself. No amount of forum advice will equal a personal viewing. See if there is an Audio Video store in your area, preferably a higher end store with dedicated light controlled rooms. The 4805 will be the bottom end products of a store appropriate for screening IME. If you find the 4805 at future shop or best buy or costco or the like, it will probably be their higher end and they will have terribly viewing conditions.
Quaid is offline  
post #28 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chasw98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Margate, FL
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ D View Post

I received my Refurb 4805 yesterday and it was in great shape and for what I know (1st PJ) working great too. It is a great picture... but I think what I'm most excited about is the Fact that I Did Not buy a Plasma! I was so close and this deal, of which we don't mention, came along... How sweet it is.

There is one Small issue that someone may know about...
I'm attributing it to my VCR or Composite cable. When I play my VCR through the composite in of the 4805 there is a small 1/4" line across the bottom of the picture that is distortion of some kind. I rarely play my VCR and I don't think it's the 4805... But if someone might know what it is...?

Thanks,
RD

Ja Phule will know for sure, but I believe if you hit the overscan button on the 4805 remote it will clear up the line. I have never experienced it but I have seen it mentioned before in the TRUE "there can be only one" 4805 thread.

Chuck
chasw98 is offline  
post #29 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 01:37 PM
Member
 
Mako PJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nduda78 View Post

I use my 4805 with my 360. I run it at 720p. I am new to the world of projectors, this is my first , just got it about 4 weeks ago. I know im not at true 720p res, but i can tell a difference over 480i/p for sure....I myself, am trying to find an article about how good the 4805 and 360 really are together....anyways, here are a few real bad pictures of the 4805 running Perfect Dark Zero on the 360.

blah since I am new, first post i cant post urls...i need 5 posts GRRRRR

Well, if you can some pics later that would be great. I am pleased with watching HDTV on my 4805 just wondering if you get that type of picture. If you can tell the difference between 480p and 720p source via Xbox and 360 that is cool for me to hear. If anyone else has input on this issue or can post pics, I would appreciate it. Right now, I am in wait mode over getting a 360 or PS3.

One other question, does anyone know if it will be possible to view Blu-Ray via component, right now I am watching via component thru a component switchbox??
Mako PJ is offline  
post #30 of 8123 Old 11-30-2005, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Bobby_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, I know this has been beaten to death but I am upgrading from my X1 (1st gen. with Faroudja) to either the SP 4805 or the 5000 and I am having a very difficult time deciding. Im hoping if I provide some info you all can help me decide.

theater room is dedicated, basement 0 ambient light.

screen is 92" 16:9 1.0 gain

PJ distance is approx 14 feet from the screen

min. seating is 12 feet from screen.

I watch mostly DVD's occasionaly play PS2 and will be adding HD satellite soon.

I have researched the 4805 extensivly, but because of recent price drops, I have to at least consider the 5000, right? . Is the 4805's DVD capability so much better than the 5000 that it is a big issue? Will the LCD produce less SD effect at 12 feet than the 4805? Isn't the fan in the 5000 much quieter? I like the idea of having 720p and 1080 native res. with the 5000...


please help me decide!
Bobby_K is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Infocus Screenplay Projector Sp4805
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off