InFocus 4805 (854x480) and Vinc. Bravo D1 Specific Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterboy View Post

Please report back on this, since I ordered the same drive from the same place.

I will but I'm not going to do it for a few days. I'm hyped though about the free PowerDVD Software(it's regularly $50). I'm sure the drive will work though. I'm going to stick with the firmware thats in it I'm sure it the latest-Manufacture date Feb/06.

PS:MOUW what do you think?
rrhomes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 01:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I went back to the CLUBIT website to look at my order, and I ordered a 16P9S/V. They just think we want the cheapest DVD drive they have and would never notice the difference. But I am thrilled over the PowerDVD 6 Software. As free DVD software Front-ends leave something to be desired. If PowerDVD 6 has Blanking I'll jump for joy. It better not be a trial version, doesn't say that on the CD says OEM not for resale. I haven't loaded it yet.
rrhomes is offline  
post #273 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhomes View Post

I went back to the CLUBIT website to look at my order, and I ordered a 16P9S/V. They just think we want the cheapest DVD drive they have and would never notice the difference. But I am thrilled over the PowerDVD 6 Software. As free DVD software Front-ends leave something to be desired. If PowerDVD 6 has Blanking I'll jump for joy. It better not be a trial version, doesn't say that on the CD says OEM not for resale. I haven't loaded it yet.

So, are you saying they sent you something inferior?

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #274 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 01:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No thats not what I'm saying, just the mind set of companies think we don't know what we are ordering and that we just want a drive to go into a PC.

I called Lite-On blazing fast custormer service(15 seconds to a tech), they said it's a brand new drive just put out, with the same spec's as the 167T/16P9S but has a different firmware. I bet it works we all just need to make sure the region gets set in the PC as it won't work right with out that being done as we've heard. I'm 99% sure it will work.
rrhomes is offline  
post #275 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhomes View Post

No thats not what I'm saying, just the mind set of companies think we don't know what we are ordering and that we just want a drive to go into a PC.

I called Lite-On blazing fast custormer service(15 seconds to a tech), they said it's a brand new drive just put out, with the same spec's as the 167T/16P9S but has a different firmware. I bet it works we all just need to make sure the region gets set in the PC as it won't work right with out that being done as we've heard. I'm 99% sure it will work.

I guess their website is not as blazing fast since there is no firmware listed for that model:
http://www.liteonit.com.tw/ODD/Engli...re_dvd-rom.asp

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #276 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nope, but fine with me as I'm sure it's got the latest firmware on it. PowerDVD does not use ffdshow there for it is usless to me. TheaterTrek here I come but your to damn expensive. Creative Media Sorce player uses ffdshow but I guess it won't play DVD's can anybody else tell me if Creative Media sorce will play DVD's on their PC. Window media Doesn't play DVD's either right?
rrhomes is offline  
post #277 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Capo Beach
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
as i said in a Reply PM last week to rrhomes
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouw View Post

ad mentions 166s 167T & 16P9S
these are 3 different model LiteOn Drives

Itanzil did some eXtensive mods for Santodx5 on his Momitsu V880DX
see the The Ultimate Momitsu 880 Modifications thread

there Itanzil says he likes the 166s (167T is same) LiteOn better
because 16P9S is powered by Sony chip, not as good.....
(but i can't see any difference) maybe try getting a Black unit....
so when it sticks out it's tongue it's not Beige

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhomes View Post

his is it right? http://www.clubit.com/product_detail...emno=CA1546927

Looks like the FirmWare i found from CodeGuys for Quite operation (site down now)
here is the LiteOn 167T FW Quite_Normal iam now using (upLoad from my site)
CodeGuys say they take the Original FW and Patch it for Quieter operation
ie. they SLOW down the Drive for PlayBack of Video at 1X (seems to work OK)
Mouw is offline  
post #278 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lite-On tech said no way to the Sony chip in the 16P9S, but he also didn't know what drive I had until I insisted what it was - then he found it in the new drives section of his tech software, so who knows. Boy I sure am hesitant to flash my drive with the above software My drive is SHD-16P1S. Mouw do you think I could set the drive to 1x on the PC before I pull it back out?



Quote:


ad mentions 166s 167T & 16P9S
these are 3 different model LiteOn Drives


check the link now theres 4 with the SHD-16P1S included thats good news.
rrhomes is offline  
post #279 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like the 167T has twice as much bufer (512) but does not have the belt loading which the others do. Makes any difference?

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #280 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
for our purposes I think the belt is better(quieter) and the buffer won't matter on MPEG2 playback.
rrhomes is offline  
post #281 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhomes View Post

for our purposes I think the belt is better(quieter) and the buffer won't matter on MPEG2 playback.

Yes, I would agree. So now to get a codeguys FW to work on this model.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #282 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How are your guys upgrading firmware & where from. I have a Lite-On XJ-HD166S sitting around that I'd like to upgrade, just in case I need to put it in the D1 someday!

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
post #283 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

Yes, I would agree. So now to get a codeguys FW to work on this model.

That one may/may not work. Let me know how that go's.
rrhomes is offline  
post #284 of 2689 Old 04-04-2006, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Did you get your drive Tradewinds, what model #.
rrhomes is offline  
post #285 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 01:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Should be here on the 7th. I'll let you know.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #286 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeerHunter View Post

How are your guys upgrading firmware & where from. I have a Lite-On XJ-HD166S sitting around that I'd like to upgrade, just in case I need to put it in the D1 someday!

bump.

Ahhh......nevermind. Went back a page or two. So, what firmware should I use with my Lite-On XJ-HD166S?

MOUW,

You mentioned the 166s being the same as the 167t correct? Can the 167t firmware be used on the 166s?

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
post #287 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Capo Beach
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DeerHunter....
well the CodeGuys FirmWare page seems to be up NOW
so if it were me i would use the Slow-n-QUIET 166s FW
Mouw is offline  
post #288 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those that have the SHD - 16P1S, since the original firmware is not posted on LiteOn's site, I guess we cannot use Omnipatcher to make it quiet.

I wonder if SHD - 16P1S is just a rebadged name.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #289 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 10:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mouw View Post

DeerHunter....
well the CodeGuys FirmWare page seems to be up NOW
so if it were me i would use the Slow-n-QUIET 166s FW

Already ahead of ya! Noticed the site was up & running this morning so I downloaded the one you mentioned! Also downloaded a program to unpack the firmware, reflashed the 166, and just completed the install in the D1. Total time took me about 2 hours with the download and the modification to the actual drive tray..ie., shaving off a little plastic here & there and a hair off the D1's faceplate to make it fit the Lite-On like a glove. By looking at the face of the D1 you'd never be able to tell that anything has changed. Nice clean flush mount when the tray is closed. The only thing that is different is the fact that the tray is beige when open, but who the hell cares!

I just gave it a test run, and it worked flawlessly. Every disc I threw in loaded fine not to mention a hell of alot quicker than the FUSS, & chapter skips were lightning quick. I'm one happy owner of a "FUSS-free D1!!!" I really didn't have any problems with the origional FUSS loader with the exception of some pixelation when it loaded "Finding Nemo" one time, but a re-load took care of it.

But now, with the Lite-On I can rest easy knowing that any DVD I put in is going work, and I can avoid the potential embarassment when the D1 has a brain-fart while I have guests over, as it probably would have with the origional FUSS loader.

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
post #290 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DeerHunter, that's great. Can you post some pics of how the finish product looks, some up-closes would be great since I will be doing the same mod. Thank man!

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #291 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 10:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

DeerHunter, that's great. Can you post some pics of how the finish product looks, some up-closes would be great since I will be doing the same mod. Thank man!

I don't have a site to host the pics, but if you pm me your email, I'll snap a few shots and send 'em to you...and anyone else!

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
post #292 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeerHunter View Post

I don't have a site to host the pics, but if you pm me your email, I'll snap a few shots and send 'em to you...and anyone else!

Yes, I can do that but you can also attach them here on the forum. Use Post Reply or Quote buttons.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #293 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 11:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
rrhomes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds View Post

For those that have the SHD - 16P1S, since the original firmware is not posted on LiteOn's site, I guess we cannot use Omnipatcher to make it quiet.

I wonder if SHD - 16P1S is just a rebadged name.

Maybe not but I am aware of some drives that let you set the speed on your pc. I don't know if it keeps that setting when you pull it out of your PC though. Even so it's going to be quieter than the FUSS loader as it makes a constant spin whine you can hear from 10 feet away. If our new drives spin at a low speed, it doesn't have to be 1x as long as it not 32x, but at a 8x or below it will be very quiet.
rrhomes is offline  
post #294 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alex solomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeerHunter View Post

I don't have a site to host the pics, but if you pm me your email, I'll snap a few shots and send 'em to you...and anyone else!

You did a good job. I am not as handy as you are but I will try the load swap.

I want to hear opinions from people who don't have a dog in the fight.
Alex solomon is offline  
post #295 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alex solomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this OK to swap this for the Fuss in D1?

I want to hear opinions from people who don't have a dog in the fight.
Alex solomon is offline  
post #296 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cavu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CANADA
Posts: 6,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex solomon View Post

Is this OK to swap this for the Fuss in D1?

The EPO DP-306 Loader is the correct "form factor" replacement for the Fuss unit and is available from Vizio for about $30+$7 shipping.

Any other type of loader is a true "mod" which requires velcro, shims, cutting, scraping, etc. A different loader may in fact have faster access times, bigger buffers, etc., but is unlikely to change the PQ one iota. Also, different loaders may not be able to boot ISO firmware CDs.

Caveat Emptor

"The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance  it is the illusion of knowledge." - Daniel Boorstin
"Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter.
" - MLK

cavu is offline  
post #297 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tradewinds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,060
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex solomon View Post

Is this OK to swap this for the Fuss in D1?

That one appears to be the model just before the SHD - 16P1S. Also, CodeGuys has the stock firmware patched with (user-selectable DVD read speeds (includes stock version)). Not sure this makes any difference for use it the Bravo since you cannot control the speed in the D1.

===================================
My Riser | My LED Star Ceiling | My HTPC Build
tradewinds is offline  
post #298 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=cavu]The [url=http://...Also, different loaders may not be able to boot ISO firmware CDs.

Caveat Emptor [/QUOTE]

Yes, that may be true, but if you already have the latest firmware in your D1, I honestly can't see the need for loading any ISO image files (new firmware), as it's almost 100% sure that VIZIO won't be releasing any new firmware for the D1. Load the latest firmware w/ the FUSS , then do the swap.

If for some strange reason you'd need to reflash the firmware, it's simply a matter of hooking up the old FUSS loader and reflashing.

I only did the swap from a reliability standpoint. It makes me feel 110% more confident with my D1 knowing that when I place a DVD in the unit, it's going to play without any hiccups!

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
post #299 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Alex solomon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you all for your input. When I first bought this player my understanding was the cap mod will eliminate all problems. Not so. My Bravo D1 is very picky about the disks it wants to play. Most DVD-R disks that I have that play with my Oppo without a single incident will not play with the Bravo D1. I really hate taking a chance with another mod. Maybe I will buy a cheap DVI switcher from monoprice or markteker and use the Oppo for DVD-R &+R disks that Bravo D1 would not play.

I want to hear opinions from people who don't have a dog in the fight.
Alex solomon is offline  
post #300 of 2689 Old 04-05-2006, 01:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeerHunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Wallingford, VT.
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm gonna keep a running tab on the # of dvd's I watch with or without failure with the new drive, and will report back on occasion.

Tonights the first..."Walk The Line."

"So, you measure your TV in inches eh? That's cute. Mine...over 7.5 FEET!!!"

Click Here To See My Home Theater
DeerHunter is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off