Infocus IN72 Specific Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
scitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys, I'm looking to purchase a new screen, something in the 92-100 inch range. What meshes best with the IN72?
scitek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
jpniner,

Don't know if it's the HDMI cable or the DVD player, but upgrading from a Zenith DVB318 using component vs. Oppo 970 HDMI, both set to 1080i, the Oppo has no issues at all with dark scenes. Color seems to be richer and less artifact in an all digital format.
dragonbud0 is offline  
post #633 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Nick Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by krasmuzik View Post

Or they just leave the stupid lettering off...then the case can be read upside down and upside right!

http://www.infocus.com/Products/Projectors/IN78.aspx


I'm digging the flat black, and I'm guessing it would fit right onto the IN72. Actually...I guess a can of flat black paint would be much cheaper
Nick Smith is offline  
post #634 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
or a satin finish to match the pj?

scitek, the general consensus ( with some exceptions of course) is that 92" is the sweet spot for the IN72 and formerly the 4805. I use the DaLite HCCV screen and it works beautifully and is also perhaps the top choice in general.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #635 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 11:12 AM
 
NineDayFall75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Habra, California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone seen the Optoma Panoview matte white DS-9092PM 92" 16:9 screen, or the Infocus SC-WSPD-92 92" matte white screen? I can probably get one of these for $50-$75 shipped, are they worth it?
NineDayFall75 is offline  
post #636 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 11:21 AM
 
NineDayFall75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Habra, California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or does anyone know about the fixed screens at fotodiox.com? This is the screen, are these crappy?

http://www.fotodiox.com/shop/product...oducts_id=4069
NineDayFall75 is offline  
post #637 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm switching DVD players this week and I'm going to HDMI. I'm about to try an HDMI to DVI to M1 adapter from my cable box to pj and compare it to my current component cables. I wonder if there's anything special I need to do from the cable box.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #638 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dragonbud0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
scitek,

Same here; I bought my HCCV 92" screen from avs in 2002 with a DIY frame using pine from Home Depot painted black.
dragonbud0 is offline  
post #639 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 03:25 PM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineDayFall75 View Post

Or does anyone know about the fixed screens at fotodiox.com? This is the screen, are these crappy?

http://www.fotodiox.com/shop/product...oducts_id=4069

JustOveraWeekPlummet,

Why not just build yourself a screen? The DIY Forum has a ton of ideas that are extremely inexpensive and highly recommended after many have been kind enough to be lab-rats for the rest of us.

Personally, I wouldn't own a pull-down screen, regardless of quality, as they just look too cheap/lazy for me. A fixed screen has a real professional look to it. You can make a very good fixed screen for under $50, selecting from a plethora of materials more suited to your own personal tastes. You can easily do the whole project in under an hour or two with basic household tools.

Just a thought.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #640 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 03:54 PM
 
NineDayFall75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Habra, California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder696969 View Post

JustOveraWeekPlummet,

Why not just build yourself a screen? The DIY Forum has a ton of ideas that are extremely inexpensive and highly recommended after many have been kind enough to be lab-rats for the rest of us.

Personally, I wouldn't own a pull-down screen, regardless of quality, as they just look too cheap/lazy for me. A fixed screen has a real professional look to it. You can make a very good fixed screen for under $50, selecting from a plethora of materials more suited to your own personal tastes. You can easily do the whole project in under an hour or two with basic household tools.

Just a thought.


The one I was referring to, was a fixed screen. I guess it's the sceen material with a 1 1/2 inch border. For me it's more a matter of convenience lol. I have 3 kids and I work a lot. I just wanted to buy something inexpensive and pre-fabricated. I would be willing to paint the screen on to the wall, but I don't know of any inexpensive way, or which "mix" to use.
NineDayFall75 is offline  
post #641 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 04:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The least expensive way to get a better screen with the fewest hassles in my opinion is to buy the screen material (try Jason here at AVS) and get a frame from an art supply discounter that snaps together, spray paint the frame black, velcro or staple and voila! a high end, low budget killer screen. If spray paint's too agravating, buy a few extra inches of screen material, and wrap it aound. You can simply hang it like it's a picture frame with a couple of ooks.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #642 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 04:21 PM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Fall,

One of the easiest things to do is just get a Do-Able board at Home Depot and hang it. Done. $15 and 10 minutes, tops.*

*Unless, of course, you want to spend some time and do the border, etc for a more professional look.
spyder696969 is offline  
post #643 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 04:26 PM
 
NineDayFall75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Habra, California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyder696969 View Post

Fall,

One of the easiest things to do is just get a Do-Able board at Home Depot and hang it. Done. $15 and 10 minutes, tops.*

*Unless, of course, you want to spend some time and do the border, etc for a more professional look.


Cool, thanks to both of you. I went to a Home Depot and asked about the Do-Able board and the guy looked at me like I was crazy, he knew nothing about them. Where in Home Depot are they (section)?
NineDayFall75 is offline  
post #644 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 04:49 PM
Member
 
mellowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineDayFall75 View Post

Cool, thanks to both of you. I went to a Home Depot and asked about the Do-Able board and the guy looked at me like I was crazy, he knew nothing about them. Where in Home Depot are they (section)?

Towards the end of the isle with the moldings and windows, which is usually the isle next to lumber. Remember you're looking for a huge white sheet. Price is more like $20 + tax around here (southern Cali).

You could also ask for polywall, i think Do-Able is just the name of the distributer. Don't expect any ambient light rejection with this though.
mellowman is offline  
post #645 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 05:22 PM
 
NineDayFall75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: La Habra, California
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellowman View Post

Towards the end of the isle with the moldings and windows, which is usually the isle next to lumber. Remember you're looking for a huge white sheet. Price is more like $20 + tax around here (southern Cali).

You could also ask for polywall, i think Do-Able is just the name of the distributer. Don't expect any ambient light rejection with this though.

Thanks! Would I get any ambient light rejection from a 1.1, or 1.3 gain matte white screen? Those are my only other 2 options, as far as pricing is concerned.
NineDayFall75 is offline  
post #646 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 06:06 PM
Member
 
mellowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NineDayFall75 View Post

Thanks! Would I get any ambient light rejection from a 1.1, or 1.3 gain matte white screen? Those are my only other 2 options, as far as pricing is concerned.

Nope. If ambient light is a problem then you have to go to higher gain screens which usually narrow the viewing cone, hence rejection of light coming in at the sides. If a wide viewing cone is needed then you have to go with gray screens which should work if your projector has enough lumens and/or your screen isn't too big. With the In72 and 92", should work fine with a 1.0 gain or more gray screen. I'd avoid any negative gain (e.g. 0.8 gain) gray screens.
mellowman is offline  
post #647 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scitek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cartersville, GA
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do-able board is only found inthe western U.S. because of the distributor. You might be able to get someone from AVS to buy one and ship it to you for a slight convenience fee, though, that's what I'm going to try and do.
scitek is offline  
post #648 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmcdayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Don't forget good ol' black out cloth...very cheap and highly effective. Lots of threads in DIY screenland. I'm still using it after 3 years, IN72 looks great on it. I bought stretcher bars from art supply house...have about 200 total invested.

Its not just a hobby, its a 401K reduction plan.
dmcdayton is offline  
post #649 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 07:32 PM
 
spyder696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Land of many wives
Posts: 9,328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Fall (or anyone else interested),

Here's the link to the Do-Able thread: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=617173

In the first post, even the Home Depot sku is listed, which is good for dealing with workers that are either too lazy to look it up or too dumb to know how. The thread is large, so happy reading. (Instructions on how to mount the screen require reading only a couple of pages though.)
spyder696969 is offline  
post #650 of 2274 Old 02-18-2007, 10:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Killen Alabama
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be getting my 72 this week, shoud I spend 80 or so bucks on a cheap pull down or buid a blackout cloth screen that I have to remove from the room when not viewing? Will the boc be a better screen for picture quality.

I am on an extremely tight budget and can not upgrade my dvd player yet. I have a sony non prgressive unit which only has component outs. I will be running cable 50'. Will the image suffer if I purchase good component cables, or should I pick up a cheap dvd plaer that has an hdmi output and run hdmi?

How to identify a future projector owner, he's the kid sitting two feet from the 42" plasma.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=954837
Bruce Wayne is offline  
post #651 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bmrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruce,

If you have white walls and are concerned about money, perhaps skip the screen and pick up a player with digital output (refurb. Oppo), until you can buy or build one. Just an idea...

bmrr
bmrr is offline  
post #652 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Killen Alabama
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmrr View Post

Bruce,

If you have white walls and are concerned about money, perhaps skip the screen and pick up a player with digital output (refurb. Oppo), until you can buy or build one. Just an idea...

bmrr

Thanks bmrr, my walls are red and the screen will be in front of a tv cabinet that houses a 32" crt. Throw distance is 14-15' and seating will be 13'. I was going to go with a 100' elite screen but I hear stories about wrinkles and I worry that screen door will be too visible. So I'm thinking of dropping to a 92" screen. My bro-law has an H27 with a 92" greywolf but for 75 bucks more is the greywolf better that the elite. Please forvive my indecisivness but I have waited for this moment since I first found front projection 3 years ago. I would have thought by now I would be in a high-def unit by now but we had a child, wife quit work and bla bla bla. So priorities changed quite a bit, ANYWAY , I just want to get the best product for my dollor, I think I will be pleased with th 72 as I like the looks of the h27,

Has anyone here tried the high contrast 92" elite?

How to identify a future projector owner, he's the kid sitting two feet from the 42" plasma.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=954837
Bruce Wayne is offline  
post #653 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bruce Wayne, at that distance go with the 92" screen, it's more than enough.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #654 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 07:01 AM
Member
 
EradanPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scary thought .. you are spending more on the screen ... than on the projector.
EradanPHX is offline  
post #655 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 07:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Funny you should mention that Eradan, I had some power cords left over from my high end/separates days. I'm getting a new DVD player this week and the power cord would cost more than the DVD player! Since it was sitting in a box I used a $350 power cord for my IN72. Considering the cash I got for my 4805 and hopefully, the rebate from InFocus, again, my power cord's more expensive than the pj!

Disclaimer: Please no "Great Cable Debates", just trying to have a little fun. If I was starting over I'd buy a mid priced ( $50-$100) power cord and just to show my objectivity, in the case of my DVD player, the power cord upgrade was a noticeable improvement, in the case of the pj, I could see no difference, but since I already owned it, why not!
Martin Butler is offline  
post #656 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 12:59 PM
Newbie
 
eyeruh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wack70 View Post

Please let me know if anyone is experiencing this issue:

I have a hi-def satellite receiver (Dish ViP 622) connected to an Onkyo TX-SR674 A/V receiver via component cable, then the receiver outputs via component cable to my IN72 in 1080i resolution (obvioiusly scaling down to 480p). On movie scenes with a lot of action and bright light, the projector image goes blank and has to re-adjust or re-auto setup the image (shows "Component" down at the lower left of the screen). It's doing what it does when you change sources on the projector, like it's losing the connection or something.

I can say that this wasn't happening before w/ my old A/V reciever (Onkyo TX-SR603). I recently bought the new receiver so I can run everything via HDMI. I hope this new one isn't full of problems...


I'm having a similar (but different) issue with the TX-SR604. I've got an older VCR connected to my SR604 via composite (that's all the VCR has) and I've got the SR604 connected to my IN72 via component. Every time I change the channel on the VCR, the IN72 does it's little 'auto setup' routine again---it's infuriating.

I tried running composite output from the SR604 into the IN72 and that resolved the issue, but I'm not gonna run a separate 25' composite cable to my projector. I'm pretty happy with the receiver otherwise, but this may be a deal-breaker.

I also tried this with a brand new, 6-foot component cable and had the same result as with the 25' cable.
eyeruh is offline  
post #657 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dmcdayton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
eyeruh

I haven't had that problem, are you updated to the latest firmware? Also, you may want to turn off auto-source and see if behaviour changes.

Its not just a hobby, its a 401K reduction plan.
dmcdayton is offline  
post #658 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 03:27 PM
Newbie
 
eyeruh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmcdayton View Post

eyeruh

I haven't had that problem, are you updated to the latest firmware? Also, you may want to turn off auto-source and see if behaviour changes.


Yes, my projector came with version 2.8 of the firmware. I should also clarify that this issue really seems to be a problem with the receiver, not the projector. There is no issue when I run the VCR directly into the projector -- only when I run it through the composite to component conversion in my receiver. I was just curious if anyone else had seen this behavior, with the onkyo or any other receiver.

And yes, autosource is already disabled. I even turned off all the inputs except the component in, but no luck. It seems like the receiver is interrupting the signal for just long enough that the IN72 feels the need to re-examine the input.

Thanks for the suggestions--
eyeruh is offline  
post #659 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 05:29 PM
Member
 
mellowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does VGA (analog from a notebook) work at all with the M1 port? According to the reference manual it should. I'm using a DVI->M1 cable with a VGA->DVI connector.

thanks in advance.
mellowman is offline  
post #660 of 2274 Old 02-19-2007, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bruce Wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Killen Alabama
Posts: 602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be grtting my 72 this week, cant wait. I do have one concern. I keep reding where you can not turn this thing off with the power button, is this true? Am I misreading something. Please help me out with this.

How to identify a future projector owner, he's the kid sitting two feet from the 42" plasma.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=954837
Bruce Wayne is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Infocus Sp Lamp 025 Projector Lamp For In72 In74 In76

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off