Infocus IN72 Specific Thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2274 Old 12-19-2006, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bthessel View Post

I need to find a reasonably priced pull down screen. In front of a window, I have to ceiling mount the screen since the window is close to the top and DW won't let me mount it across the middle of the window. I was looking at the Greywolf II but then I saw some threads that said with a ceiling mounted projector that is not a good choice. Any recommendations?

i would look at either the da-lite model b w/csr high contrast matte white, or the basic matte white. the high contrast will give you a little better contrast and deal with some slight ambient light conditions, but the regular matte white will not show "waves" from the screen wrinkles that will eventually develop over time. i've had both and prefer the better contrast, but i'm also able to accept some of the issues with the waves. either would be a good choice really and they're very reasonably priced if you shop around. jason from avs can quote you a price. w/csr means it has controlled screen return. you basically pull it down slightly to release the locking mechainism and it goes up slowly by itself. a screen without csr you have to hold it most of the way up.

hope that helps.

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2274 Old 12-19-2006, 06:26 PM
Member
 
Nick Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenJF3 View Post

Also, the fuse change should be an easy fix for anyone with some basic soldering skills. The main question here is how easy is it to get to the underside of that circuit board the fuse is on?


I took a couple more pictures today. It doesn't look like it'd be too hard to pull the board off and flip it to do some soldering.





Here are some more pics of the fan connectors.






Does anyone have a dead 4805 lying around that they could tear open and check the connectors of the 80mm and 60mm fans? If I'm lucky they're the same and I could try to snag them (for some cash, of course) from a junked pj.
Nick Smith is offline  
post #183 of 2274 Old 12-19-2006, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
bmrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if others are still waiting for theirs, but just got mine yesterday.
bmrr is offline  
post #184 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 01:23 PM
Member
 
JEFatCLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I previously had a SP4805 and whenever there was a power interuption, the projector would come on once the power was restored.

This got to be a problem since I travel for a living.

Has anyone had a similar experience with their IN72?
JEFatCLT is offline  
post #185 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I don't know about that power issue. Of course if it did they could patch that in a firmware release. However, I'm just going to take out one of my wall switches to a controlled outlet and replace it with a switch/plug, then run the projo power cord to it. This way I can simply switch off power to the projo when not in use, or if I am away. What I need now is a switch cover so that I can block access to the switch by curious little fingers.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #186 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got my IN72 and God its a sexy looking beast cannot wait to get it setup! Anyhow I called Infocus right away to inquire on what fuse and firmware I have but was told that they cannot do anything by serial number to determine if I have one of the 1A fuses. The rep told me that is was just a bad batch that was used and not all 1a`s were trouble. If it goes in the 1st year then they replace it. Hey I guess i`ll have to wait and see. Hope all is good!
Clipse is offline  
post #187 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 04:01 PM
Member
 
pingone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just ordered my 72 from td and was wondering about the fuse. from reading the other posts, it sounds like my unit will have the 1a fuse. my question is, if my fuse were to blow, couldn't i just leave the 1a fuse in and wire a new 2a fuse in parallel to the old?
pingone is offline  
post #188 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
absolootbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SW OH
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
that would surely void your warranty though, then you'd be SOL if anything else were to happen. even if it's feasible, i wouldn't take the risk.

absolootbs is offline  
post #189 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 04:17 PM
Member
 
JEFatCLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clipse View Post

Just got my IN72 and God its a sexy looking beast cannot wait to get it setup! Anyhow I called Infocus right away to inquire on what fuse and firmware I have but was told that they cannot do anything by serial number to determine if I have one of the 1A fuses. The rep told me that is was just a bad batch that was used and not all 1a`s were trouble. If it goes in the 1st year then they replace it. Hey I guess i`ll have to wait and see. Hope all is good!

Send an e-mail from the tech support section of the Infocus site. I sent them one with my serial number and had a response the next day indicating that I had the 2a fuse.
JEFatCLT is offline  
post #190 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Lucky you, I'm still waiting for a response from Infocus. It's been over a week. Do you have the actual email address you sent it to? I used the tech support from on the website.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #191 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gartseff:
Quote:


First impressions... what cheap packaging and pack-ins? Seriously, whats with the plastic things and a composite cable?!?

Boo on that.

Gartseff, I'd like to offer a different perspective for balance. Two and a half years ago I went to the Stereophile Home Enttertainment Show here in NYC. Sony's $25,000 Qualia was a highlight as well as JVC's $20.000 D-ILA projector. The InFocus 4805 came scarily close to those thoroughbreds in color accuracy, brightness and black level. Prior to it's release I had only dreamed of being able to afford to see such a wonderful picture in my home. The IN72 beats the 4805 in certain ways. The IN72 was still fair priced when it was $1299, in my opinion. At the current price I wouldn't care if they sent it by camel in an egg carton as long as it arrived safely. It's a good time of the year to remember our blessings, wouldn't you agree
Martin Butler is offline  
post #192 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 05:25 PM
Member
 
JEFatCLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenJF3 View Post

Lucky you, I'm still waiting for a response from Infocus. It's been over a week. Do you have the actual email address you sent it to? I used the tech support from on the website.

Nope - I just sent it through the website. I'd try again if I were you....what can it hurt?
JEFatCLT is offline  
post #193 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 05:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFatCLT View Post

I previously had a SP4805 and whenever there was a power interuption, the projector would come on once the power was restored.

This got to be a problem since I travel for a living.

Has anyone had a similar experience with their IN72?

they've fixed that. the inxx line no longer powers on after power interuption.

/edit

when i say "fixed" i mean, from the 4805 to the inxx line. it was never an issue with the inxx. and it could be somewhat resolved by turning powersave on with the 4805.

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
post #194 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 05:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
billymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: the mostest funnest place ever
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Butler View Post

Gartseff:

Gartseff, I'd like to offer a different perspective for balance. Two and a half years ago I went to the Stereophile Home Enttertainment Show here in NYC. Sony's $25,000 Qualia was a highlight as well as JVC's $20.000 D-ILA projector. The InFocus 4805 came scarily close to those thoroughbreds in color accuracy, brightness and black level. Prior to it's release I had only dreamed of being able to afford to see such a wonderful picture in my home. The IN72 beats the 4805 in certain ways. The IN72 was still fair priced when it was $1299, in my opinion. At the current price I wouldn't care if they sent it by camel in an egg carton as long as it arrived safely. It's a good time of the year to remember our blessings, wouldn't you agree

well said. i can't believe people are bitching about stuff like that. well, actually i guess i can. i paid close to original msrp when this thing first came out and i still think i got a great deal. even while owning a 4805.

"the one who has the most fun wins."
billymac is offline  
post #195 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Clipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just quickly ran the in72 on a wall for 30 mins and my God is it nice! One thing I noticed is this thing gets hot! One part of the case is almost hard to touch...Anyone got anythign to say about that? Is this normal?
Clipse is offline  
post #196 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
That was also the first thing I noticed. I compared it to a space heater. I'm going to assume that it is normal as others are reporting the same. I would make sure you give this thing PLENTY of ventilation.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #197 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 08:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
That's something that bugs the crap out of me. The way they have so many formats for the movies in widescreen. Why can't they come together and agree on one set format so that when you use 16 x 9 settings, it will fill the screen?!?!?! I hate having to cycle through the aspect function to see which looks best and most movies don't put the ratio on the case anymore. Just the "enhanced for widescreen tv's" wording. So, now when I pop in a DVD I scroll through Native, Letterbox, and 16 x 9 to see which looks best without appearing squashed. I've found that the 16 x 9 setting seems to work best most of the time.

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #198 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BenJF3

You should leave it a 16x9 for widescreen movies (unless it is non-anamorphic), native if you are pixel-mapping, and 4x3 or SDTV. If you can't stand the bars, perhaps a CH setup might be better for you.

My best answer for your question is that, artistically speaking, I think directors choose different ARs depending on the type of film they are directing, and I guess some feel that certain ARs work better in certain scenarios. And of course, some directors may have used a different AR than others for the same movie. I think huge battle scenes do better in a 2.35:1 than 16:9 so you can get that huge, immersive feeling in the middle of battle. But then again, Spielberg chose 16x9 for Saving Private Ryan (and Band of Brothers), but it works for that movie.

All in all, I like the fact that they can choose the format - because I know that they know better than me what works best for their movie.

Anyone else agree?

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
post #199 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 08:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gartseff View Post

Any real zoom-fix for 2.35:1 movies? I'd just like more screen used.. and a lot of movies are not 1.77:1

How about Constant Height?

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
post #200 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BenJF3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Central New York (Syracuse DMA)
Posts: 3,769
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I see your point. The black bars don't bother me at all because the screen is so huge and I'm so imersed in the movie they tend to not be noticed. I watched Star wars in 16 x 9 and it was awesome! I felt like the Imperial Star Cruiser was right above me!!!

8/30/2013 - Time Warner Liberation Day!
BenJF3 is offline  
post #201 of 2274 Old 12-20-2006, 11:42 PM
Senior Member
 
gprro1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by therealgeno View Post

How about Constant Height?

and to further that question, can a constant height setup be achieved while pixel mapping using the D1? I posted the question in the D1/4805 thread, no one answered. I'm guessing it can't be done?
gprro1 is offline  
post #202 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 01:41 AM
Member
 
JEFatCLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the other previous SP4805 owners...

...while I think the overall picture quality of the IN72 is a definite improvement from the 4805, have you felt that the image is somewhat less sharper?

After watching the IN72 for the past week it seems to me that on distance shots - the image lacks some definition that I hadn't noticed with the 4805.
JEFatCLT is offline  
post #203 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Casino Kaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the 'Standard' setting, I definitely feel that the image is softer than the 4805. This is my biggest issue with this projector, since I feel that there is nothing worse than a soft image. All you want to do is constantly get up and adjust the focus ring. I bump my sharpness level up to 'Sharper' , which improves the image considerably but you do sometimes see some background noise and artifacts that you might not see with the 'Standard' setting. To me, it's worth the trade off....
Casino Kaz is offline  
post #204 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 06:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Martin Butler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: N.Y., N.Y. USA
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've noticed the same thing. Kras had mentioned previously that the 4805's "standard" setting was actually a bump up from a true sharpness standard. I'm sure he's correct, but on the 4805 I never noticed anything "enhanced" looking, and backgrounds were clean and sharp. The 72's backgrounds seem less sharp. I prefer the sharper look myself, but I'd love to see the 4805 and the 72 calibrated and compared. I'd always choose the picture that's accurate, but the 4805 was more satisfying in that regard.
Martin Butler is offline  
post #205 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gprro1 View Post

and to further that question, can a constant height setup be achieved while pixel mapping using the D1? I posted the question in the D1/4805 thread, no one answered. I'm guessing it can't be done?

To be honest, I am not totally positive, but I want to say no. I have yet to delve into that area, but I'm pretty sure you have to select letterbox in the AR to have it function properly, and (at least with the 4805) you must use Native to pixel-map.

If you really want to know, look up members WillyGib or JeffKB. Willy runs a constant height with a 4805 and Jeff runs a constant height with an IN76. Both are very knowledgeable and always willing to help. Drop them a PM - I'm sure they will answer your question.

And if you wouldn't mind posting the answer here - I'd like to know for sure myself.

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
post #206 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casino Kaz View Post

In the 'Standard' setting, I definitely feel that the image is softer than the 4805. This is my biggest issue with this projector, since I feel that there is nothing worse than a soft image. All you want to do is constantly get up and adjust the focus ring. I bump my sharpness level up to 'Sharper' , which improves the image considerably but you do sometimes see some background noise and artifacts that you might not see with the 'Standard' setting. To me, it's worth the trade off....

This kind of surprises me, actually. I wonder if this is a lens assembly issue. Is the focus uniform throghout, just soft? Have you tried running the Avia sharpness test patterns? You might be able to bump up without introducing any ringing. If the IN72 has too many steps in btw, does your player have a sharpness function with perhaps more steps in btw?

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
post #207 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 08:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
MurphyAgain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In a van down by da river CT
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AS i stated before the sharper setting looks great .
Standard is ok
MurphyAgain is offline  
post #208 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyAgain View Post

AS i stated before the sharper setting looks great .
Standard is ok

Murphy, why do I sense attitude? With the 4805, there are several steps btw standard and sharper - so it is easier to check with Avia and a player with many steps.

I miss the old 4805 thread.

In fact, has anyone confirmed if the sharpness settings affect the other inputs as with the 4805? This can drive people crazy when configuring PP on HTPCs.

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
post #209 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
MurphyAgain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In a van down by da river CT
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Murphy, why do I sense attitude?

No attitude Here sorry geno if you got the wrong message

By the way In72 prices are going back up I hope everyone took advantage of the low prices .

Td just went up as did others.

It might have somthing to do with unites in stock.

I think we are looking at the IN72 being the leader in budget KING in Bluecollar theaters.

Im guilty as i purchased a total of four of them ( frieds and family ) after viewing one for two weeks.
MurphyAgain is offline  
post #210 of 2274 Old 12-21-2006, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
therealgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurphyAgain View Post

No attitude Here sorry geno if you got the wrong message

My bad . I think you're right. I never would have thought prices would dip this low. To think I bought my 4805 @ full MSRP 2 years ago ($1499), and now the IN72 can be had for sub $500.

Talk about bang for the buck!

We contend that for a nation to tax itself into prosperity is like a man standing in a bucket and trying to lift himself up by the handle. (Winston Churchill)
therealgeno is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

Tags
Infocus Sp Lamp 025 Projector Lamp For In72 In74 In76

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off