New Benq W500, 720p projector - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1242 Old 07-03-2007, 09:50 PM
Senior Member
 
kazinvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
JonoG5, thanks for the photo, it looks great. Post more shots if possible. Can you also comment on motion blur/jitter when viewing a DVD during panning shots?
kazinvan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1242 Old 07-03-2007, 11:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FrankS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL (Chicagoland)
Posts: 2,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a W500 5 days ago and like the others who have it I am very pleased with the performance of this projector.

The only problem I am having is a 5-6 inch blue-ish/green spot just right of center on the picture. Does anyone know what this is? Does it appear a bulb or LCD Panel problem? Pics below (spot is a bit more pronounced then seen in person). I zoom in and out and the spot's position changes with the zooming so it is not a screen problem.

Flaw On White Background

Flaw On Red Background
FrankS is offline  
post #183 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
Polkalizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, looks like I'm going to have to buy one
Polkalizer is offline  
post #184 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 05:27 AM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankS View Post

I picked up a W500 5 days ago and like the others who have it I am very pleased with the performance of this projector.

The only problem I am having is a 5-6 inch blue-ish/green spot just right of center on the picture. Does anyone know what this is? Does it appear a bulb or LCD Panel problem? Pics below (spot is a bit more pronounced then seen in person). I zoom in and out and the spot's position changes with the zooming so it is not a screen problem.

Flaw On White Background

Flaw On Red Background

I dont know what this is but you might want to call BenQ because I am positive this spot doesn't show up on mine.

and sorry guys no pictures yet but I will try to have some up today of just Sd dvds at 480i and letting the Hqv go to work...
reuben9376 is offline  
post #185 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 07:58 AM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is some pictures of the W500 rear shelf mounted watching SD dvd's on my apartment wall (white/beige) at about 105 - 110 inches

Sorry my camera is very crappy and I think the picture looks much better in person but for anyways..........


Rear Mount


Star Wars



Ice Age


You me & dupree




You me & dupree with shade lamp on
reuben9376 is offline  
post #186 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 08:18 AM
Newbie
 
Realistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well after much research I have finally decided this is the projector I am going to get. This Will be my first projector, can't wait to have it set up!!!
Realistic is offline  
post #187 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
How high is your shelf and are you using vertical lens shift to move the image down at all? I'm considering a free standing platform (there is no rear wall close enough to where I'd like the projector to be and I'd rather not ceiling mount it if I can avoid it) that is 56 inches tall at its highest position. With a DLP, I'd have had to mount the pj upside down and find a way to do that with the platform (or go with an unwanted ceiling mount). You're set up seems like how I'd want to do mine--a platform behind my head but with the pj in the upright position.
Ovation is offline  
post #188 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Phaffendorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This question must be asked again.... Is it even possible to use this projector with a coffee table setup?? I think someone had stated earlier that the lens shift only really works if you're aiming down.

Currently I'm using a Optoma HD6800 (bottom of the projector is 6 inches off ground) projecting a 120'' image with about maximum zoom. (0 keystone required)
I'm doubting the W500 could handle this placement setup?? I suppose I could use a shelf mount... but I don't like drilling into my rented apartment walls. (concrete)
Phaffendorf is offline  
post #189 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 10:01 AM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I first tried using the projector on a low table and it worked, but I could only get the picture about in the center of the wall. So i then put the projector about 5/12- 6ft up the wall and I am able to move the picture anywhere I want it. In my opinion the lens shift has plenty of flexability for placement options.
reuben9376 is offline  
post #190 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

I first tried using the projector on a low table and it worked, but I could only get the picture about in the center of the wall. So i then put the projector about 5/12- 6ft up the wall and I am able to move the picture anywhere I want it. In my opinion the lens shift has plenty of flexability for placement options.

Good to know it works from above. I plan to use a much smaller screen size than you are using, so centre of the wall would be sufficient for me. Do you remember the approx. height of the table you were using?
Ovation is offline  
post #191 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 10:55 AM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
17 1/2 inches to be exact
reuben9376 is offline  
post #192 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

17 1/2 inches to be exact

That's the exact height of my available table. Ikea, perhaps?
Ovation is offline  
post #193 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 12:29 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YEs it is a black table from Ikea ... how strange
reuben9376 is offline  
post #194 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

YEs it is a black table from Ikea ... how strange

Mine is red cherry.

how's the horizontal shift? You probably don't need to use it but I'm curious as to its effectiveness. Ideally, the projector would be placed on a table to my left, about 2 feet off centre. and about 7-7.5 feet away from the screen. I'm looking to make about a 65 inch diagonal image (small by projector standards, but a big step from my current 32 inch SD CRT).
Ovation is offline  
post #195 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Huey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Floyds Knobs, IN, USA
Posts: 5,139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FrankS, that spot is a dust blob which is 3X the risk (as is dead pixel risk) of 3-panel LCD compared to single-chip DLP. Return it as cleaning will void your warranty as you have to open it up.

That fact, worst constrast, more pronounced screen door effect (may appear "sharper" to some), and organic panels (earlier wear, polarizer damage, etc) makes LCD less appealing to me.

Advantages are LCD is easier to mount with lens shift, less lens offset (great for ceiling mount), quieter, appear brighter for the same lumen rating, more accurate colors.

Huey ;-]
Huey is offline  
post #196 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 04:38 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ovation

The horizontal shift works pretty good. Not near as much as the vertical but gives you a couple of feet on each side to work with...

I set mine up on the table when i first received it at about 8 ft back and was throwning about a 80 inch picture and it looks excellent.
reuben9376 is offline  
post #197 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Sounds like a winner (especially as it streets for 400-700$ less than my other two choices--the Z5 and the AW15 up here in Canada).
Ovation is offline  
post #198 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 06:12 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is some more screenshots taken from the w500 setting on my 17/12 inch table projecting on a draper 92 screen







reuben9376 is offline  
post #199 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 06:51 PM
Member
 
zorroisback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its seems like the SDE is noticable from the photos to me and would probably stay with DLP.
zorroisback is offline  
post #200 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 06:54 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorroisback View Post

Its seems like the SDE is noticable from the photos to me and would probably stay with DLP.

??? I cant see any SDE even from 4 or 5ft back and definitely not in the pictures
reuben9376 is offline  
post #201 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 06:54 PM
Senior Member
 
dvdvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LOL, you can't tell from the photos. It all depends on how large the screen is and how far you are sitting. I had no issue with 90" drom 16ft. Even up to 10 feet I had no issue.
dvdvideo is offline  
post #202 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
OK. I'm convinced. Now, it's simply a question of when.
Ovation is offline  
post #203 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 07:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ovation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: St. Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorroisback View Post

Its seems like the SDE is noticable from the photos to me and would probably stay with DLP.

Are you sure it's not your monitor? I think one would have to see the actual projector to make such a judgement--unless two photos of extreme closeups, side by side, of an LCD and a DLP were presented.
Ovation is offline  
post #204 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 07:03 PM
Member
 
reuben9376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Warner Robins Ga
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THERE IS NO SDE!!!! I had the mits hd1000u dlp and the Sde was Equal to what it is on the w500.
reuben9376 is offline  
post #205 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 08:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
eightninesuited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto, Republic of Canuckistan
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by reuben9376 View Post

THERE IS NO SDE!!!! I had the mits hd1000u dlp and the Sde was Equal to what it is on the w500.

Do you still have the HD1000? I'd love to see comparison shots of the W500.

No animals were harmed in the creation of this sentence.
eightninesuited is offline  
post #206 of 1242 Old 07-04-2007, 10:38 PM
Member
 
zorroisback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I will have to see the side by side then. I had a LCD and did not like the SDE. If the 720p has removed it then I would be satisfied. I would like to see a comparison with SDE against the HD70 and the HD1000. I currently have a BENQ and have been a fan,
zorroisback is offline  
post #207 of 1242 Old 07-05-2007, 06:31 AM
Newbie
 
Polkalizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How is the absolute black level compared to the mits?
Polkalizer is offline  
post #208 of 1242 Old 07-05-2007, 06:53 AM
rgs
Member
 
rgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are LCDs more subject to dust blobs than DLPs? I have an X1 now that has dust blobs though I don't notice them much except on a blank screen.
rgs is offline  
post #209 of 1242 Old 07-05-2007, 07:31 AM
Member
 
jpm42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to figure out if a W500 could work as my primary television. I'm sure NFL games and Discovery HD will look good, but what about CNN? I can buy a new TV or a projector, but unfortunately not both. I'd really like to see what the HQV processor can do with "regular TV". Could somebody please post some screenshots of SD material from a cable or satellite source? (e.g. not DVD) Also... It would be great to see some shots taken with a bit of ambient light in the room. I have total light control, but I don't always want to use it.
jpm42 is offline  
post #210 of 1242 Old 07-05-2007, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Dueling_Cartmans's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jpm42,

There are screenshots of the HQV Reon processor "in action" in one of the Olevia threads in the LCD forum. If your source is good (not crappy analog cable) it makes the SD look very nice indeed.
Dueling_Cartmans is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off