HD70 Tweakers Thread. - Page 83 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2461 of 2474 Old 01-08-2010, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 1,025
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a HD70 + 1.0 White Screen in a completely blacked out room.

Can someone with a very similar setup share their settings please ... which I can use as a starting pt. Thanks !!!!
umenon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2462 of 2474 Old 01-08-2010, 08:46 AM
Member
 
spurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Mont-Tremblant, Que., Canada
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do a search and you will find many posts on this subject. Spurge
spurge is offline  
post #2463 of 2474 Old 01-13-2010, 02:53 PM
Member
 
ksmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got a PS3 for the family for Christmas and hooked it up to the HD70. Games and BD look great and SD upcovert isn't too bad. For those using BD, what are your PS3 Display/Video/BD playback settings? I understand from reading that feeding a BD 1080p vs 720p from the PS3 is subjective but what about other settings (full RGB vs limited, etc.)? And thank xenon2000 for your HD70 settings from PS3! They look great.

Also, is anyone using their HD70 in CIH? I'm thinking about going that route soon and was curious. If so, what method (VC, HE, or zoom)?
ksmut is offline  
post #2464 of 2474 Old 01-13-2010, 04:11 PM
Senior Member
 
rcserg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 377
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmut View Post

Got a PS3 for the family for Christmas and hooked it up to the HD70. Games and BD look great and SD upcovert isn't too bad. For those using BD, what are your PS3 Display/Video/BD playback settings? I understand from reading that feeding a BD 1080p vs 720p from the PS3 is subjective but what about other settings (full RGB vs limited, etc.)? And thank xenon2000 for your HD70 settings from PS3! They look great.

Also, is anyone using their HD70 in CIH? I'm thinking about going that route soon and was curious. If so, what method (VC, HE, or zoom)?

From my experience through HDMI, The HD70 through PS3 via 720P is better.

HD DVD 354ish
Blu Ray 375ish
360 Halo Reach Slim,360 Elite 120GB, MW2 250GB, Halo 3 20GB, RE5 120GB, PS3 Fat 320GB, PS3 Slim 250GB, Wii
HD DVD & Blu Ray players, too many
Money Spent.... Priceless
rcserg is offline  
post #2465 of 2474 Old 01-13-2010, 08:13 PM
Member
 
ksmut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcserg View Post

From my experience through HDMI, The HD70 through PS3 via 720P is better.

Thanks for your input. What about other setttings? RGB full/limited, etc?
ksmut is offline  
post #2466 of 2474 Old 04-27-2010, 09:03 AM
Member
 
nickwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Would you guys recommend using a HD70 with a 84" diagonal matte white 1.1 gain screen? Or would that be to bright for this PJ? PJC is showing me 21 FL at the farthest distance for that screen size. It will be used for movies, TV and gaming via an Xbox360.

The reason that I am a little concerned is that I am using a H31 right now, on the same 84" screen, and my biggest complaint with that is crushed whites and so-so blacks. PJC shows be 20FL with my H31 where it is mounted right now, which isn't a huge difference. With the HD70 being brighter and having less-dark black levels, are these two thing going to be even worse with the HD70? Or do you think I would happy with it? thanks for the help
nickwin is offline  
post #2467 of 2474 Old 04-28-2010, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickwin View Post

Would you guys recommend using a HD70 with a 84" diagonal matte white 1.1 gain screen? Or would that be to bright for this PJ? PJC is showing me 21 FL at the farthest distance for that screen size. It will be used for movies, TV and gaming via an Xbox360.

The reason that I am a little concerned is that I am using a H31 right now, on the same 84" screen, and my biggest complaint with that is crushed whites and so-so blacks. PJC shows be 20FL with my H31 where it is mounted right now, which isn't a huge difference. With the HD70 being brighter and having less-dark black levels, are these two thing going to be even worse with the HD70? Or do you think I would happy with it? thanks for the help

I had the HD70 for 3 years on a 100" 1.0 gain white screen. With bulb on low in a dark painted room with lights off, the brightness was just about perfect. Though the black levels were not as great as I would have liked, but within acceptable range for me. The online calculator I think showed that around 12-13FL and I felt that was just about right brightness for me. Any brighter would have made the blacks even worse. Which is the current issue I am having with the HD20 I have now, on a 125" 1.0 White screen. Since the HD20 is way brighter than the HD20 even with the bulb also on low. So my black levels are not acceptable to me right now on my HD20 bulb low on a 125" 1.0 gain screen.

So that is just my reference for you. If the calc is saying 20+ FL for you at 84", I am going to say that you are likely not going to be happy with the black levels with the lights off in a dark painted room. And if the walls are light colored, you really won't be happy with the lights off. Now with all the lights on, it will be plenty bright enough to use, but of course it won't look as good as with the lights off.

I am guessing you are asking because you don't have the HD70 yet. I loved my HD70 the whole 3 years I had it, I just moved to the HD20 for the 1080p. I am wishing now that the HD20 had the same lower lumen output as the HD70. I am likely going to try painting my cloth screen a medium neutral grey. (after testing of course)
xenon2000 is offline  
post #2468 of 2474 Old 05-24-2010, 10:58 PM
Member
 
fallenturtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm still on my original bulb and it's been way past its life expectancy (it says its at hour 3521, but I don't recall if that's it's total life so far or since I reset the lamp replacement warnings, does it reset on this projector?). I've had a replacement bulb in the ready for a couples of years now and I'm wondering if I should just go ahead and replace the bulb.

Normally I'd try to use it as much as possible, but I'm wondering if I'm risking my projector doing that. My color wheel on my older Optima (HD32) shattered and I've always suspected it got damaged when my bulb exploded, and I wonder if I'm chancing the same thing on the HD70.

The other factor is that I was trying to adjust my brightness and contrast and it seems that to get it to the proper levels my screen seems rather dim, but this could also be because I'm just use to seeing it brighter though a little more blown out. Will a fresh bulb be brighter, or does that not change with bulb age?

Thanks.
fallenturtle is offline  
post #2469 of 2474 Old 05-25-2010, 08:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenturtle View Post

So I'm still on my original bulb and it's been way past its life expectancy (it says its at hour 3521, but I don't recall if that's it's total life so far or since I reset the lamp replacement warnings, does it reset on this projector?). I've had a replacement bulb in the ready for a couples of years now and I'm wondering if I should just go ahead and replace the bulb.

Normally I'd try to use it as much as possible, but I'm wondering if I'm risking my projector doing that. My color wheel on my older Optima (HD32) shattered and I've always suspected it got damaged when my bulb exploded, and I wonder if I'm chancing the same thing on the HD70.

The other factor is that I was trying to adjust my brightness and contrast and it seems that to get it to the proper levels my screen seems rather dim, but this could also be because I'm just use to seeing it brighter though a little more blown out. Will a fresh bulb be brighter, or does that not change with bulb age?

Thanks.

I have read many times and many places that projector bulbs do dim with age. What I haven't seen though, is the curve on which they dim. The general opinion seems to be that they have a sharp drop during the first 10-100 hours. And then a very slow dimming over the next 2000-3000+ hours. Again, I haven't seen any graphs of this curve in dimming over time.

But if this is true, you should notice a brightness change from now by using a new bulb. But may also notice the drop after 10-100 hours. The question is if you will remember or notice the brightness difference between now with the old bulb and the new bulb after it's first 100+ hours.

As for damage if the bulb explodes. That is always a possibility. But bulbs don't always explode. If you are worried about it and already have the new bulb. You are way over the expected life, so you certainly got your money's worth. I personally would just change the bulb and enjoy the next 3000 hours.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #2470 of 2474 Old 05-31-2010, 10:10 PM
Member
 
fallenturtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would any of these be good for Wii component video? I was thinking maybe VII. Guitarman 480p component, but I wasn't sure if that was more geared towards movies and not game graphics. Too bad they won't allow DVD playback in the Wii, then I could just use something like Avia.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwlaw99 View Post

I was making a list of the settings on this thread to try out when my HD70 arives so I thought I would share it with you.

Complete summary of calibrated HD70 settings from this thread. Always have truevivid set to zero (from cyrano in next post)

I. blitz6speed

Cinema
19
-4
15
-2
15

Advanced:
PC
4
0
1
off
YCbCR

RGB/Gain/Bias:

RG 4
GG -3
BG -8
RB -22
GB -15
BB -13
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...21#post8574921

[H]RedDog
Gamma= pc
bc= off
colortemp= 1
Red Gain = 3
Green Gain = -23
Blue Gain = -23
Red Bias = -1
Green Bias = 2
Blue Bias = 2
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...76#post8566176

II. Guitarman component HDTV.

Cinema
Contrast 7
Brightness 0
Color -2
Tint 0
Sharpness 3

Advanced
Degamma video
Brilliant Color 3
True Vivid 0
Color temp 1
AI off
RGB/gains/bias
R gain 2
G gain 0
B gain 3
R bias 0
G bias -1
B bias 0

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...35#post8587135

III. blitz6speed Xbox 360 component

Cinema
9
9
10
-6
15

Advanced:
Video
6
3
1
Off

RGB:
2
0
3
0
-1
0
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...09#post8592209


IV. Audiology 480i component
contrast is at 23
brightness -1
color 5
tint 0
sharpness 4
bc 0
vivid 0
colortemp 1
RG 2
Gg 0
bg 3
Rb 0
Gb -1
Bb 0
AI off

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...91#post8642991

V. BobL Video digamma settings HDMI

Mode - User
Contrast - (8)
Brightness - (2)
Color - 0
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 0
Degamma - Video. I could get a good grayscale with film but the gamma ranged between 2.37 and 2.58 with film. If you prefer a Gamma of 2.5 I'd use the film setting. I chose to keep the gamma closer to 2.2 and I could only do that with the video setting
Brilliant Color - 0
True Vivid - (1)
Color Temp - 0 I was able to get rid of the red with calibration
AI -Off
Color Space - YCbCr

Red Gain -(1)
Green Gain - (1)
Blue Gain - (5)
Red Bias - (-18)
Green Bias - (-18)
Blue Bias - (-19)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...29#post8659129

VI. BobL Film Degamma Settings HDMI

Mode - User
Contrast - (23)
Brightness - (-26)
Color - (-7)
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 0
Degamma -Brilliant Color - 0
True Vivid - 0
Color Temp - 0
AI -Off
Color Space - YCbCr

Red Gain - (1)
Green Gain - (-3)
Blue Gain - (2)
Red Bias - 0
Green Bias - 0
Blue Bias - (-1)

The results

10- 6437
20- 6438
30- 6353
40- 6727
50- 6749
60- 6485
70- 6386
80- 6127
90- 6116
100- 6098

Average Gamma: 2.37
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...10#post8665110


VII. Guitarman 480p component

Contrast 0
Brightness -14
Color 3

Film gamma
Brilliant C 3
Color temp 1

R gain 12
G gain -3
B gain -3
R bias -1
G bias 0
B bias -1

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...77#post8669477

VIII. BobL Film Degamma Component

Mode - User
Contrast - (4)
Brightness - (-2)
Color - (-9)
Tint - 0
Sharpness - 0
Degamma -Film
Brilliant Color - 0
True Vivid - 0
Color Temp - 0
AI -Off
Color Space - YCbCr

Red Gain - (-2)
Green Gain - (-2)
Blue Gain - (1)
Red Bias - (-2)
Green Bias - 0
Blue Bias - (2)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...07#post8729707


IX. blitz6speed 260 hour revision
HDMI Settings (HTPC using a ATI X1300 card, 1280x720@60hz):

Mode: Cinema
Contrast: 4
Brightness: 1
Color: 10
Tint: 5
Sharpness: 15

Under Advanced.

Degamma: Film
Brilliant Color: 2
True Vivid: 0
Color Temp: 1
Image AI: Off
Color Space: YCbCr

Under RGB/Gain/Bias.

Red Gain: 1
Green Gain: -3
Blue Gain: 2
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: 0
Blue Bias: -1

Under Display:

Format: Native
Overscan: 3 (not sure why it needs 3, but it does on mine).
The rest: 0


Xbox 360 Connected via component running 720p through dashboard.

Mode: Cinema
Contrast: 17
Brightness: 14
Color: 10
Tint: -6
Sharpness: 15

Under Advanced.

Degamma: Video
Brilliant Color: 1
True Vivid: 1
Color Temp: 1
Image AI: Off
Color Space: YCbCr

Under RGB/Gain/Bias.

Red Gain: 2
Green Gain: 0
Blue Gain: 3
Red Bias: 0
Green Bias: -1
Blue Bias: 0

Under Display:

Format: Native
Overscan: 0
The rest: 0
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...68#post8896268

X. DivaCabasse Component
User
Contrast 15
Brightness -8
Color 4
Tint 0
Sharpness 0
Degamma Video

BC 1
TV 1
CT 1
Image AI Off
Color YCbCr
Red Gain 4
Green G -2
Blue G 20
Red Bias 2
Green B 0
Blue B 4
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...47#post9009347

XII. Art from www.projectorreviews.com HDMI settings
Select cinema mode.
Contrast = 16
Brightness = -1
(the above 2 settings might change depending on your source)
Colour = 0
Degammer = Film
Brilliant Colour = 4
TrueVivid = 0
Colour Temp = 2

Now in the RGB gains section
Red Gain = 6
Green Gain = 5
Blue Gain = 6
Red Bias = -12
Green Bias = -14
Blue Bias -13

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3#post10277603

XIII. AudioBob
Dish Network HD
Component Video

Mode: TV
Contrast: -8
Brightness: 0
Color: -2
Tint: -8
Sharpness: 5

Advanced

Degamma: Graphics
Brilliant Color: 6
TrueVivid: 1
Color Temp: 1
Image AI: Off

RGB/Gain/Bias

Red Gain: -2
Green Gain: 1
Blue Gain: 0
Red Bias: -2
Green Bias: -1
Blue Bias: -2

Tosiba HD-A2
HDMI

Mode Cinema
Contrast: 4
Brightness: 2
Color: -2
Tint: -4
Sharpness: 4

Advanced

Degamma: Film
Brilliant Color: 6
TrueVivid: 1
Color Temp: 1
Image AI: Off

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...87#post9286087


XIV. Mark Strube (Do your own contrast and brightness afterwards)
8300HD DVR and Toshiba HD-A2 both on HDMI
HDMI:

Color: -6
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 6 for HD-DVD, 0 for HD-DVR

Degamma: Film
BrilliantColor: 3
TrueVivid: 0
Color Temp: 1
Image AI: Off

Red Gain: 18
Green Gain: 0
Blue Gain: 18

Red Bias: -9
Green Bias: 0
Blue Bias: 0

Bright Mode: On (for my screen)
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...6#post10328576

XV. Budman Component
User setting
Color: -6
Tint: 0
Sharpness: 10, doesnt make any difference on component anyway
BrilliantColor: 6
TrueVivid:1
Color Temp: 2
Image AI: Off

Red Gain: 0
Green Gain: 2
Blue Gain: 0

Red Bias: -12
Green Bias: -18
Blue Bias: -13
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4#post10346994

XVI. Guitarman 1080i HD-DVD

Image
Cinema
Contrast 0
Brightness 5
Color 0
Tint -2
Sharpness 15

Advanced
Film
BC 3
TV 0
CT1
AI off

RGB's
R gain 12
G gain -3
B gain -3
R bias -1
G bias 0
B bias -1
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post10581139

fallenturtle is offline  
post #2471 of 2474 Old 06-01-2010, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fallenturtle View Post

Would any of these be good for Wii component video? I was thinking maybe VII. Guitarman 480p component, but I wasn't sure if that was more geared towards movies and not game graphics. Too bad they won't allow DVD playback in the Wii, then I could just use something like Avia.

I don't have my HD70 any more and I only had the Wii on it for a short time before moving it back to the LCD TV. But I don't remember spending much time picking settings for the Wii vs movies. I do remember that the standard IR bar was too small for my 100" screen from about 12-14 ft away. So I made a custom IR setup with adjustable points below my screen. It made the relative screen movement more accurate for me.

As for the settings. I do remember not liking BrillantColor above 1 and preferred it at 0, for all sources.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #2472 of 2474 Old 06-01-2010, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmut View Post

Thanks for your input. What about other setttings? RGB full/limited, etc?

I wanted to also say like others, that I preferred the PS3 output set to 720p instead of 1080. I no longer have the HD70, now using the HD20. On both, PS3 is set to RGB full.

In case you didn't already know, the RGB full or limited is the range of values of RGB from 0 to 255. Full is 0 to 255 and limited is 16 to 235.

I don't know if the HD70 or HD20 even has enough displayable range to show 0-16 or 235-255. But instead of clipping at 16 and 235 using the PS3, may as well let the HD70 do the clipping if any, because I am pretty sure it can be calibrated to show more than just 16-235.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #2473 of 2474 Old 05-25-2011, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
snoopy20's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New user and new problem!

Anyone had their projector have all lights on (green, red, orange) upon power insertion? The controls do nothing, no fan spins and the bulb was new (about 200hrs on it).

Andrew
snoopy20 is offline  
post #2474 of 2474 Old 06-18-2011, 07:06 PM
Newbie
 
_reave_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello. Awesome info in this thread.

I have an HD70, and I've been having a problem as of late that I'm hoping someone could shed some light on.

I'm seeing a motion blur where people and objects in fast or high contrast scenes appear to blur/smear almost in a horror movie fashion (for lack of a better description).

The PJ never had this problem before, and I can't seem to find a setting that will fix it.

The signal chain is PS3 (slim 320)> Harmon Kardon AVR520>HD70, all component video cable.

Any ideas?
_reave_ is offline  
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off